Reviews for Fair Winds in the Forest

Cooksburg, Pennsylvania

 Impressed

Review by Rick  on 12/31/17 10:08 AM

I have been coming to the area for 30 years now and have stayed in many of the Cook Forest sites. Matt, his family and team are doing a great job. Many of the cabins are brand new and very comfortable. I'm sitting in front of the fire, on the Wi-fi in this new cabin and couldn't be more impressed. Matt and his team are just humble, great people who are glad to be your hosts. If you have not been up here in awhile you are in for a very pleasant surprise.

 The nicest owner and the best place to stay!

Review by Bob and Robin on 11/12/17 11:06 AM

Cabin 7 was fully equipped, clean, spacious! Owner was very nice. We had such a wonderful time that we booked already for spring and fall of 2018!

 Don't stay in the Black Forrest Canin

Review by Court D  on 9/1/16 7:13 AM

The pictures on the website of the Black Forrest Cabin are wicked old. It looks NOTHING like that now. It's incredibly dated and kind of gross. When we checked in the screen door had masking tape around it to hold the screen in place. It didn't work well as our cabin was riddled with flies. The paint was peeling off the walls in every room, the toilets clogged and one was leaking. When we told the owner he insisted it was just "sweating" from the heat and gave us a towel. On night one both kitchen sinks clogged and had to be plunged. There were holes in the walls and the floor was uneven (sinking in some spots.) The place has multiple other cabins that all appear to be brand new inside. Matt the owner clearly doesn't give a crap about this main cabin. I would never stay here again. Cooks Forrest was great! Lots to do nearby, but pricey for the area.

 great place to stay

Review by Northfield on 1/11/16 2:13 PM

We've been staying @ Fairwinds every year for about 6 years. Matt is a great host, and he and Art do a great job of taking care of everything. We'll be customers as long as they'll have us.

 Peaceful

Review by Jenler on 11/15/15 5:44 PM

Our cabin was great! We were upgraded due to furnace issues with our original chosen cabin. It was roomy and cozy. The only thing that I'd change would be the strong sulfur smell that occurs after taking a shower. The free started firewood was a nice touch.

 Was looking for quiet retreat

Review by Camper on 8/7/15 10:26 AM

Cabin was ok. Need some TLC. Too close to other cabins and busy highway. Unfinished room has particle board on wall. Hole in ceiling not covered. No outlets in bathroom. No light in fridge. Cooks forest beautiful.

 Excellently Ideal!

Review by The Q Crew on 7/19/15 2:26 PM

Our family (mom, dad, ten kids) and half a dozen friends spent the week at the Black Forest Lodge, it was awesome! The cabin very comfortably fit all of us and Matt was an excellent resource for surrounding activities. This was our first visit to Fair Winds and we have already made a reservation for next year!

 Excellently Ideal!

Review by The Q Crew on 7/19/15 2:25 PM

Our family (mom, dad, ten kids) and half a dozen friends spent the week at the Black Forest Lodge, it was awesome! The cabin very comfortable fit all of us and Matt was an excellent resource for surrounding activities. This was our first visit to Fair Winds and we have already made a reservation for next year!

 Hands Down the Best Place To Stay

Review by Fox Family on 5/8/15 10:56 PM

Amazing Hospitality!!! Clean Cabins!!! Can't wait to visit again :-)

 Best place in Cook Forest

Review by Weyman on 2/9/15 6:07 PM

We have been staying at Fairwinds for four years. We have stay in cabin 1 and most recently cabin 7. It is an awesome place to stay in the Cook Forest area. It is close to the river and other attractions. Matt is always available to recommend a place to eat or other fun activities. My family enjoys the Wolfes Corners fair each year. Matt's cabins are fully stocked and if you ever need anything Matt is right here to help get it for you. Matt is very customer focused. We are now going back every year and would not even entertain looking at other cabins. Thanks for all of the hospitality!!

 Wonderful!

Review by Courtney on 8/3/14 6:39 PM

We stayed at Fair Winds cabin #7 and loved every minute of it! This cabin is by the main road, but when we were in the back we couldn't even tell. (There are others that aren't close to the road.) The cabin felt like home to us and slept four adults and two kids and two dogs very comfortably and could have fit more. It is totally remodeled and beautiful inside. The hospitality was wonderful; the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. For all that was included in the cabin, fully stocked kitchen (plates, cups, utensils, baking/cooking dishes), firewood, chairs on both porches, etc., the price can't be beat! I and the others who stayed highly recommend it. We look forward to our next stay in October! Thanks for everything! :)

 WONDERFUL

Review by MARTY on 3/31/14 9:14 AM

I've stayed here 4 times with my family and we just loved it. So relaxing, beautiful setting. Can not wait to get back there.

 cabin review

Review by ma on 1/12/14 4:57 PM

Had a great time at fair winds last year it had been my first visit,and I just made my reservations for this year. Cabins are nice clean and close to much the area has to offer. My dog loved walking the trails out back of the cabin, and I enjoyed the relaxation!!! Very affordable .

 Second Time Visit

Review by Arby on 12/31/13 9:56 PM

Just made a reservation for our 40th anniversary. Spent a weekend in the fall this year 2013, had a great time, cabins are very nice, comfortable and clean. Anxiously waiting to make a second visit.

 Fabulous!

Review by Joy on 8/8/13 9:53 PM

Beautiful, affordable & relaxing! Perfect location, close to all cooks forest has to offer. Great customer service, helpful & accommodating. We will certainly be repeat guests. And, did I mention-affordable!

 All Good

Review by BTW on 5/12/13 4:14 PM

We visit The Fair Winds every fall for a girls getaway weekend. It has been great every year. Thanks to Matt's hospitality, the cabins are always clean and well stocked. Highly recommended.