Reviews for Camp Pollock

Sacramento, California

21 Reviews for Camp Pollock
Average rating
Write a review for Camp Pollock

 Great retreat location

Review by Megan on 10/1/18 12:40 PM

Camp Pollock was a great location for our corporate retreat last weekend -- close enough to Sacramento that everyone could get there easily, but remote enough that everyone felt like they were truly stepping away from daily life to focus on our organization's big picture. I found the site staff extremely helpful in terms of getting access to the building and making sure we were good to go. I particularly appreciated the ability to manage all the internal aspects of the program (catering, etc) ourselves -- a lot of venues don't let you do this. The space was quiet, clean, well-organized and provided what it needed to provide for our company -- and the relaxing, wildlife surroundings were a wonderful "extra" for us! Camp Pollock provided great value for our organization, and we look forward to returning again in a few years.

 Reunion Picnic from 1961

Review by Buff Alexander on 9/30/18 11:13 PM

Camp Pollack is the most wonderful place to hold a event. Where else can you go down by the river on a warm sunny day and enjoy having a Reunion Picnic with people you went to school with from grade school to high school?? We are all 75 years young , so that means that we have been friends for over 70 years!! The Courtyard is wonderful and they have new rest room too. You can't beat it for any price. Last year it was very windy, so we used the inside hall and that was good too. Camp Pollack is a hidden treasure! As alot of people have never heard of it. So by all means check it out for your next affair.

 Company Retreat

Review by Non profit Organization on 6/21/18 5:02 PM

What a great venue! We had our Company retreat for the day in the Lodge and Deck area. The Lodge was air conditioned very well which made it perfect for the 100 degree weather. The Coordinator/Director were very helpful and even gave a brief history and future plans for Camp Pollack/Sacramento Valley Conservancy. We enjoyed the space and it was large enough for all our activities, dark enough to project a power point presentation in the middle of the day and the space was well cleaned when we arrived.

 BSA Troop 370

Review by BSA Troop 370 on 5/7/18 2:22 PM

The campground portion that we used was perfect for our event: a camping and biking event for our troop. The space provided was great. The site made for easy access to the American River trail system for the biking part of our trip. We will keep this site in mind for future outdoor events.

 School Board Trustee

Review by Rebecca Sandoval on 4/23/18 3:16 PM

We arrived at 2:30 and the lodge was not open until 2:50. We had to call several times to get someone to open the lodge and no one was picking up. We were scheduled from 2:30 to 5:30. The floor was dirty as there was a wedding the night before. We had to clean up water in the kitchen and sweep the lodge floor. The venue is lovely and I would like to return with a better experience.

 2017 Christmas Party

Review by 2017 Christmas Party on 1/2/18 10:36 AM

This was the best party. Everyone had a great time, with all the room for games and activities. This is the perfect place for Families or large groups with kids of all ages. Watching the kids connect with nature was priceless. Thank You!!!

 Baby Shower Success!

Review by Baby Shower Success! on 11/27/17 1:24 PM

We held our baby shower at Camp Pollock in early November and it was fantastic! We rented the lodge and the deck and it was the perfect amount of space for games, gifts, food, and more. Everyone loved walking down to the river and enjoying the forest-like seclusion in the middle of Sacramento. The staff helped with everything from tables and chairs to making sure all the reservation details went smoothly. I can't recommend Camp Pollock enough! Such a beautiful and special place for any event!

 Happy customer

Review by Birthday party on 10/23/17 12:20 AM

Nothing but positive things to say about this place. My guest absolutely loved the venue as well as myself. I totally would rent again and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

 Wedding Venue

Review by The Danna's on 10/17/17 12:23 AM

This is a little gem tucked away in a surprising area. A little rough around the edges but it made the perfect venue for my Vintage Country Wedding. The price was very affordable and the staff was very patient and easy to work with. My guest loved it here! This place is loaded with rustic potiential!!!

 Hurricane Harvey Fundraiser

Review by The Taylor Chicks on 10/9/17 8:10 AM

Camp Pollock was the PERFECT venue to hold our music festival to help our friends in Texas The event could not have gone any better and the support from the staff was amazing. We ran 2 stages, one in the fire pit area and one on the porch! All the fans had to do was turn their chairs to see each act! Super fun. The lodge provided a great are for tables and booths! Thanks to all who were involved. We raised $2500 dollars!

 Enjoyed Camp Pollock

Review by FF Sacramento on 6/12/17 2:14 PM

We really enjoyed our evening at Camp Pollock. The modifications, especially the new bathrooms, are wonderful. We moved out to the deck since it was a lovely evening. I give it only 4 stars since the kitchen needs to be updated and there were not enough chairs.

 Renovations greatly improve Camp Pollock Lodge

Review by Cub Scout Pack 136 on 3/27/17 5:01 PM

We once again held our Blue and Gold Banquet at Camp Pollock and it was tremendous! It was the first event we have had there since the renovations and we were very impressed with them. The new patio out back along with the French doors have really added to the light and feel of the lodge. Although you are a minute away from downtown, it feels like you are in the middle of nature in a wonderful rustic cabin! We will always use the lodge for our cub scout events! Evan filled in for the caretaker, since he was away for the weekend, and Evan could not have been more accommodating! Thank you again Sacramento Conservancy for taking over the property and keeping it authentic!

 Camp Pollock rocks!

Review by Pack 136 on 3/28/16 11:54 AM

We held our annual Blue and Gold Banquet at Camp Pollock for the 10th year in a row and it was awesome. Juan was a tremendous help and very flexible in helping get set up. Since the Conservancy has taken control of Camp Pollock, we have had nothing but fabulous events and outstanding support from the Conservancy. We will be back again and again!!!

 Eagle Court of Honor

Review by Scouter on 12/28/15 3:02 PM

We had a great time holding our son's Boy Scout Eagle Court of Honor at the Lodge at Camp Pollock. Juan Carlos was very helpful facilitating our set up. We had a crackling fire which served as the perfect backdrop to our event.

 OKPIK

Review by HAT MAN on 12/21/15 12:09 PM

Camp Pollock is the perfect place to hold training. We were doing a winter camp training and we keep it cold in the lodge to give everyone the sense of the training. The facilities were great and the on site staff were very helpful. Thanks for the great training site.

 Abraham Lincoln High School of San Francisco

Review by Mustangs Class of 1960 !! on 9/21/15 5:17 PM

Wow, did we ever have a wonderful time again at Camp Pollock! We used the Courtyard and what a perfect spot . It's our 3rd time to use amp Pollock too. And already we want to reserve it for 2016. We were worried about the heat that day, but it was a beautiful day. We had 37 people in attendance. People came from all over, but one guy came from Thailand as part of his usual fishing trip to the U.S. Others came from Oregon, Arizona, and all over Calif. We had a great time . Matt Gaylord was a big help when we had any questions! We will be there in 2016 that's for sure. Buff Alexander

 Great Wedding Location

Review by Paul & Love on 5/15/15 5:58 PM

We had our wedding here on April 25 this year, and it was great. Although it's a bit difficult with electricity (hanging up lights, and getting amplified sound out), if you have a few generators, or one powerful one, that would do. It would be the same scenario at most outside venues anyway, I suppose. Place was beautiful, lots of parking for our 200+ person event. I highly recommend it. It's a bit difficult to stay in close contact with Matt, the overseer of the property, but he also overlooks other locations, so you'll have to schedule a few days in advance to have him come out and show you around. Feels like you're out in nature and far from the city, even though it's not far from downtown. Lots of turkeys and birds around. Grass was mowed for us, the place was prepared, the bathrooms were available for use. Everything was great.

 Producer

Review by Scotty  on 12/11/14 2:11 PM

By far the most beautiful venue in Sacramento. Can't wait to do an event here.

 Wedding review

Review by G&S on 10/25/14 10:18 PM

I hate to spread the word too fast but this was a fantastic venue for our wedding. Lacking in some aspects but overall a great place and I'm sure it will get better as it matures. And Matt the caretaker was wonderful. If you want rustic and outdoors book it early as I'm sure this will soon be a very popular spot.

 The Lodge at Camp Pollock

Review by Cub Scout Pack 136 on 11/25/13 2:33 PM

We have been using Camp Pollock for our Blue and Gold Banquet, Advancement Ceremony and Pinewood Derby for the past 7 years. This year was the first time we have used it since the Sacramento Valley Conservancy took control of it. We are VERY pleased they did so! The lodge and grounds are in much better shape than in the final few years the council had it. They are cleaner and much more inviting than previous years and the lodge's rustic Boy Scout camp feel is exactly what the cub scouts need! It is fabulous to have such a wonderful location so close that makes you feel as though you are far away from the city. The fees to use the facility are excellent and the staff in charge of the facility are extremely friendly and easy to work with. We will keep coming back year after year!

 Manager

Review by WETSU on 11/5/13 10:58 PM

We have been holding our Men's events at Camp Pollock for the last several months. The setting creates an atmosphere of being in the woods without the long drive normally required for this experience. The grounds are very well kept and our Camp Pollack contact is always very helpful. We deeply appreciate all that the staff contributes to the grounds and would recommend this site for any and all gatherings. Mr. Raemaeker WETSU Men's Division

Back to Camp Pollock