Reviews for Gateway RV Park

Carbondale, Colorado

50 Reviews for Gateway RV Park
Average rating
Write a review for Gateway RV Park

 Great value

Review by Danny Boy on 6/12/24, 11:17 AM

Clean RV park right next to the bike and walking trails and ride along the river. It's a great value little bit of road noise that's the only reason I'd give it a four. Basically gravel area with a few shade trees but I enjoyed my stay I definitely come back

 Review

Review by Reckonso on 6/3/24, 5:03 PM

First, very nice folks operate this place. Water and power. Easy access to highway. Campers were courteous and kind. However, bathrooms are rough, shower was not quite warm and no reason to wait for it to heat up (though the second shower was said to be hot), not enough bathroom fixtures to serve the park. Highway noise was constant, as we were appx 40-50 feet from/next to the highway, and the park is below a stoplight. Little sleep due to noise and the smell of brake-dust and jake brake noise from the semis woke us early. Burrs and thorns for the dogs. Good for some. I dont like to leave a negative review, but this place needs some ownership attention. Ill look further if I come this way again. Lastly see it before you pay for it.

 Stayed May 1st thru 8th 2024

Review by Lenny on 5/30/24, 4:37 PM

Our second time at Gateway Rv Park. Love the location to Carbondale and surrounding towns. Full hook up back in. Clean bathrooms and showers. All gravel spots and road. Traffic noise during the daylight but quieter overnight. Rio Grande Trail next to the park for walking and biking. Camp host were amazing. We will definitely stay again at Gateway Rv Park.

 Stayed May 1st thru 8th 2024

Review by Lenny on 5/30/24, 4:36 PM

Our second time at Gateway Rv Park. Love the location to Carbondale and surrounding towns. Full hook up back in. Clean bathrooms and showers. All gravel spots and road. Traffic noise during the daylight but quieter overnight. Rio Grande Trail next to the park for walking and biking. We will definitely stay again at Gateway Rv Park.

 Excellent RV Park

Review by Gina Phillips on 5/21/24, 3:59 PM

Our first time staying here, cause last time we were in Colorado, they were full =( and we booked a head of time and we reserved a spot and got the pull through, and loved it, we would get the back in, to the river, but were happy with the pull though, as we had a nice view of the mountain. Love the location, next to the bike path and short walk to other places to get lunch. Nice bathrooms and showers, wish they had a laundry, but still enjoyed our stay, definitely coming back here again.

 K

Review by Jake on 10/8/23, 1:59 PM

Very nice campground! We will definitely go back

 Convenient!

Review by T.S. on 9/26/23, 5:30 PM

Great campground! We spent one night in a camper van. Easy to find and locate your spot. Easy to park. Nice clean restrooms. Very near a hiking/biking trail that will take you into town for food and etc. Four stars just because of the highway noise - but that is also what makes it easy to get in and out.

 Carbondale

Review by Lambs on 9/24/23, 9:59 AM

It’s a small campground that’s pristine and Tim was a wealth of knowledge Great location

 Great little park

Review by Linda on 9/22/23, 9:10 PM

We love this little park. It’s so convenient to everything, especially town and the Rio Grande Bike trail, which is beautiful! This was our third visit. The host was very accommodating to get us in on kind of short notice. We have family in the area and we will diffidently stay here again. Cell signal is good. Bathrooms and showers are clean.

 Great location, beautiful views, wonderful camp hosts

Review by Wendi on 9/19/23, 10:35 AM

This is one of our favorite campsites. It is a great location. There is a wonderful bike path that goes for miles. Mt. Sopris is in your view. It is well kept and clean. This campsite has the best camp host of any campground we have stayed at. Thank you Cheryl, Tim, Cathy, Bill. You make the stay friendly and enjoyable. We will back next summer!!

 Location, , Location, Location

Review by tas2609 on 9/18/23, 9:19 PM

We wanted to try out our new fly fishing raft & boy did we luck into a Prime camping location! Just above the boat put in for the Roaring Fork. Amazing! Campsite Host met us as we arrived w great info. Park is Very clean- bathroom-showers spectacular. Used Rio Grand trail to get into old Town. Great place with great views!

 Gateway RV Stay

Review by S Haigh on 9/18/23, 9:01 AM

Gateway is a really well-run little park in a great location if you want to explore the Roaring Fork Valley. It’s right next to the Rio grande trail so you can ride or walk to Carbondale. And there’s a boat put-in right there on the river. If you can manage without sewer it’s a great alternative to the KOA. The bathroom/showers are very clean. No laundry. They do have a dump station.

Response From Gateway RV Park on 10/19/23, 2:41 PM

Thank you for the review. We do have full hookup sites. Sites 1-6 and 9-13 have water, 30 or 50 amp electric and sewer at the sites. Sites 7-8 and 15-19 do not have sewer at the sites.

 Near bike trail and boat launch

Review by Cort on 8/31/23, 9:18 AM

Perfect location for rafting the Roaring Fork River or biking the Rio Grande Trail. Both are accessible from the campground. We floated down river 7 miles to the Iron Bridge boat ramp. We were fishing, so it took about 4.5 hours. If you stayed in the current and just floated, probably 2 hours. The bike trail was excellent. We rode uphill toward Aspen one day and downhill to Glenwood Springs the next day. We also rode our bikes into Carbondale for a delicious dinner at the brewpub.

 Consistently good

Review by Chip y Linda on 8/7/23, 11:25 AM

Always a great place to stay for Carbondale/Glenwood activities. Would give it 5 stars but the highway noise during the day is significant, (you have to imagine that it's the ocean). Quiets down overnight fortunately. Proximity to the river and Rio Grande bike trail is a plus! .Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

 Great Stay

Review by Ziggy on 8/7/23, 9:44 AM

Gateway RV park was a great place to stay for Mountain Fair. Close to Carbondale, close to the bike path and close to the boat ramp. Camphost was so friendly and helpful. We have 2 dogs and they thoroughly enjoyed the bike path. we will definitely be staying there again.

 Great Stay

Review by Ziggy on 8/7/23, 9:44 AM

Gateway RV park was a great place to stay for Mountain Fair. Close to Carbondale, close to the bike path and close to the boat ramp. Camphost was so friendly and helpful. We have 2 dogs and they thoroughly enjoyed the bike path. we will definitely be staying there again.

 Great location

Review by Tanvan on 7/30/23, 12:39 PM

The host greeted us upon arrival, the bathroom and showers were clean,, right on the Rio Grande bike path, easy access to Aspen, Snowmass, Glenwood Springs and Carbondale. We had to change sites during our 4 day stay since we reserved late but the host was very accommodating in letting us park our van on site while we rode our bikes during the day. Also just a short walk down to the Roaring Fork river for cooling off and watching people fly fish and float by. Thank you .

 Great experience

Review by Durangoans on 7/18/23, 4:47 PM

Great hosts! We left a piece of equipment from our trailer and had an immediate call Only parked there one night Overall convenient to Carbondale Would stay again longer next time

 Service & Price

Review by Russell on 7/6/23, 9:00 PM

Tim, the camp ground host was most helpful with information and parking assignment. The grounds were clean and a pleasure to stay for 5 days. We would camp at Gateway again.

 Central location

Review by Melissa  on 6/30/23, 6:20 AM

We stayed at Gateway for five nights. The location to all of the surrounding areas was fantastic. Carbondale, Basalt, Aspen, biking trails, fishing, Glenwood Springs was fantastic. The bathrooms were really clean, the hosts were friendly, helpful, and available when needed but not overbearing or militant as some can be. The road noise was loud and constant but we travel with noise makers for sleep and had no issues at night. Our particular site (11) had no shade so we weren’t able to be outside in the afternoon (but we were usually out exploring anyway). Lots of other sites had plenty of shade. Overall we would stay again.

 Great

Review by Karen on 6/29/23, 7:48 AM

This is the 3rd year we have stayed at Gateway, it serves our needs to visit family in the area. We love the large sites, extra vehicle parking spot, closeness to the bike trail, hiking trails and river. The road noise is only bothersome during am and pm rush hour and mostly if you are sitting ourside your camper trying to have a conversation. Quiets down evening and night time. My only complaint is the sewer vent that puts out an odor that is directly across from the large rig sites. It would be worth your while to fix the smell as we find it more bothersome than the road noise. Otherwise we love the Gateway and will continue to stay there. The camp hosts are awesome.

 Great Base for Biking, Hiking, Exploring

Review by Brenda K on 6/27/23, 11:45 AM

Super convenient location for exploring the entire Roaring Fork Valley from Glenwood Springs to Aspen as well as the Redstone and Marble areas. The campground is adjacent to the Rio Grande Trail for hiking and biking or going to the transit terminal to grab a bus to anywhere from Glenwood Springs to Aspen for $2.00-$5.00. You can take your bike with you on the bus which means coasting from Aspen down to Carbondale is very doable. The Mushroom Rock trailhead is just across the road if hiking is on your list. For a base camp, this is perfect. The campground was roomy with wide, level spots, an incredibly clean shower room, and friendly camp hosts. The only demerit is for the road noise coming from the highway situated just above the campground though not really visible because of the sloped hill. I would stay here again because of its great location, accessibility, nice amenities, and friendly people!

 Saved

Review by Little Ken  on 6/15/23, 8:33 AM

Stay here two nights, June 6 and 7, after staying one night at a dump rv park a few miles away along I-70. Camp hosts, Tim and Sheryl, are super! Sites are level and easy in and out. Road noise not a problem. We will definitely chalk up this park for our future visits to this area.

 Nice campground

Review by Love2Travel on 6/12/23, 10:45 PM

Gateway RV Park is small, nice and well cared.for. I only stayed one night. Close to the river and my site was unfortunately very close to the highway and a major intersection. Very noisy, starting early in the morning.

 Great Space, Great Views and Clean

Review by RckyMtnBill on 9/27/22, 1:00 PM

Small rv park next to highway, but road noise is not a problem inside the rv. Lots of space between sites with room for vehicle rv side by side. Huge firepit at each location. Showers and toilets clean and the friendly park hosts clean them every day. Very central location for exploring Marble, Aspen, Snowmass, Ruedi Reservoir and Frying Pan River. Lots of fisherman along the river and we saw big horn sheep nearby. Bald eages are in the area and we did see a pair as we were driving. Small main street in Carbondale has nice restaurants and bars, Ploski's deli has great sandwiches for a picnic lunch. We loved the small towns of Basalt and Sundae Ice Cream in Willets is a favorite. We have driven through Glenwood Springs many times but this is the first time we explored the Carbondale area and it is well worth a visit. A short drive on I 70 further west leads to Eagle Falls State Park and that is also worth the trip.

 6 nites at Gateway

Review by LB on 9/21/22, 9:30 AM

First time - all amenities at each campsite (including dump). Gateway focuses more on campsite vs. Kiddo activity (pool, playground, etc.), which is great for families with children, but for a change, it was nice to not hear wailing. Plus, each site has lots of space. I’d definitely return.

 Labor day

Review by Mary on 9/14/22, 8:55 AM

We have been coming up every Labor Day weekend with family! We enjoy the area and just love this campground! Cheryl, Tim , Bill & Cathy are absolutely wonderful host. The backdrop of Mt Sopris is breath taking. The area is close to Aspen, Marble and Glenwood! We will be back!

 traffic

Review by Dan on 9/2/22, 7:52 AM

RV park has good spaces and beautiful views. Access to Rio Grande bike trail is excellent. The downside is that the spaces are very close to the highway which has nearly constant traffic at all hours. I would not stay here again since I could not sleep well.

 Good base camp

Review by Gussymo on 8/31/22, 9:02 PM

Nice little park that is in a convenient location by the river and the bike/walking trail. Sites are somewhat close,, but not too bad. Great mountain views and reasonably priced. Close proximity to Aspen, Glenwood Springs, and surrounding area. We enjoyed our stay.

 Really nice clean campground

Review by Bill on 8/30/22, 10:13 AM

Really nice clean campground with friendly and helpful hosts. All 5 stars. Will stay every time we come to Carbondale. Thanks

 First time stay

Review by Buddy's Folk's  on 8/28/22, 5:06 PM

Loved being at Gateway. They were able to accommodate us to stay longer without having to move site to site. We will be back.

 Nice RV park overlooking river

Review by Ann on 8/27/22, 7:46 PM

Nice RV park with plenty of space. The camp host, Cheryl and Tim were very nice and helpful. The bathrooms were clean but the hot water was intermittent. Our only complaint was some road noise but we had the fan on so at night it wasn't too bad. We had a site that overlooked the river which was nice. We would probably stay here again. Check directions carefully as there is only one access off CO 82 and then Satank road.

 Will come back!

Review by Tate808 on 8/27/22, 8:36 AM

Pretty good location and I like the size of the park and the host we’re great. It could definitely use some more trees because it was hot. My biggest complaint is there was never hot water in the showers. It went from from cold to less cold but never warm at all. Thank you Carbondale.

 Will return

Review by Angeka on 8/20/22, 12:54 AM

Very accommodating hosts; very clean, well cared for rv park. Showers and restrooms were spotless.. The location was convenient to Aspen, Basalt, Carbondale, and Glenwood Springs. Views were beautiful. We will definitely stay again!

 Exactly what we like

Review by Dean on 8/18/22, 8:13 PM

Great location and fairly quaint setting. Clean bathrooms/showers, campground equally well kept. Friendly hosts. No complaints at all. We like smaller settings and this fits the bill. Definitely would stay again.

 RV Camper

Review by Laura on 8/7/22, 10:42 AM

Enjoyed our stay at Gateway RV Park. Small, clean campground with nice facilities and great location. Bill was very accomodating, helpful and kept things nice and clean!

 Great location and great time!

Review by HappyCOCamper  on 7/30/22, 5:02 PM

A small campground on a great location - access to trails, the river and more. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely come back. And the lots were great - you got so much more space than so many campgrounds where they pack you in there way too closely. It was really nice to spread out and enjoy the beautiful outdoors. Look forward to visiting again next summer!

 Our secret place in the Rockies!

Review by Walter on 7/28/22, 7:28 AM

We have enjoyed Gateway for years. Always friendly, peaceful and relaxing.

 Just perfect

Review by Monik on 7/27/22, 8:31 AM

Just perfect,, we went in a drift boat trip the next morning, it's right under. The campground. bath and shower where impeccable. It was just perfect for us.

 Very Convenient

Review by PPG on 7/25/22, 9:30 AM

Location to the Rio Grande Trail and the town shopping is a great, additionally the park itself is well maintained. However it would be beneficial to have a dog park on the premises. I will return for another stay in the future.

 Kris

Review by Kris on 7/22/22, 3:25 PM

We have stayed at this RV park before. It's is a good convenient location especially for the Rio Grande Trail. Everything is very clean and the hosts are most attentive and helpful. The sites are level. Only drawback is they have raised their rates considerably. Due to that fact, not sure we'd stay here again or not.

 Perfect location

Review by Zephra on 7/18/22, 8:45 AM

This was our first time here. We booked our spots with friends months before for an event at Sunlight Mountain. We didn't have much of any expectations and we were pleasantly surprised. The bathhouse was very clean, the showers were amazing and the location right next to the river and a view of Sopris was the icing on the cake. Tim came out to meet us on our first day to welcome us and was super helpful and kind. 10 out 10 recommend !!

 Just Right

Review by TravelingMusician on 7/17/22, 9:08 AM

This little park was exactly what I needed. The setting is lovely and convenient. The hospitality was first rate. The restrooms were spotless. The hosts clearly take great pride in the park and it shows in every detail. I look forward to returning!

 Tourist

Review by Missy  on 7/17/22, 8:42 AM

Its just a great little rv park . I love its location to the river launch since we are fishermen. . Bathrooms are cleaner then mine at home .

 We Got Lucky

Review by Eddie on 7/5/22, 11:10 AM

We managed a last minute reservation here and were glad we did. The location is perfect for exploring the area, the facilities are spotless and the hosts are friendly and very helpful. They were able to move us to another site so we could stay longer.. We will definitely return. There is no laundry, thus the four stars, but the view from our site made up for it.

 Great location

Review by Rob on 7/4/22, 1:15 PM

This is our second time to camp here and found it very nice. Bathrooms are clean and nearby. Hosts are great! Location is great for bike riding. We will return.

 Awesome

Review by Molls on 7/4/22, 4:47 AM

We stayed 5 nights in June . And returning in July. This is our favorite RV park in Colorado and have returned each year since finding it while riding the bike trail from Aspen a few yrs back. Always friendly hosts and exceptionally clean restrooms and showers. We look forward to returning for many yrs, Lord willing.

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Geno on 7/4/22, 4:34 AM

Each time we’ve stayed here has been very pleasant. The camp hosts are always happy and ready to assist in any situation. Restrooms are clean and sanitary. The price charged is very reasonable. We look forward to staying here at least once, if not more, each summer..

 Fantastic

Review by Linda on 7/3/22, 1:16 PM

We were pleasantly surprised to discover a fantastic RV park close to town. We had a back in spot overlooking the roaring fork river and magnificent views of Mt Sopris. We used the accesible bike path for walks. Very Little traffic noise in our location. Some of the cleanest bathrooms I’ve ever used at a RV park. We have already booked again for August 2022

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Ronald on 7/2/22, 11:14 AM

Enjoyed the campground and great location for hopping on the Riogrand bike path. We would probably not stay here again because of the highway noise is pretty intense, prefer a quieter location!

Back to Gateway RV Park