Reviews for Gateway RV Park

Carbondale, Colorado

50 Reviews for Gateway RV Park
Average rating
Write a review for Gateway RV Park

 Wonderful Location

Review by Julie on 10/18/20 11:29 AM

This is a great RV park conveniently located beside a wonderful hike/bike paved path. Awesome views right from our campsite. The campground is very well managed and we were greeted as soon as we pulled into the park.. Highly recommend Gateway RV park!

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Cheryl on 10/18/20 10:57 AM

Very nice. Quite and convenient to Carbondale, Glenwood Springs and Aspen. Would like to stay there again, one day.

 Great Location

Review by Brandon  on 10/15/20 11:32 PM

Excellent location between beautiful mountains and a good size river. Bike paths nearby. Easy walk into town if Carbondale. Just off the highway so a bit of traffic noise but did not really bother us. Camp host, Bill, was very welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

 Nice Urban RV Park

Review by Hotchkiss Jon on 10/15/20 7:47 AM

Well situated park. Easy access to Rio Grande Bike Trail. Very level sites with good water pressure. Some road noise from nearby highway. Good base point for drives to Glenwood Springs and Aspen. Excellent value for the money.

 Very noisy

Review by Edward on 10/13/20 5:05 PM

While located near the river, it is also located right next to a major highway and was extremely noisy through most of the night. We would not stay there again.

 Will be back

Review by Sara on 10/2/20 4:34 PM

My husband and I and two large dogs stayed at Gateway for three nights as one of six stops in CO. This was our first major (longer than 2 nights) trip, and we loved this location. The road noise was pretty loud during the day, but we were off exploring anyway so it didn’t bother us. At night I didn’t even notice it over the heater fan. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful! With Covid, most of the parks (including this one) have changed to self check-in, but these folks still made it a point to greet us in person and see if we needed anything. Will definitely recommend Gateway!

 Very convenient, & friendly camp host

Review by Burnsie on 10/1/20 1:26 PM

Tim, the very friendly camp host, greeted us as soon as we pulled in, and was very helpful. Our pull-through site mad it easy to hook up and unload our motorcycles, and there was a full-size adjacent site to park our truck. The location is very convenient to Carbondale and the whole valley area. There was no cable TV, but we were able to find several stations over the air with our antenna. The only negatives are that the access is a little tricky to find at first, and to get across all the traffic, and there were no shade trees near our site. It's right below the busy highway, but even so, the traffic noise wasn't that bad.

 Thanks

Review by Gary  on 9/23/20 10:03 AM

We had a very good experience at the park I was very impressed with the park host they helped anyway they could

 Thanks

Review by Gary  on 9/23/20 9:11 AM

We had a very good experience at the park I was very impressed with the park host they helped anyway they could

 Great Adventure

Review by Bluestreak on 9/23/20 8:26 AM

We stayed at Gateway only one night because that was all that was available. Our campsite backed up to a view of the river, mountains, and bike trail bridge. It was a great location for fishing and biking. We were able to bike each day and even to the Farmer's Market in Carbondale. My husband fished each morning and evening. The host was very pleasant.and helpful. I wish we could have stayed longer but there were no openings. I gave it 4 stars because the bath houses were closed.

 Mrs

Review by BB on 9/22/20 10:09 AM

Very pleasant place to stay, plenty of dog walking area, quiet but very convenient access. Drive-thru spaces make it so easy to place your trailer. Walking trail accessible right by the trailer park. We will definitely stay here when in the area again.

 Great Location

Review by Ks on 9/20/20 12:39 PM

Great location between Glenwood Springs and Aspen. Easy to miss the entrance from the highway though so use GPS. Community has excellent transit system within easy walking distance that gives you access o the whole valley. RV is all gravel with few trees and immediately below the highway so there is a lot of road noise during the day. Would stay again for sure.

 Perfect Location

Review by D&D on 9/18/20 9:45 AM

Camp Host met us as soon as we got there. Location is perfect for access to the trail. Wish they had a pet park that was enclosed but loved the grass area for the dogs. We would stay there again. Be sure to try Silo in town - a short walk or bike from the park. Great coffee and food.

 Our experience

Review by Rich on 9/17/20 9:01 AM

Highway sign is not obvious, nearly missed entry to park. You need to remove huckelberry bushes as the birds flew from the Bush to the tree we were under and pooped on our trailer all afternoon. Glad we only spent one night or our trailer would have been substantially stained. Not a good experience.

 Very welcoming place to stay

Review by Wendi on 9/15/20 9:39 AM

All of the camp hosts (Tim, Cheryl, Bill) are wonderful. They make the stay so comfortable and enjoyable. The campground is always clean and well kept. We come every year and really enjoy our stay.

 Ms

Review by Laura on 9/14/20 11:05 AM

Great location, right by the river with wucik acces to trails and bike paths. Quick drive to town

 Ms

Review by Laura on 9/14/20 11:05 AM

Great location, right by the river with wucik acces to trails and bike paths. Quick drive to town

 Amazing SERVICE and HOSTS

Review by Anne on 9/14/20 1:26 AM

It's really hard to not give this 5 or more stars. Because Bill the HOST did an amazing job. Greeting and helping me. As a first time RV'er there are some things I am still learning. He helped us out in a pinch too. I liked how they also put the note on the post to the site with my name. I liked the view of Mt Sopris with the fresh fallen snow on it too. It was easily accessible and close to so much. THe spot was far enough away with picnic tables. Bill even made it easier on me to fill up with water. Couldn't ask for better. The service was 5 Star. The location clean. Not much shade in my spot so it was hot in the day, only downfall was hearing all the highway traffic. But I would totally stay here again. Thank you again so much Bill (camp host). You made my stay memorable and new RV experience easier.

 Amazing SERVICE and HOSTS

Review by Anne on 9/14/20 1:26 AM

It's really hard to not give this 5 or more stars. Because Bill the HOST did an amazing job. Greeting and helping me. As a first time RV'er there are some things I am still learning. He helped us out in a pinch too. I liked how they also put the note on the post to the site with my name. I liked the view of Mt Sopris with the fresh fallen snow on it too. It was easily accessible and close to so much. THe spot was far enough away with picnic tables. Bill even made it easier on me to fill up with water. Couldn't ask for better. The service was 5 Star. The location clean. Not much shade in my spot so it was hot in the day, only downfall was hearing all the highway traffic. But I would totally stay here again. Thank you again so much Bill (camp host). You made my stay memorable and new RV experience easier.

 Accommodating

Review by DonnieC on 9/8/20 12:59 PM

These folks were just terrific. We were in a jam, had to extend our stay due to tow vehicle problems. Even with the Labor Day holiday coming they offered us a place til we could get our truck back from the shop. It's really a convenient and centrally located RV park and we enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

  A HAPPY CAMPER

Review by BECKY on 9/4/20 12:14 PM

I AM A FIRST TIME RV ER . A SAFE PLACE ! GREAT LOCATION! CLEAN, WONDERFUL HOST.! INTERNET COULD BE BETTER... I WILL BE BACK. NEED MORE RV PARKS IN CARBONDALE. THANK YOU CARBONDALE

 Just what we were looking for

Review by Tight lines on 8/14/20 8:52 AM

After a few nights dry camping we were looking for a park with tall of the amenities. Gateway fit the bill. The hosts were great and directed us to some great fishing on the Roaring Fork. We enjoyed our stay.

 Great RV Park

Review by Treesa on 8/12/20 3:43 PM

We spent almost a week at the Gateway RV Park. We loved the location, close to Glenwood Springs, fairly close to Maroon Bells and discovered the best bike trail ever. Best part is the bike trail is right off the park! The park is clean and quiet, loved the river running right behind the park, which is a Gold Medal Fly fishing area. The picnic tables were fantastic with an extended end for BBQing or for handicap usage. We would highly recommend this park for any of the above reasons.

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Michael on 8/10/20 7:14 AM

We have stayed at this rv park five or six times. This is a gravel lot with few trees, so it's hot on the July/August daytime heat days. The hook ups are fine, the camp hosts are great. The attraction and plus for us is proximity to so many wonderful places; Aspen, Basalt, Glenwood Springs, Carbondale, Redstone, Marble, Crystal. If you prefer a natural forest camping experience, this likely isn't your park. If you like to do day trips, shop and experience different towns, Gateway is an extremely well located, nicely run park.

 Great Stay

Review by Jim on 8/9/20 8:10 AM

Great location to stay. I was in the area to photograph the Crystal Mill in Marble. This is a clean and convenient well run campsite operated by the City of Carbondale Parks and Rec Department. Very reasonably priced for full hook- ups. The host was very friendly and helpful. He greeted me upon my arrival. This is a great place to stay! I will come back here again.

 Great Stay

Review by Jim on 8/9/20 8:10 AM

Great location to stay. I was in the area to photograph the Crystal Mill in Marble. This is a clean and convenient well run campsite operated by the City of Carbondale Parks and Rec Department. Very reasonably priced for full hook- ups. The host was very friendly and helpful. He greeted me upon my arrival. This is a great place to stay! I will come back here again.

 Beautiful & convenient

Review by Jocelyn on 7/30/20 10:28 AM

Love the view of Mt Sopris and proximity to the Roaring Fork! The camp hosts are great and the park is always clean. I'd give it 5 stars, but it's noisy due to the nearby highway.

 Friendly and Convenient

Review by Mike M on 7/24/20 10:12 AM

The manager at the park was very friendly. We made a last minute reservation and were able to easily identify that our RV would fit and that there was vacancy for the night we stayed. Proximity to nearby sites was great and scenery and cleanliness was also very much appreciated. We will recommend and stay again without a doubt!

 Nice Full Service RV Park to Re-Group

Review by JKP on 7/2/20 10:01 AM

We spent three weeks alternating dry camping in several national forests and comfort camping in southwestern Colorado. Gateway was a convenient location to re-group for a night after a wave of dry camping. It's close to most anything you might need or want. Near the the Roaring Fork River surrounded by mountains, it also has easy access to a paved biking or walking trail to walk dogs or soak up the surroundings. We travel with two big dogs, so that was a great perk.

 Amazing spot

Review by BrittRun on 6/30/20 7:55 AM

Everyone was so nice and friendly. It was so close to Glenwood and still so quite and peaceful. Not to mention the hike by the campground down by the river is absolutely breathtaking. One of our favorite new spots. Will be back yearly!!

 Carbondale value

Review by Retstu on 6/28/20 6:35 PM

Excellent service, price, and accommodations, for such a small city owned Rv park. The camp hosts were some of the best that I have experienced, and the grounds were always clean and well groomed. It sits right above the roaring fork river, with a short walk, jog, or bike ride into town.

 Good value & Great View

Review by Paul C on 6/21/20 5:32 PM

Clean and quiet park with nice hosts. Convenient location.

 Gateway

Review by Tom on 6/13/20 9:51 PM

We had a great stay

 Great stay!

Review by Ed on 9/29/19 10:18 AM

The staff were helpful and friendly, and MOST accommodating in helping me get in with a late reservation. The space was as described, level, 30-amp with water. The view was something else... beautiful! Park was quiet and easily accessible. Great proximity to more local activities than I could take in.I'll be back!

 Great Location, excellent service!

Review by Bob of Grand Lake on 9/15/19 3:15 PM

This is our second stay at Gateway RV Park. It is very conveniently located, and has everything we needed for an overnight stop. You are close to a major highway, but you are below the level of the highway so the noise is really not bad. We found the area fascinating and really enjoy the convenience of Gateway RV Park’s location. Both times we were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the campground host. Recommend you consider this for a Basecamp to explore the area.

 Clean and quiet

Review by Rob on 9/9/19 8:30 AM

Great and clean little RV Park. Stayed here for the Aspen Jazz festival. Very convenient. 12 minute walk to RFTA bus stop. Quiet and peaceful. Bathrooms very clean. Roomy. We were not on top of each other. Would stay here again for sure.

 Whisper

Review by Whisper on 9/6/19 8:10 AM

Amazingly clean park with the most pleasant hosts ever; however, description needs to include proximity to highway. Rough pending repair and Jake brakes on trucks made sleep impossible. This needs to be included in the description as it cause us to go without sleep and forfeit our final day, and cost of, to go to another park to get sleep.

 Whisper

Review by Whisper on 9/6/19 8:09 AM

Amazingly clean park with the most pleasant hosts ever; however, description needs to include proximity to highway. Rough pending repair and Jake brakes on trucks made sleep impossible. This needs to be included in the description as it cause us to go without sleep and forfeit our final day, and cost of, to go to another park to get sleep.

 Great location to town

Review by Baxtertrout on 8/24/19 8:33 PM

It's a great location to Carbondale and we were able to ride bikes in and back easily. Walkable to the river. But too close to the road so it was loud at night. We had to turn on the loud camper fan to drown out the road noise. Also, this whole area is much warmer than expected for the "mountains". Just beware - it gets into the high 90's here and the campground has little to no shade. The bathrooms were quite nice with showers. A singe sink, though. No dump station but we were able to find a free one provided by the city of Carbondale. Camp host was friendly. I will look up the Crystal River Valley, though, for a quieter campground next time.

 Great location to town

Review by Baxtertrout on 8/24/19 8:33 PM

It's a great location to Carbondale and we were able to ride bikes in and back easily. Walkable to the river. But too close to the road so it was loud at night. We had to turn on the loud camper fan to drown out the road noise. Also, this whole area is much warmer than expected for the "mountains". Just beware - it gets into the high 90's here and the campground has little to no shade. The bathrooms were quite nice with showers. A singe sink, though. No dump station but we were able to find a free one provided by the city of Carbondale. Camp host was friendly. I will look up the Crystal River Valley, though, for a quieter campground next time.

 Great location

Review by Great location for side trips. on 8/22/19 5:43 PM

Excellent park, convenient to Aspen, Redstone, Marble, and Glenwood Springs. Excellent wifi. Clean and well stocked bathrooms. Only suggestion is better signs on how to get to the bike trail.

 Enjoyable camping

Review by Gerald on 8/20/19 8:31 AM

A very nice and clean campground! Thank so much for a pleasant stay.

 Great small RV park

Review by Don on 8/20/19 8:09 AM

A very nice and extremely roomy small RV park. Very clean facilities and the camp hosts could not be better. We hope to return soon.

 Great small RV park

Review by Don on 8/20/19 8:09 AM

A very nice and extremely roomy small RV park. Very clean facilities and the camp hosts could not be better. We hope to return soon.

 Great place

Review by Whitney on 8/20/19 7:21 AM

A small park which is run by the town of Carbondale is well kept. The hosts are super friendly and extremely helpful. Location to this valley is a gateway to many surrounding places to see.. Reading the reviews of noise is there but it beats a train running near a park. We have enjoyed our stay and we’ll be back for sure. Would love to be there for fall. We thank the hosts and the city of Carbondale for having a great park. Location for stores is with in 2 miles. The views are beautiful..

 Mountain Faire 2019 Stay

Review by magz on 8/6/19 12:13 PM

July 25 - 30th our 4th stay at Gateway. Beautiful view from the campground. Conveniently located to Carbondale and Glenwood Springs, right off the bike trail. Bathrooms are always clean and stocked. There is a bit of traffic noise as it is just off the highway, but that can be overlooked because of the views (the other way) and the convenience for biking and hiking and enjoying what Carbondale has to offer.

 Mountain Faire 2019 Stay

Review by magz on 8/6/19 12:13 PM

July 25 - 30th our 4th stay at Gateway. Beautiful view from the campground. Conveniently located to Carbondale and Glenwood Springs, right off the bike trail. Bathrooms are always clean and stocked. There is a bit of traffic noise as it is just off the highway, but that can be overlooked because of the views (the other way) and the convenience for biking and hiking and enjoying what Carbondale has to offer.

 Most Enjoyable

Review by Storm'nDale on 8/5/19 8:50 PM

This was our 2nd stay at Gateway and will return again. The hosts were truly helpful and take pride in their efforts. The RV park is conveniently located to everything in the valley and is a wonderful 'home base'. The restrooms were spotless, fully stocked, and never crowded. Price/fees are reasonable for trailers and homes, tho the tent camping is extremely limited.

 Great Stay

Review by JohnMantheArtMan on 7/29/19 9:39 PM

Great stay, right along the river. Carbondale is a cute walking town with many bike trails and baths to explore; which is walking distance away. Showers are clean, Property is maintained and the rig parking is easy. The host, which I should of mentioned first, was extremely nice and helpful. The freeway does run along side the Park; however it is elevated much higher than the park, so the road noise isn't an issue. Also there's a guardrail lining the freeway at that section. In final, Lovely place to camp!

 Good option

Review by Tom on 7/27/19 10:36 PM

Nice park, very close to loud highway, but so convenient. The grounds in good shape. Back in sites just fit our 33’ class A. Views of Sopris can’t be beat and the Roaring Fork roaring just below. Overall very happy.

Back to Gateway RV Park