Reviews for McDonald Observatory

McDonald Observatory, Texas

 Sucks

Review by RTA on 12/31/17 3:54 PM

Too many people!!! Not fun at all

 Daytime Tour

Review by Kid Charlemagne on 6/10/17 1:42 AM

The experience was educational, as well as fascinating and thought-provoking, about our whole solar system. So impressed with our tour guide, Kelly, too!!!

 Solar Viewing and Telescope Tour

Review by Kim/Gary on 2/14/15 3:55 PM

Kelly taught us about the Sun and its properties! The tour of the telescopes and their roles were awesome! He really knew how to explain the universe and all the technical jargon! Thanks for a lovely experience!

 Star Party

Review by Kim/Gary on 2/14/15 3:49 PM

Our speaker was very informative and entertaining! I loved the stories of the constellation stories were perfect!The telescopes were manned by very helpful scientists! Perfect weather was a bonus! I can't wait to come back

 Booking only

Review by CA Traveler on 8/16/14 1:54 PM

We have not yet enjoyed our Twilight Program and Star Party scheduled for October 7, 2014, but I need to say now that the online reservation system is exceptional, leaving very few, if any, questions unanswered. The follow-up information returned to my email after purchase is very helpful. Based on our experience so far, I'm looking forward to our visit. Thanks, McDonald Observatory folks, for making such programs available. California Traveler to West Texas, R. Baker

 worth visiting

Review by tats me on 6/7/13 8:55 AM

We went for star party, since it happened to be full moon night with little clouds around we weren't able to witness the star constellations by naked eye...however the crew got the images captured earlier screened for us. We also took a close view of moon and saturn through the telescope with information provided by the crew on what we are viewing. They also had a spectrum seminar where they demonstrated how light gives out different colors. Overall it was quite informative and we really enjoyed it.

 star party n hubble telescope movie

Review by tats me on 6/7/13 8:51 AM

We went for star party, since it happened to be full moon night with little clouds around we weren't able to witness the star constellations by naked eye...however the crew got the images captured earlier screened for us. We also took a close view of moon and saturn through the telescope with information provided by the crew on what we are viewing. They also had a spectrum seminar where they demonstrated how light gives out different colors. Overall it was quite informative and. We really enjoyed ourselves.

 Disappointment

Review by West Texas Nana on 4/6/13 10:18 AM

We were disappointed with staff & presentation. Too bad it was an overcast night so we could only see Jupiter. The largest disappointment was the directors need to pump up the visiting honor students and down rate other universities. Were you afraid your students are mediocre? We met folks from PA, Houston, Texas and Canada and they didn’t understand why anyone would be little others either. We found ourselves making apologies for something we didn’t say because it was so offensive. Thanks for making Texas look stupid to others. We believe $34.00 per person was a gross over payment for the services we received. The only highlight to the night was Mark’s program outside explaining the thirteen astrology symbols. But once we went inside, it turned into a sells seminar for one to buy Star Date product which is a part of UT. What a LARGE disappointment!

 Star Party

Review by WestTexan on 12/30/12 7:22 PM

As always, the guys at the Observatory continue to impress. They offer an interesting lecture set in the fantastically beautiful setting in the Mountains with great insight and knowledge about the stars that we have seen our entire lives but know so little about. If you're going to go, be prepared for any weather. We went in on 12/29/12, and it was pretty chilly and windy. I took a big thick blanket, flashlights, a 5 MW laser pointer, and a Thermos full of hot coffee as well as some jerky. But, I've got to say, my girlfriend was ecstatic with the one-of-a-kind experience like the one offered in a star party! Great job and I hope to do it again with my kids someday!!!

 You haven't seen the night sky until you've been to a McDonald star party!

Review by canis majoris on 7/18/12 1:01 PM

My wife and I went to the observatory on the night of July 17, 2012 and we had a wonderful time! Living on the outskirts of our city where light pollution is not too bad, we thought we had seen the best the night sky can offer--that was, until we had the pleasure of experiencing a McDonald Observatory Star Party. We had never seen so many stars and celestial objects in our lives! We got to see Saturn and its moons, M13, the Whirlpool Galaxy, nebulas, and star clusters through the many telescopes they had set up. Shooting stars were also abundant throughout the night. The best part of our visit was the long-exposure photography we took of the Milky Way. We got some of the most beautiful photos we've ever taken. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly, and they know exactly what they are talking about. The Star Date Cafe serves good food, and the gift shop is loaded with merchandise from simple souvenirs all the way up to Dobsonian telescopes! We plan on returning in the near future. This is a wonderful experience for anyone interested in astronomy and the heavens, and is also a very nice way to spend time with the family.

 special viewing 36

Review by Star Happy People on 4/30/12 2:42 PM

We had a wonderful time and found employees to be helpful & very knowledgeable. Highly recommend any special viewings, they are well worth the money.

 Customer

Review by VT on 9/30/10 5:04 PM

I found that purchasing tickets for both the Twilight Program and Star Party was not easy. In fact I believe my reservations are incorrect, but am not sure how to find out the error. Why is a security text required (below)?