Reviews for Touchstone Inn

Taos, New Mexico

 Charming and quaint!

Review by Zen on 7/28/16 8:46 AM

We stayed in the Frida Kahlo room. The room was clean and very cozy! The patio overlooked the beautiful grounds. I would definitely recommend Touchstone to everyone looking for a true touch of Taos! Thank you Bryn, for being so cordial! We love Taos and will definitely stay at your amazing Inn on our next visit! Peace always!

 The Tony

Review by Matt on 10/31/15 10:31 AM

I think that a lot of people get confused at what to expect in Taos. I heard a group of New Yorkers complaining about the wait at restaurants, and the quality of inns. I think the touchstone inn describes it self perfectly in its description. The rooms are a bit small, but they are homey, and unique; if you want a cookie cutter motel, go stay down in the downtown motel 6. The draw to this place that it is set back from the downtown area, other reviewers complained that it was hard to find, I like that! Here are the few complaints my pregnant lady and I had. 1) out bed was a little uncomfortable, and 2) there was no internet in our room. That's pretty much it. The staff is kind.

 A Home Away from Home

Review by Donna B. on 6/15/14 8:51 AM

Upon arriving at Touchstone Inn, I felt an immediate sense of welcome normally reserved for good friends. A note of welcome with our names was pinned to the front door and it wasn’t long before Bren Price, the owner, came out of her art studio to greet us. She walked us through the Inn and grounds, that reflected decades of her own artwork and collecting of Southwestern style furnishings, often displayed in a way that created intimate corners for visiting and dining. And as she left us at our suite, she casually mentioned that we could give her the paperwork required for check in the following morning. This set the tone for the whole visit, whether she and her friendly young kitchen staff were asking us about any food allergies, or we were enjoying her library with soft music playing in the background. The breakfasts were masterpieces that matched the art: fun and infused with creativity. We actually visited Taos, so we could stay at Touchstone. I saw it years ago and never forgot its quirky, unexpected character as a shady oasis, tucked down a magical little alleyway. Now I dream of returning again with a circle of friends to do an art workshop, or even for a special family event. With Bren’s attention to every detail, the uniqueness and warmth of the decorating, the delicious breakfasts and the convenient location, I can’t think of a better home away from home.

 very disappointed

Review by House Elf on 5/15/14 7:56 AM

BLUF--not good!!! look else-where. very disappointing. would not stay again. very small, very old and very tired room for a high price that DOES NOT include breakfast. slow drain in the bath--unless you like standing in dirty shower water. bath towels reek (dank, sour mildew smell). had to re-shower and use a hand fowl to dry off. non existent wireless--unless you want to sit in the parking lot. breakfast was pretty wanting for the price--a couple eggo waffles w/ a little fresh fruit. no meat and no variety. same menu every day. save your 12.50 a pop and go downtown for a 5 star bfast @ one of the fine places to eat. facility needs a renovation in a bad way. driveway needs to be bladed--watch the potholes--and is hard to find at night as the sigh is not lighted. nice staff.

 Disappointing

Review by Yankek on 1/13/14 11:06 PM

We stayed in the Dora which for $179 (which did not include breakfast which was extra) a night was a huge disappointment. There was no sitting area but two chairs in front of the bed a few feet from a television cabinet. The sliding glass door seemed out of place as an entrance. The furnishing were dated and the the bed linens and towels were close to being worn out. The breakfast was fine and the sitting area area off the breakfast room was charming enough. We will look elsewhere if we return.

 What a disappointment!

Review by EAH on 9/9/13 11:29 PM

Tiny room that is terribly overpriced. Shoddy furnishings and run-down premises. We left after one night.

 Super Duper

Review by Tina on 9/9/13 8:17 AM

My boyfriend and I had a really relaxing and lovely stay at the Touchstone Inn. It was quiet, secluded and really beautiful both inside and out. We stayed in The Frieda and spent a good deal of time in the jacuzzi tub. The view from our deck was gorgeous. We will definitely be back.

 Very, very lovely stay

Review by basil on 9/9/13 7:24 AM

We had the run of the Inn and did not see anyone else during our four day stay. It was wonderful to use the living room and read up on Mabel Dodge. The SW theme was new to us and the adobe building kept us comfortably cool without air conditioning. We recommend this Inn highly for a relaxing stay in Taos!

 Hands down best value for your money

Review by Gaby on 7/19/13 12:33 PM

Beautiful, tucked away location, gorgeous and very comfortable rooms made for a wonderful stay for a couple nights. Brad, the innkeeper and chef, was wonderful, and obviously an excellent chef. We couldn't pick what our favorite part of our stay was: the breakfast, our lovely room, or the inn itself. Your stay will be worth every penny.

 Excellent stay

Review by Rachel and Gary on 6/2/13 12:37 PM

We stayed here for our wedding. It was excellent and perfect. Brad and Amber handled everything for us and made our stay warm and wonderful. We highly recommend others to stay here as well. It's nice and quiet and warming. The breakfasts were awesome as well. They are such wonderful people. We will return for our one year anniversary!!

 Nice place

Review by broccolichip on 3/13/13 3:55 PM

Very cozy and nice little B&B. Conveniently located right in town but feels out of the way. Very laid back with area to relax and read. All day coffee and tea service. Good, interesting food and beautiful dining area. Nice owners.

 A wonderful place

Review by Monica on 2/24/13 9:19 AM

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Touchstone and would definitiely return if we were in the area again. You can feel and see the history in the place. It is beautiful and charming, and our host Brad was most genial and accomodating. We stayed in the Lawrence, which has it own entry to the outside and a kiva fireplace (wood supplied). Along with the Native American wall hangings, this added to the atmosphere and sense of history. The room was well appointed, comfortable, and very clean. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

 wonderful experience

Review by John on 12/28/12 2:11 PM

The food is great, the decorations are enjoyable, and the accommodations wonderful. We enjoyed the view from the breakfast area and found the common area very pleasant. On top of all of that, Brad and Amber were very flexible about arrival, departure and breakfast times.

 Nice!

Review by John on 11/28/12 9:55 AM

Stayed for four days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Loved Bren's artwork and Amber & Brad's breakfasts. Close in to town and an easy walk to one of the better restaurants. Peaceful and charming. Would stay again. Thanks!

 This place is unique

Review by Valerie, Eric,+ Jade, Isis, Ambre on 11/18/12 11:22 PM

The house has a soul and you can feel in ,an history so rich and interesting. The decoration is unique . Brad and Amber are so good cookers, they made breakfasts you never ate in your life and they give you so good advice to have wonderful diners, all around the place. We were so happy in that place!

 Fantastic

Review by H & T on 10/17/12 7:47 AM

My husband and I stayed two nights and were blown away by the hospitality and comfort at the Touchstone. Bead and Amber were amazing hosts and the food was delicous. Brad and Amber also hosted a private three-course dinner with shrimp tacos, a greens salad and house made grapefruit vinegarette and strawberries, AND bison ribeyes cooked to perfection with grilled broccoli with balsamic vinegar and a twice baked potato with all the trimmings! Finally, they created a special chocolate fudge cake for two with a triple berry cream. Did I mention how great the experience was to work with Brad on the menu? It was really great and he made it easy. Also, Ambers cinnamon rolls were out of this world! We are excited to go back and spend more time with them, they made us feel like family. Thanks again Brad and Amber we will see you again soon!

 Best B&B in Taos

Review by Bill and Pam on 10/8/12 6:48 PM

To say the Touchstone Inn is the best B&B in Taos is comparable to saying that a Van Gogh is a nice painting. From the initial follow-up to making a reservation, to meeting you on arrival, the pleasant ambiance of the rooms and the overall Inn, to the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Brad and Amber I have not found anything comparable in my years of travel. My wife and I found the Inn a year ago and return visits have been just as wonderful. We just spent 3 wonderful nights in Taos and can only say that each visit gets better at the Inn. We count Brad and Amber as very good friends and consider them as an extension of our family. If you are going to Taos, this is THE place to stay.

 Lovely and Nourishing

Review by Eyahnna and Kent on 7/9/12 8:53 AM

From the beginning there was a very welcome feeling. There is great attention to detail and everything is taken care of impeccably. We were generously taken care of in all ways. The breakfasts were delicious and eating outside under the trees was so delightful. Touchstone is close to downtown and tucked away in a very special part of nature. We certainly would stay there again and I highly recommend this wonderful get-a-way to everyone.

 Fabulous Retreat in Taos!

Review by Kristen S. on 7/9/12 8:46 AM

My husband, teenage son, and I spent three wonderful nights at the Touchstone Inn recently while we were in New Mexico on some college visits. Brad and Amber were amazing hosts, having thought of everything we might need for a comfortable and relaxing visit. The food was top notch--(Breakfast is included; Rumor has it, Brad and Amber, who are professional chefs, will create a customized private gourmet dinner for guests upon request for an additional fee.) The rooms were all unique and comfortable, a few with adjoining capability, which worked great for us. Be sure to check out the tree house and Labyrinth out back! Brad and Amber made us feel at home and we would definitely go back if ever in the area. Also be sure to enjoy a meal at the Love Apple next door and the Pizza Outback down the street. All in all it was a lovely experience, and we wouldn't change a thing!!

 Divine

Review by Brian and Sheri on 6/25/12 10:09 PM

Thank you Brad and Amber for such an amazing time. We had a fantastic time and absolutley loved the food. Amber thank you for sharing your recipe and your knowledge of Taos. We will definetly be seeing you guys again. Brian and Sheri

 Perfect

Review by Erik on 5/23/12 1:29 PM

I was looking for someplace secluded and special for a birthday getaway with my fiancé. Touchstone was perfect. The property and rooms are beautifully maintained with exquisite taste fusing nature and structure. Breakfast was a special treat everyday prepared by a culinary expert. I still have dreams about his caramalized apple pancakes with fresh cream and maple syrup. Anyway, I could continue to rave about this place but I can't do it justice with words. Go check it out for yourself. You will be pleasantly surprised by the value and the depth of the owners kindness. Definitely worth a return visit! Erik & Jenn

 Great Place!

Review by High Country Travel Services on 4/29/12 9:37 AM

I recently stayed at the Touchstone Inn as a guest, not as a travel agent and I am so glad I did! The room was equisitely decorated, the service was great and I can not rave about the breakfast enough! The food was delicious! I know that I will be staying there again, and I will recommend it to all of my customers.