Reviews for Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground

Millinocket, Maine

 Thank u Julie n Sarah

Review by Mike B. on 9/29/22, 6:01 AM

Awesome place, really friendly and helpful staff (thank u Julie :). Will be back.

 Thank u Julie n Sarah

Review by Mike B. on 9/29/22, 6:01 AM

Awesome place, really friendly and helpful staff (thank u Julie :). Will be back.

 Love the Big Eddy— and Sarah!

Review by Dee on 8/24/22, 5:15 AM

We visit the campground every year to fly fish. Sarah is always helpful, knowledgeable, and tries hard to accommodate the varied visitors. Hope she gets the recognition. Thanks!

 Penobscot

Review by Chuck on 8/21/22, 8:19 AM

Great campground in one of the most beautiful areas in Maine.The staff is awesome great people.

 POC 1

Review by Ground Pounders on 8/15/22, 5:48 PM

Sarah (site manager) was very kind and informative. The campground itself is clean and along the river. POC1 was cozy, had a covered porch area (worked nice for us in the rain), and was clean. We didn't have a tent, but the tent sites looked level and were nicely situated. The showers were nice and had hot water when I used them, and the toilets were typical camp toilets, but they too were clean. Obviously, this place is out there so you're going to "rough" it a bit compared to most other places, but for what it is and where it is at, we really couldn't have asked for much more. There is a campground with a store down the road (near the Baxter Park entrance road) that has some amenities and a little restaurant so if you happen to forget something, they actually had a pretty nice selection. If you're looking to escape, this is a good place to stay.

 POC 1

Review by Ground Pounders on 8/15/22, 5:48 PM

Sarah (site manager) was very kind and informative. The campground itself is clean and along the river. POC1 was cozy, had a covered porch area (worked nice for us in the rain), and was clean. We didn't have a tent, but the tent sites looked level and were nicely situated. The showers were nice and had hot water when I used them, and the toilets were typical camp toilets, but they too were clean. Obviously, this place is out there so you're going to "rough" it a bit compared to most other places, but for what it is and where it is at, we really couldn't have asked for much more. There is a campground with a store down the road (near the Baxter Park entrance road) that has some amenities and a little restaurant so if you happen to forget something, they actually had a pretty nice selection. If you're looking to escape, this is a good place to stay.

 Great getaway!

Review by Mary on 7/30/22, 7:53 AM

We spent a few days, casting some flies, camping with family and friends and off the grid relaxing. The campground is very nice and the sites are spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shower house is clean. Exploring the area was fun too, so much to see! We will return!

 Great getaway!

Review by Mary on 7/30/22, 7:53 AM

We spent a few days, casting some flies, camping with family and friends and off the grid relaxing. The campground is very nice and the sites are spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shower house is clean. Exploring the area was fun too, so much to see! We will return!

 I rode with him; I've got no complaints - Josey Wales

Review by Kyle on 7/22/22, 6:43 AM

Group campsites were beautiful, shaded, clean, and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. And it was great that there was no cell service because people could actually talk to one another. Don't ever change that!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:07 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish with their uncle Miles. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:02 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish with their uncle Miles. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:00 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Great place

Review by Eric  on 10/4/21, 6:57 PM

The entire campground is always very neat, clean and obviously well looked after. Very few of the campgrounds I frequent are as welcoming as this one.

 A small piece of heaven off the grid!

Review by Kelly on 8/24/21, 12:28 PM

I have been visiting Big Eddy Campground for the past 7 years and have never been disappointed. Sarah and her staff are super friendly and accommodating. Waterside tent sites are where my friends and our dogs stay each year for peaceful camping as well as some first class fly fishing! The allure of this place is no cell service, being disconnected out in nature, and being truly relaxed! Big Eddy is a true off the grid getaway that is totally worth the drive every year for us!

 August Getaway

Review by Jimbo on 8/20/21, 5:38 PM

This was was my 3rd stay at Big Eddy over the last 16 years and I had a wonderful time. The sound of the West Branch lulled me to sleep every night and I'm still thinking about the salmon that busted me off on 2x in the Big Eddy.

 Magical Place

Review by Sue on 8/14/21, 5:31 AM

We spent two nights at Big Eddy with family and friends in the group site. Sara and Julie were great hosts. The site was clean and spacious and gave us privacy for a larger group. It was so nice to be able to take a shower after a day of hiking.

 Great campground

Review by Randy on 6/29/21, 3:55 PM

Well managed and maintained campground. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Solstice Weekend

Review by Steve on 6/25/21, 6:23 AM

As always my trip to the Big Eddy Campground was fantastic. You will be hard pressed to find a better run campground any place. It has all the amenities you could want from a remote campground. The staff is always so helpful with a smile on their face. It is clearly run by a staff who loves to be there and enjoys what they do and it shows. The campsites are immaculate and raked/cleaned when you arrive, They have firewood, fresh drinking water and the privy's are clean, and always well stocked with TP and hand sanitizer. All you could want in a privy... as those things go. I go for the fly fishing in June mostly but have been in September as well. I have had some slow days, and some days that will live on my PR list where the fishing has been so hot it doesn't seem real. 15-20 salmon on dry flies... Add to the fact that you are in a remote beautiful wilderness and Big Eddy is as good a campground as one could ask for. I can't wait to go back.

 Big Eddy

Review by Josh on 6/16/21, 7:46 AM

I've been camping my whole life and can say without hesitation this is by far my favorite summer campground. The staff is very friendly, each wild side site differs enough to make you want to try them all out, and the others guests tend to be very respectful, quiet, and friendly. I go to Big Eddy 4-5 times a summer to flyfish and the camp provides access to numerous great spots both right out the front door (or tent flap) or within a 5 minute drive. I highly recommend Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground to any and all!

 Tough road but worth the ride!

Review by Mike on 5/31/21, 8:28 AM

The campground was awesome and we really enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for luxury camping this is not the place but it you want to be away from it all this is definitely the spot. The staff were friendly and happy to answer any questions. The privies and showers were spotless. Not being from the area the directions to get there were rather vague and we were unaware of what a logging road could be like and almost tuned back a couple of times. Definitely glad we didn't!

 Great Off the grid getaway

Review by Marcy on 7/30/20, 1:19 PM

We stayed in POC 1 Cozy Cabin and it was super cute, bare bones cozy and very private. Most of the cabins and camping tent and pop area were private with a nice chunk of woods in between. Price was good per person. Fishing and boating good too. Not crowded at all even with it being more than half full. Very clean and friendly people and staff. This is for a seasoned camper or outdoorsy person as they are off the grid. So no electricity in the privys(very clean and basic). The shower house had specific hours and sometimes the light worked. But just bring your lantern or shower before 8pm and there is plenty of window light. This is such a peaceful place in the middle of the woods. We will go back.

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTINPUT000003%3c%3e!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001%3c%3e!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000%3c%3e!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='2

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='7

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!