Reviews for Lake LBJ Resort & Marina

Sunrise Beach, Texas

 Bad service

Review by Yesenia on 9/15/23, 8:49 AM

The service in the beginning was OK, no one acknowledges you, you have to go find someone to help you. We rented 3 jet skis all day, not cheap! One stopped working after 1 hour of use we had to haul it back with one of the of the other jet skis it took us almost 2 hours to get back since we could only go so fast, ran out of gas, horrible experience. We were told we would get a refund on one of the rentals that was a big fat lie.

 Renter

Review by Anthony on 9/10/23, 7:32 AM

The staff was courteous and helpful. The pontoon was clean. The only downside was the man who checked us in as well as the man that guided us in when finished BOTH admitted that the boat had steering problems. But they still rented it to us. The wheel needed at least 30 turns to the left before it would respond and 15 to the right. Not the safest.

 review

Review by cc on 9/10/23, 7:20 AM

rented pontoon boat first thing in the morning and would have nice if trash had been removed from under bins and everything wiped down. boats are old as seat upholstery is cracking pretty good. good news is motor ran good. be ready for gas purchase as it was 8 dollars per gallon

 Renter

Review by Michael on 9/10/23, 5:26 AM

Very good friendly people and good service ! I always rent from them when every I come visit It's my must place go on every trip!

 Renter

Review by Michael on 9/10/23, 5:26 AM

Very good friendly people and good service ! I always rent from them when every I come visit It's my must place go on every trip!

 Baker

Review by Jimmy  on 9/6/23, 5:59 PM

The pontoon I rented was garbage! Tore seats, smelled, and slowest pontoon. Towing a 11 year and she didn’t catch air once! Staff was somewhat friendly…

 Pontoon Boat

Review by Betty Boop on 8/13/23, 9:28 AM

The original boat assigned to us had seats that were all ripped up, so we were able to trade out the boat for another pontoon style boat (not as fast as the original assigned boat but it was sufficient to meet our needs) that only had one ripped seat, but it appeared mildewed. We rented for the day and had a great time on Lake LBJ. The boat rental price was okay but the cost of the replacement of the gas seemed very high to me and the rental cost of $75 for an innertube was high too. Overall, the cost was well worth it as my family was able to enjoy the entire day making memories on the water and the kids had a great time tubing. I would defiantly rent from this marine again when on Lake LBJ. The staff were friendly.

 Pontoon Boat

Review by Betty Boop on 8/13/23, 9:28 AM

The original boat assigned to us had seats that were all ripped up, so we were able to trade out the boat for another pontoon style boat (not as fast as the original assigned boat but it was sufficient to meet our needs) that only had one ripped seat, but it appeared mildewed. We rented for the day and had a great time on Lake LBJ. The boat rental price was okay but the cost of the replacement of the gas seemed very high to me and the rental cost of $75 for an innertube was high too. Overall, the cost was well worth it as my family was able to enjoy the entire day making memories on the water and the kids had a great time tubing. I would defiantly rent from this marine again when on Lake LBJ. The staff were friendly.

 Watch the gas

Review by Chuck on 8/7/23, 8:00 AM

Watch the gas pump 8 dollars a gallon what a rip off by this guy. Boat was subpar. Motor always was overheating. Seats ripped. Rated three real rating is 2.5

 Watch the gas

Review by Chuck on 8/7/23, 8:00 AM

Watch the gas pump 8 dollars a gallon what a rip off by this guy. Boat was subpar. Motor always was overheating. Seats ripped. Rated three real rating is 2.5

 Good time

Review by Corrine on 6/11/23, 10:09 AM

We had rentals three days in a row. Very accommodating to our family needs. The first day we got there, the jet ski we rented was out with another customer, we were given an upgraded jet ski at no extra cost. Also, we learned we wouldn’t be able to take the rentals to the area we were staying because of high risk of moss but staff was helpful to show us plenty of other docking options along the lake. We even hung out on their shaded patio; the restaurant was closed during that time but the owner offered us to order drinks. This was our second time to rent from this Marina and we have been pleased. We had no issues with the rentals and felt welcomed each visit. We will continue to be returning customers.

 Very Slick

Review by RH on 6/6/23, 7:42 AM

We rented a pontoon, when about to leave out we were asked by the owner if 'we would like a tube'. I said sure and went inside to sign off on the boat. The owner wrote on the rental sheet 'TUBE' below the boat name we rented, in the cost column he wrote nothing- I was thinking and anticipating it to be complimentary since we had rented the boat for a full day. A day after the rental a sales receipt came through with a $75 charge for the tube and a charge of $7.96 per gallon of fuel totaling: $137.97. I requested either reimbursement or a adjustment to this cost, I was apparently supposed to know that the tube is "always rented, never complimentary" and the cost is highlighted in the small print on the website. I failed to have the website in front of me when at the dock and further I did not memorize the website. A very slimy way of doing business. The boat was another story, the seat were sticky from spills, the seats were mildewy and ripped, the underflooring was deteriorated. They say you get what you pay for but in this case we missed out on both the price and the experience.

 Lake LBJ Resort & Marina

Review by Brent  on 5/30/23, 8:26 AM

Thanks for always having availability and the best prices. Lake LBJ Resort & Marina you make vacations affordable and we always have a great time.

 Lake LBJ Resort & Marina

Review by Marty Barragan on 5/30/23, 8:22 AM

We have a boat at Horseshoe Bay Marina in A Valet slip, on Memorial Day we took our boat out and two minutes after leaving marina our boat was smoking the gaskets blew along with both valves. We got towed in. I called several places and no boats were available. I remembered staying at Lake LBJ Resort & Marina several times when needing. Last minute place so I went on line and amazingly they had availability. The pontoon boat was perfect. The staff has always been amazing along with their mascot an adorable Shepard. I am going to use them as a priority when we go to Lake LBJ their pricing is amazing for 1/2- and full days. Lodging is also lower than all others around the lake. Thank you for the past 6-trips and Always be 1/2 the cost of other places.

 Great Customer Service

Review by Juan on 9/11/22, 6:49 PM

George and his staff were helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the boat on our first outing half way during trip, but Goerge sent out one of his staff member to tow us back to the marina.....fully refunded us and apologized for the short rental . His staff was so helpful that we came back the next day and had a blast. Gotta LOVE the small local business owners! We will definitely schedule our next outing with George and crew.

 Great Customer Service

Review by Juan on 9/11/22, 6:49 PM

George and his staff were helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the boat on our first outing half way during trip, but Goerge sent out one of his staff member to tow us back to the marina.....fully refunded us and apologized for the short rental . His staff was so helpful that we came back the next day and had a blast. Gotta LOVE the small local business owners! We will definitely schedule our next outing with George and crew.

 Never again

Review by Never again on 8/16/22, 10:44 AM

Rented a pontoon boat and tube for the family. Boat was old, dirty, torn seats, gauges didn't work, very slow, and broke down 2 hours into the rental. They did respond and bring another old, dirty, slow, boat. $9/gallon for gas is ridiculous. I have spent the same amount of money on a boat rental and gas, and received a much newer, faster boat, well maintained, boat. Never again on this lake!

 Terrible STAY AWAY

Review by Will on 8/14/22, 10:08 AM

We rented from Them because they were the only rental place left that had a jet ski available. They were more expensive than anyone else that we checked and when I got there the place smelled like and old ashtray. The jet ski they gave me was old, beat up, and very gutless. I went ahead and took it because I figured it would be fine as long as it works and besides that, I had already paid. (After I left with the jet ski I realized it was very slow and had no power) I had just gotten to our lake house with it when I got pulled over by the game warden because he could not see the registration numbers. Upon inspection he immediately shut me down because nothing was in order. No fire extinguisher, no registration, no emergency whistle. They did give me a full refund but I will absolutely never rent from them again. Their equipment is old, outdated and absolutely junk on top of being more expensive than other places that rent bran new stuff. STAY AWAY.

 Terrible STAY AWAY

Review by Will on 8/14/22, 10:08 AM

We rented from Them because they were the only rental place left that had a jet ski available. They were more expensive than anyone else that we checked and when I got there the place smelled like and old ashtray. The jet ski they gave me was old, beat up, and very gutless. I went ahead and took it because I figured it would be fine as long as it works and besides that, I had already paid. (After I left with the jet ski I realized it was very slow and had no power) I had just gotten to our lake house with it when I got pulled over by the game warden because he could not see the registration numbers. Upon inspection he immediately shut me down because nothing was in order. No fire extinguisher, no registration, no emergency whistle. They did give me a full refund but I will absolutely never rent from them again. Their equipment is old, outdated and absolutely junk on top of being more expensive than other places that rent bran new stuff. STAY AWAY.

 Terrible STAY AWAY

Review by Will on 8/14/22, 10:08 AM

We rented from Them because they were the only rental place left that had a jet ski available. They were more expensive than anyone else that we checked and when I got there the place smelled like and old ashtray. The jet ski they gave me was old, beat up, and very gutless. I went ahead and took it because I figured it would be fine as long as it works and besides that, I had already paid. (After I left with the jet ski I realized it was very slow and had no power) I had just gotten to our lake house with it when I got pulled over by the game warden because he could not see the registration numbers. Upon inspection he immediately shut me down because nothing was in order. No fire extinguisher, no registration, no emergency whistle. They did give me a full refund but I will absolutely never rent from them again. Their equipment is old, outdated and absolutely junk on top of being more expensive than other places that rent bran new stuff. STAY AWAY.

 Terrible STAY AWAY

Review by Will on 8/14/22, 10:07 AM

We rented from Them because they were the only rental place left that had a jet ski available. They were more expensive than anyone else that we checked and when I got there the place smelled like and old ashtray. The jet ski they gave me was old, beat up, and very gutless. I went ahead and took it because I figured it would be fine as long as it works and besides that, I had already paid. (After I left with the jet ski I realized it was very slow and had no power) I had just gotten to our lake house with it when I got pulled over by the game warden because he couldn’t see the registration numbers. Upon inspection he immediately shut me down because nothing was in order. No fire extinguisher, no registration, no emergency whistle. They did give me a full refund but I will absolutely never rent from them again. Their equipment is old, outdated and absolutely junk on top of being more expensive than other places that rent bran new stuff. STAY AWAY.

 Terrible STAY AWAY

Review by Will on 8/14/22, 10:05 AM

We rented from Them because they were the only rental place left that had a jet ski available. They were more expensive than anyone else that we checked and when I got there the place smelled like and old ashtray. The jet ski they gave me was old, beat up, and very gutless. I went ahead and took it because I figured it would be fine as long as it works and besides that, I had already paid. (After I left with the jet ski I realized it was very slow and had no power) I had just gotten to our lake house with it when I got pulled over by the game warden because he couldn’t see the registration numbers. Upon inspection he immediately shut me down because nothing was in order. No fire extinguisher, no registration, no emergency whistle. They did give me a full refund but I will absolutely never rent from them again. Their equipment is old, outdated and absolutely junk on top of being more expensive than other places that rent bran new stuff. STAY AWAY.

 Sunday pontoon Rental

Review by Karen on 8/1/22, 10:19 AM

We had a wonderful day renting a pontoon boat from LBJ Marina. The service was excellent. Scheduling was easy on the internet! Thank you! We will plan to rent again next year!

 Easy enough

Review by Kat on 7/25/22, 11:44 PM

Easy to reserve online. Staff is friendly and laid back. I rented the pontoon and jet ski combo. The pontoon’s steering was a bit tricky. The jet ski died on us about an hour into our 4 hour rental time. We called the marina and they brought us a much nicer jet ski. To make up for the inconvenience, they gave us an extra hour. The staff is courteous and helpful. Overall, it was a nice experience and we enjoyed our day on the water.

 Easy enough

Review by Kat on 7/25/22, 11:43 PM

Easy to reserve online. Staff is friendly and laid back. I rented the pontoon and jet ski combo. The pontoon’s steering was a bit tricky. The jet ski died on us about an hour into our 4 hour rental time. We called the marina and they brought us a much nicer jet ski. To make up for the inconvenience, they gave us an extra hour. The staff is courteous and helpful. Overall, it was a nice experience and we enjoyed our day on the water.

 Stay Away!

Review by RR on 7/23/22, 11:14 PM

July, 2022. The whole place, including the room we stayed in, was run down, neglected, dirty, and overgrown with weeds. Very overpriced. Not a family venue, a fishing camp at best. We reserved for 3 nights, but checked out after 2 nights because we were so uncomfortable there. Owner wouldn’t offer even a partial refund. If you want to eat at their restaurant, the steaks start at around $60. We rented a pontoon boat for 4 hours - very pricey, and hard to operate - steering wheel very hard to turn. Prepare to pay $9 per gallon for gas used in addition to boat rental fee.

 8 hour boat rental Lake LBJ

Review by MC on 7/11/22, 12:43 PM

First time renting with this marina. Renting was easy, getting there and picking up boat easy. Then, the experience went downhill form there. They didn't provide an anchor or dock lines as standard. When I asked for anchor, they gave me a very small poor anchor that only works in very calm waters - not LBJ as those familiar with the lake understand. when I asked for dock lines they d said use the line with the tube which for those who boat very often understand that doesn't work well at all. So, I think they just expect you to drive around the boat for 8 hours , so can pay the 9.00 per gallon fill up fee at end. My gas gauge was actually working , said only use da quarter of a tank of gas but charged me for 14 something gallons which I think was either purposely cheating me or inaccurate - wish I had stayed on dock to watch them finish filling it up so i could have verified which issues it was. As a side note they also don't let you go down the Llano past 2900 bridge which was an issue for us also as we were meeting friends on another boat a little downstream of that bridge. anyway overall experience was pretty poor though the folks were friendly - just all the logistical issues made it a very poor experience - wont ever rent from them again.

 Lovely 1/2 day on the lake!

Review by Family Fun on 7/4/22, 12:36 PM

This was our first time renting a boat on Lake LBJ and definitely will not be our last. Booking on line was so very easy and the selection of boats with their descriptions made it easy to pick the best one for our needs. We rented a towable when we got there and that was easy to do as well. The staff was courteous and made everything easy. I liked the availability of restrooms before we boarded the boat and the cold waters we could purchase before we boarded as well. We did have a problem when out on the water - my husbands fault - but with the number on the side of the boat we quickly called in and everything was back to normal in a matter of minutes. We called in a lunch order at Boater’s Bistro and took it back out on the water. The food was delicious and was ready when we arrived on the boat to pick up. Overall it was a fabulous day and we will have a repeat of the day very soon. The price for renting was fabulous and was worth the hour drive. Great job!

 Mr

Review by AJ on 7/3/22, 10:52 AM

Staff was friendly. I rented a 150 hp tritoon be able to have decent power and speed. The boat I got had neither. Gas gauge didn’t work. Engine over heated about 6 1/2 hrs in to 8 hr rental. They brought a longer tritoon with a 135 hp motor, it ran better. Upon returning they said the 150hp motor tritoon was 2000 lbs heavier. Never again. FYI. Make sure you watch them fill it up. I was eventually charged $167.00 for gas.

 Mr

Review by AJ on 7/3/22, 10:52 AM

Staff was friendly. I rented a 150 hp tritoon be able to have decent power and speed. The boat I got had neither. Gas gauge didn’t work. Engine over heated about 6 1/2 hrs in to 8 hr rental. They brought a longer tritoon with a 135 hp motor, it ran better. Upon returning they said the 150hp motor tritoon was 2000 lbs heavier. Never again. FYI. Make sure you watch them fill it up. I was eventually charged $167.00 for gas.

 Great boat rental!

Review by Bret on 6/1/22, 11:08 AM

We rented a pontoon boat from Lake LBJ Resort, and it was a great experience! When we arrived early they said “no problem, you can take it now”. The check-in was super easy, and The boat was in great shape. We had a great time on the lake and check-in was easy too. We plan to use Lake LBJ Resort the next time we stay at the lake. Great experience!

 Boat rental

Review by Lake LBJ Marina  on 5/3/22, 8:28 AM

Rental was easy and staff was friendly. George is very welcoming! We had a great time and would rent again!

 Fisherman

Review by Stan on 3/27/22, 6:16 AM

Owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. The Fisherman's Room was clean but tiny. No fridge or microwave. Our second stay and will probably stay again.

 Great room

Review by T Shanks on 1/12/22, 8:55 AM

Great place to get away. We rented the romantic room with the hot tub. It was nice and quite right after Christmas. And dog friendly. Could not find a better place for $155 per night Thanks for the hospitality. We will return.

 DIrty!

Review by Boating on 11/16/21, 11:00 AM

Boat had multiple tears in the cushons......was very dirty....not the experience I wanted for taking out friends for a day on the lake! Will try another marina next time we want to go out! Staff was friendly but told us they "forgot" we were coming!

 Fun Fun Fun

Review by Rene on 10/4/21, 1:36 AM

Had so much fun . Friendly and all went smoothly. Would rent again and recommend to my friends .

 Trip to LBJ

Review by Rick on 9/17/21, 8:15 AM

We had a wonderful time. The 21foot pontoon with a 90 Honda wasn't the fastest on the lake but moved us across the lake at a very acceptable speed. It was stable and everything was ready when we arrived. I would do this again on my next trip to Texas. Only complaint was we did not have an anchor but as calm as the lake was it was not an issue.

 Would not rent again

Review by Dissapointed on 8/30/21, 10:14 AM

We rented a boat for a family outing in August. The pictures on the website definitely do not match what you get when you arrive. The boat had torn interior, stained carpet, gauges that didn't work and reverse worked only part of the time.. I rented the biggest/most powerful boat they had so we could let the kids wakeboard and the boat could not pull up a 140 pound skier. It was obvious the boat had been abused for a long time and was hardly water worthy

 Great Time

Review by Steve P. on 8/27/21, 5:12 AM

Had a great time, super friendly and helpful staff. Fun experience plan to be back.

 Our Family Lake Trip

Review by McNamara Family on 8/10/21, 9:58 AM

We had so much fun! The staff, especially Blaze and Leo, were awesome! Truly went out of their way to be helpful and informative. Check-in was easy. Everything was as advertised, and our family had so much fun making memories on the lake. We will definitely do this again!

 renter

Review by pontoon/jet ski combo on 8/7/21, 6:06 AM

We rented a pontoon/jet ski combo. We had originally set up a reservation with another marina, but they called 2 hours before reservation and stated boat was broke down. We were put in a bad position, but this marina had a reservation, that fit our needs. The guys helping us were very thorough in safety, driving of boat and jet ski. We were very satisfied with the whole experience!!!

 Rented 2 Pontoons

Review by MDR on 8/1/21, 8:50 AM

We were very happy with the boats and service. Having owned and rented pontoons several times, my expectations are moderated by an understanding of how much these boats are used and abused. The service was awesome. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The boats included a JC 221/75HP and the Oasis 23 with 150HP. We were not interested in towing but just wanted a few hours on the lake for our land-locked visitors. Everyone had a good time and both boats worked great. One big recommendation is to check the prop before you leave the dock. We did not and after being on the water a little bit I raised the motor and could see some chunks out of the prop on one of the boats. These were there before we started as we never hit anything but I had not checked them out. If I rented again, I'd raise the motor and take pictures of the prop.

 Stay away from the 50 horsepower pontoon

Review by Bob on 7/26/21, 4:55 PM

With my boat in the shop I had to rent a pontoon from this outfit at the last minute due to having company in town. It was very easy to check in and the staff was very nice but lets talk about the so called boat. If the state required an annual inspection like they do with cars this sucker would fail 100 out of 100 times. It's a joke that they even put this rust bucket on the water. The only boat that they even had available was a pontoon with a 50 horse power Honda. Let's put it this way. I'd put a fishing boat with a trolling motor up against this turtle. Speedometer didn't work so I couldn't tell you the top speed but I'm guessing top 6-7 MPH was all she could muster. It was actually comical. It didn't help that the carpet had horrible stains, seats had mildew, 1 of the 6 speakers worked and 2 of the speakers were hanging off the seat. Boat is rated 12 people maximum. We had 6 with a few coolers and the boat did a nose dive after every big wave. When I say nose dive the ENTIRE 1/3 of the boat was submerged when a big wave hit. I called and spoke with a manager the next business day to express my concern. He said it was a great boat that was only 1 year old. All I could do was laugh. That rust bucket had to be 15 years old.

 Stay away from the 50 horsepower pontoon

Review by Bob on 7/26/21, 4:55 PM

With my boat in the shop I had to rent a pontoon from this outfit at the last minute due to having company in town. It was very easy to check in and the staff was very nice but lets talk about the so called boat. If the state required an annual inspection like they do with cars this sucker would fail 100 out of 100 times. It's a joke that they even put this rust bucket on the water. The only boat that they even had available was a pontoon with a 50 horse power Honda. Let's put it this way. I'd put a fishing boat with a trolling motor up against this turtle. Speedometer didn't work so I couldn't tell you the top speed but I'm guessing top 6-7 MPH was all she could muster. It was actually comical. It didn't help that the carpet had horrible stains, seats had mildew, 1 of the 6 speakers worked and 2 of the speakers were hanging off the seat. Boat is rated 12 people maximum. We had 6 with a few coolers and the boat did a nose dive after every big wave. When I say nose dive the ENTIRE 1/3 of the boat was submerged when a big wave hit. I called and spoke with a manager the next business day to express my concern. He said it was a great boat that was only 1 year old. All I could do was laugh. That rust bucket had to be 15 years old.

 Stay away from the 50 horsepower pontoon

Review by Jimmy on 7/26/21, 4:55 PM

With my boat in the shop I had to rent a pontoon from this outfit at the last minute due to having company in town. It was very easy to check in and the staff was very nice but lets talk about the so called boat. If the state required an annual inspection like they do with cars this sucker would fail 100 out of 100 times. It's a joke that they even put this rust bucket on the water. The only boat that they even had available was a pontoon with a 50 horse power Honda. Let's put it this way. I'd put a fishing boat with a trolling motor up against this turtle. Speedometer didn't work so I couldn't tell you the top speed but I'm guessing top 6-7 MPH was all she could muster. It was actually comical. It didn't help that the carpet had horrible stains, seats had mildew, 1 of the 6 speakers worked and 2 of the speakers were hanging off the seat. Boat is rated 12 people maximum. We had 6 with a few coolers and the boat did a nose dive after every big wave. When I say nose dive the ENTIRE 1/3 of the boat was submerged when a big wave hit. I called and spoke with a manager the next business day to express my concern. He said it was a great boat that was only 1 year old. All I could do was laugh. That rust bucket had to be 15 years old.

 RE: Introduction

Review by Sunday funday  on 7/26/21, 6:24 AM

The staff was great and we had a great time. The boat latter's were too short and not being able to go to kingsland to the Colorado arm was a disappointment but other than that we had a good time.

 RE: Introduction

Review by Sunday funday  on 7/26/21, 6:24 AM

The staff was great and we had a great time. The boat latter's were too short and not being able to go to kingsland to the Colorado arm was a disappointment but other than that we had a good time.

 RE: Introduction

Review by Sunday funday  on 7/26/21, 6:24 AM

The staff was great and we had a great time. The boat latter's were too short and not being able to go to kingsland to the Colorado arm was a disappointment but other than that we had a good time.

 Family Day on Lake LBJ

Review by Vicki on 7/24/21, 8:29 PM

The staff was super friendly. We rented a pontoon here because other outfits did not have any available -- as well as the convenience of booking online. It was a little drive from where we were staying at Horseshoe Bay but it was kind of fun to see all the deer along the way and get off the main roads. Once we were out of the cove it was actually pretty quick to get back around to the open water. The kids had a blast tubing.

 Family Day on Lake LBJ

Review by Vicki on 7/24/21, 8:29 PM

The staff was super friendly. We rented a pontoon here because other outfits did not have any available -- as well as the convenience of booking online. It was a little drive from where we were staying at Horseshoe Bay but it was kind of fun to see all the deer along the way and get off the main roads. Once we were out of the cove it was actually pretty quick to get back around to the open water. The kids had a blast tubing.