Reviews for Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground

Millinocket, Maine

 Best place in the world

Review by Bob on 6/6/24, 11:25 AM

I have been going to the Big Eddy for over 20 years for a week every summer. It is very laid back quiet and above all remote. Beautiful river, forest and mountains. Campsites are far apart you almost cannot see the next sit from yours.At night it gets very dark.The fly fishing is the best in New England, land locked salmon and native brook trout all wild fish. When you go don’t forget anything as the nearest store is about15 miles away nearest town Millanocket is 35 miles away over dirt roads. The trip is well worth the effort. This is a unique place providing a unique wilderness experience.

 Eddy Cabin

Review by Bob Heiserman on 9/25/23, 8:06 AM

Sara and Julie are the best! Our stay this year was a little hampered by rain and high water, but the experience was still fantastic.

 trip leader

Review by Tony on 9/17/23, 6:01 PM

Always a warm welcome from Julia and Sara. They went out of their way to accommodate our large group of 12 for one night and helped with a reservation on our way out of our canoe trip. Definitely recommend it.

 Great Place!

Review by Jerry on 9/6/23, 11:23 AM

Very friendly Clean facilities Large campsite will definitely return again.

 Clean & Quiet

Review by MAFlyFisher on 8/21/23, 11:34 AM

Staff was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Outhouses were clean and close enough to the sites to be accessible, but not close enough to smell/hear them. Even though all the surrounding sites were occupied during our stay, we didn't hear any of the other groups. River access put us right on some great fishing within feet of our non-riverfront site. Drive time to the Togue Pond gatehouse at Baxter was less than the drive time between the gatehouse and Roaring Brook lot. Overall a fantastic camping experience, will be returning.

 Beautiful but expensive

Review by Tenter  on 8/20/23, 4:46 PM

Beautiful place to camp but the prices are high at $20 per person/night to tent on river. Sites are wild and not raked/maintained. Can find fcfs state-run sites with similar accommodations and much better price close by.

 Amazing Stay

Review by Erica on 7/30/23, 6:04 AM

We love Big Eddy so much. Can’t wait to get back. Sarah and her crew are amazing!

 Crib cabin

Review by Bev on 7/1/23, 1:07 PM

Wow!! What an amazing adventure we had this week. Six nights in this private crib cabin that has everything you need. Hot showers, ice,wood, not far away. Camp hosts Sarah and Julie that are as sweet as they come, are full of knowledge of the area, willing to help. Overlooking the beautiful river with spectacular views, and sounds of the rapids. Such a beautiful peaceful place. Campfire every chance we could. We enjoyed watching the white water rafters go by. Wish we were younger and more daring . Went daily to look for moose and saw a bear. Last morning ride finally saw a moose.We are looking forward to coming back and making more memories. P.S.Congratulations to Sarah and her soon to be husband. Wishing you a wonderful life together. Frank Bev Newport Maine

 Crib cabin

Review by Bev on 7/1/23, 1:07 PM

Wow!! What an amazing adventure we had this week. Six nights in this private crib cabin that has everything you need. Hot showers, ice,wood, not far away. Camp hosts Sarah and Julie that are as sweet as they come, are full of knowledge of the area, willing to help. Overlooking the beautiful river with spectacular views, and sounds of the rapids. Such a beautiful peaceful place. Campfire every chance we could. We enjoyed watching the white water rafters go by. Wish we were younger and more daring . Went daily to look for moose and saw a bear. Last morning ride finally saw a moose.We are looking forward to coming back and making more memories. P.S.Congratulations to Sarah and her soon to be husband. Wishing you a wonderful life together. Frank Bev Newport Maine

 Just what we were looking for!

Review by KB on 5/10/23, 10:10 AM

I was searching for a campground in this region of Maine but wasn’t finding anything open yet until I discovered Big Eddy so I booked it with zero expectations. Being that it was opening day we were pleased to see that we had no neighbors beside our site to really immerse in the North Woods solitude but even if there had been other campers we wouldn’t have noticed as the river’s rapids muffle out sound and the sites are well positioned for privacy. We spent 2 nights at site 118 on the wild side and I definitely recommend it for car access and privacy from the road and the office/day use area as well as protection from the wind. My favorite moment at 118 was watching the full “Flower” moon rise over the river, but seeing a beaver between sites 108-112 was also a highlight! Sarah was very amicable and generous with her recommendations; we really enjoyed the Rip Dam and Ice Caves thanks to her! The river was really high so despite our best efforts we didn’t catch anything but it was so fun enjoying the 70 degree weather. I will definitely be back with my waders and canoe next time. Definitely wicked happy campers during our stay at Big Eddy!!

 Just what we were looking for!

Review by KB on 5/10/23, 10:09 AM

I was searching for a campground in this region of Maine but wasn’t finding anything open yet until I discovered Big Eddy so I booked it with zero expectations. Being that it was opening day we were pleased to see that we had no neighbors beside our site to really immerse in the North Woods solitude but even if there had been other campers we wouldn’t have noticed as the river’s rapids muffle out sound and the sites are well positioned for privacy. We spent 2 nights at site 118 on the wild side and I definitely recommend it for car access and privacy from the road and the office/day use area as well as protection from the wind. My favorite moment at 118 was watching the full “Flower” moon rise over the river, but seeing a beaver between sites 108-112 was also a highlight! Sarah was very amicable and generous with her recommendations; we really enjoyed the Rip Dam and Ice Caves thanks to her! The river was really high so despite our best efforts we didn’t catch anything but it was so fun enjoying the 70 degree weather. I will definitely be back with my waders and canoe next time. Definitely wicked happy campers during our stay at Big Eddy!!

 Great Site

Review by Mason on 10/13/22, 6:31 AM

Site was clean & well maintained as always. Bathrooms were clean. Everyone in the campground was quiet. Sarah was very pleasant and willing to help with anything we needed. Overall very good experience.

 Perfect getaway

Review by Jeff on 10/4/22, 7:32 AM

I highly recommend making the trek out to Big Edy for an off grid relaxing getaway! The staff is very friendly and helpful and they do a great job keeping things clean and well maintained. The river is awesome, good fly fishing, there’s hiking, biking and just plain relaxing . Definitely looking forward to next years visit!

 Thank u Julie n Sarah

Review by Mike B. on 9/29/22, 6:01 AM

Awesome place, really friendly and helpful staff (thank u Julie :). Will be back.

 Thank u Julie n Sarah

Review by Mike B. on 9/29/22, 6:01 AM

Awesome place, really friendly and helpful staff (thank u Julie :). Will be back.

 Love the Big Eddy— and Sarah!

Review by Dee on 8/24/22, 5:15 AM

We visit the campground every year to fly fish. Sarah is always helpful, knowledgeable, and tries hard to accommodate the varied visitors. Hope she gets the recognition. Thanks!

 Penobscot

Review by Chuck on 8/21/22, 8:19 AM

Great campground in one of the most beautiful areas in Maine.The staff is awesome great people.

 POC 1

Review by Ground Pounders on 8/15/22, 5:48 PM

Sarah (site manager) was very kind and informative. The campground itself is clean and along the river. POC1 was cozy, had a covered porch area (worked nice for us in the rain), and was clean. We didn't have a tent, but the tent sites looked level and were nicely situated. The showers were nice and had hot water when I used them, and the toilets were typical camp toilets, but they too were clean. Obviously, this place is out there so you're going to "rough" it a bit compared to most other places, but for what it is and where it is at, we really couldn't have asked for much more. There is a campground with a store down the road (near the Baxter Park entrance road) that has some amenities and a little restaurant so if you happen to forget something, they actually had a pretty nice selection. If you're looking to escape, this is a good place to stay.

 POC 1

Review by Ground Pounders on 8/15/22, 5:48 PM

Sarah (site manager) was very kind and informative. The campground itself is clean and along the river. POC1 was cozy, had a covered porch area (worked nice for us in the rain), and was clean. We didn't have a tent, but the tent sites looked level and were nicely situated. The showers were nice and had hot water when I used them, and the toilets were typical camp toilets, but they too were clean. Obviously, this place is out there so you're going to "rough" it a bit compared to most other places, but for what it is and where it is at, we really couldn't have asked for much more. There is a campground with a store down the road (near the Baxter Park entrance road) that has some amenities and a little restaurant so if you happen to forget something, they actually had a pretty nice selection. If you're looking to escape, this is a good place to stay.

 Great getaway!

Review by Mary on 7/30/22, 7:53 AM

We spent a few days, casting some flies, camping with family and friends and off the grid relaxing. The campground is very nice and the sites are spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shower house is clean. Exploring the area was fun too, so much to see! We will return!

 Great getaway!

Review by Mary on 7/30/22, 7:53 AM

We spent a few days, casting some flies, camping with family and friends and off the grid relaxing. The campground is very nice and the sites are spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shower house is clean. Exploring the area was fun too, so much to see! We will return!

 I rode with him; I've got no complaints - Josey Wales

Review by Kyle on 7/22/22, 6:43 AM

Group campsites were beautiful, shaded, clean, and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. And it was great that there was no cell service because people could actually talk to one another. Don't ever change that!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:07 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish with their uncle Miles. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:02 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish with their uncle Miles. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:00 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Great place

Review by Eric  on 10/4/21, 6:57 PM

The entire campground is always very neat, clean and obviously well looked after. Very few of the campgrounds I frequent are as welcoming as this one.

 A small piece of heaven off the grid!

Review by Kelly on 8/24/21, 12:28 PM

I have been visiting Big Eddy Campground for the past 7 years and have never been disappointed. Sarah and her staff are super friendly and accommodating. Waterside tent sites are where my friends and our dogs stay each year for peaceful camping as well as some first class fly fishing! The allure of this place is no cell service, being disconnected out in nature, and being truly relaxed! Big Eddy is a true off the grid getaway that is totally worth the drive every year for us!

 August Getaway

Review by Jimbo on 8/20/21, 5:38 PM

This was was my 3rd stay at Big Eddy over the last 16 years and I had a wonderful time. The sound of the West Branch lulled me to sleep every night and I'm still thinking about the salmon that busted me off on 2x in the Big Eddy.

 Magical Place

Review by Sue on 8/14/21, 5:31 AM

We spent two nights at Big Eddy with family and friends in the group site. Sara and Julie were great hosts. The site was clean and spacious and gave us privacy for a larger group. It was so nice to be able to take a shower after a day of hiking.

 Great campground

Review by Randy on 6/29/21, 3:55 PM

Well managed and maintained campground. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Solstice Weekend

Review by Steve on 6/25/21, 6:23 AM

As always my trip to the Big Eddy Campground was fantastic. You will be hard pressed to find a better run campground any place. It has all the amenities you could want from a remote campground. The staff is always so helpful with a smile on their face. It is clearly run by a staff who loves to be there and enjoys what they do and it shows. The campsites are immaculate and raked/cleaned when you arrive, They have firewood, fresh drinking water and the privy's are clean, and always well stocked with TP and hand sanitizer. All you could want in a privy... as those things go. I go for the fly fishing in June mostly but have been in September as well. I have had some slow days, and some days that will live on my PR list where the fishing has been so hot it doesn't seem real. 15-20 salmon on dry flies... Add to the fact that you are in a remote beautiful wilderness and Big Eddy is as good a campground as one could ask for. I can't wait to go back.

 Big Eddy

Review by Josh on 6/16/21, 7:46 AM

I've been camping my whole life and can say without hesitation this is by far my favorite summer campground. The staff is very friendly, each wild side site differs enough to make you want to try them all out, and the others guests tend to be very respectful, quiet, and friendly. I go to Big Eddy 4-5 times a summer to flyfish and the camp provides access to numerous great spots both right out the front door (or tent flap) or within a 5 minute drive. I highly recommend Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground to any and all!

 Tough road but worth the ride!

Review by Mike on 5/31/21, 8:28 AM

The campground was awesome and we really enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for luxury camping this is not the place but it you want to be away from it all this is definitely the spot. The staff were friendly and happy to answer any questions. The privies and showers were spotless. Not being from the area the directions to get there were rather vague and we were unaware of what a logging road could be like and almost tuned back a couple of times. Definitely glad we didn't!

 Great Off the grid getaway

Review by Marcy on 7/30/20, 1:19 PM

We stayed in POC 1 Cozy Cabin and it was super cute, bare bones cozy and very private. Most of the cabins and camping tent and pop area were private with a nice chunk of woods in between. Price was good per person. Fishing and boating good too. Not crowded at all even with it being more than half full. Very clean and friendly people and staff. This is for a seasoned camper or outdoorsy person as they are off the grid. So no electricity in the privys(very clean and basic). The shower house had specific hours and sometimes the light worked. But just bring your lantern or shower before 8pm and there is plenty of window light. This is such a peaceful place in the middle of the woods. We will go back.

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTINPUT000003%3c%3e!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001%3c%3e!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000%3c%3e!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='2

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='7

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!