Reviews for Southwind Bed and Breakfast Cabins

Wimberley, Texas

 Wonderful Stay

Review by Pauline on 5/20/18 7:29 PM

This was our second time staying at Southwind. We stayed back in February 2018 for my husband's birthday. We loved it! This time, we stayed in the Mirah Cabin to celebrate our 1 year anniversary (5/18 through 5/20/18 Weekend) and we loved it. We also brought with us our small Chihuahua Dobby and he loved it too! We will be back in the fall and will stay in the Earthwind Cabin. Its just so peaceful and relaxing! Thank you for having such a wonderful place to come to. And oh yes, the breakfast that is brought to the cabins are always so delicious! 😊😁😎

 Rustic with the comfort of home

Review by J. Chapa on 10/23/14 9:39 PM

Took a road trip to the Texas Hill Country on my Harley to ride the Devil's Backbone via Wimberley, TX, Dripping Springs, Johnson City, Blanco, and Canyon Lake. I was looking for comfort and pricing, I found both at Southwind Bed & Breakfast Inn. As I made my way up the limestone road I passed up 4 rustic cabins secluded in separate locations among the woods as I traveled the road up to the inn. The inn is situated at the highest point on the hill. The views of the landscapes of deep valleys across the hill country were spectacular from the rustic porch outside my room, the Zephyr. I enjoyed my daily conversations with the proprietor, Kent Yeates. The breakfast was excellent and the other patrons would sit around the table like a family would at home and we learned a little about each other and where we came from and what brought us to the hill country. A very unique experience filled with tranquility and friendship. Kent gave me some suggestions on routes I should travel due to their scenic value, glad I took his advice, FM 150 to Dripping Springs was epic as was the route down Purgatory Road and River Road. River Road on a motorcycle is awesome! I'm definitely coming back to Southwind, where you're not just a $$$ sign, but a friend.

 Fantastic

Review by Kay  on 3/26/13 2:13 PM

My daughter and I stayed here spring break.We had a beautiful room and warm and friendly hosts.The breakfast were amazing.We miss you Kent and Cissy.Thanks for the great memmories. Kay and Bri,Whitney,Tx.

 Anxious to return

Review by Dory on 12/30/12 8:31 AM

As I posted previously, in 2 weeks we are heading back up to Southwind B&B for our annual anniversary stay, and we are so anxious! This is our 5th wedding anniversary since we got married in the Earthwind Cabin by one of the local Justice of the Peace, and we return every year to celebrate our love for each other and for the memories created at Southwind with Kent and Cissy. I also read in a previous post about another family renting several of the cabins for other family members...kind of like a family reunion, and you've given me such a great idea that hopefully I can one day put into play! Thank you! See you in a couple of weeks Kent & Cissy, and thanks again for the love and hospitality that we always receive. =)

 AMAZING place to stay

Review by Jenni on 12/5/12 2:23 PM

You never know what you rented when you randomly pick something off the internet. Driving up the single dirt road I was a little hesistant. We met Kent at the Inn to check in and went to the cabin. Learning the the cabin was secluded, and I didnt have cell service i was getting more nervous. Opening the door to the cabin was like a dream come true, it was truly amazing inside --- just beautiful! The breakfast that was delivered each morning was great! ALOT of food. The view from the Inn is breathtaking but didn't get a change to watch a sunset from there. My husband and I stayed at the cabin most of the time drinking the wine we purchased from the surrounding wineries. I really would have liked to see wildlife but they weren't out that night. We will definately try and come back to this cabin!!!!!!!!!! Cissy and Kent are really great people and make you feel so welcome.

 Peaceful & Beautiful

Review by Elva on 4/12/12 3:34 PM

correction....Market Day Flea Market happens first Sat of every month...in lieu of first Sun! Would like to add to my reveiw that l absolutely loved the porches with rocking chairs, the nice breeze on 2nd floor!!!

 Peaceful and Beautiful...can't wait to go back..

Review by Elva on 4/12/12 3:28 PM

We just visited Southwind Bed Breakfast this past weekend, it is indeed a piece of Heaven on Earth, celebrated our 1st anniversary, stayed in the Cat's Paw Rm....clean, peaceful and we woke up each day to a home cooked delicious breakfast cooked by Kent, you can't ask for a better breakfast....he makes these combinations of egg, cheese & herbs...baked eggs...fruit & a sweet bread....delicious! Kent even provided my husband with Gluten Free bread! Our experience was of the utmost relaxing, we were disconnected from our daily routine which we needed very much...enjoyed shopping in Winmberley, lots of antiques! just plain loved it! we also enjoyed the Market Day Flea Market (not sure of name), it so happened that we were there at the right time, it happens every first Sun of every month, tons and tons of stuff...loved it! In a nutshell....we loved the hospitality of Kent, his son and his dauther-in-law...peaceful, very clean, good shopping, telling our family and friends about our wonderful experience!

 A warm hug...

Review by Dory on 12/19/11 8:45 AM

My husband and I are soooo looking forward to our annual stay at Southwind for our anniversary in January! We were married in the Earthwind Cabin, witnessed by Kent and Cissy, so this cabin and location will remain etched in our hearts forever. The warm welcome we receive every time we visit and the delicious home-cooked breakfasts are what I always tell my family and friends about! My mom and I are planning a trip to the Shadewind Cabin sometime early this next year, and she is so excited about it as am I. Southwind, Kent and Cissy feel like a warm hug...Love It! =)

 Get-a-way Weekend

Review by Spiritwind on 9/26/11 2:06 PM

Stayed in the Spiritwind this past weekend, we were the only guests in the house so we had the upstairs porch all to ourself. The room was clean and very welcoming! We actually had booked one of the other rooms but Kent upgraded us to the larger room with the king size bed. It was close to town but far enough out that you didn't hear the traffic. It was very breezy and cool sitting on the porch! Kent and Sissy were very friendly and cooked us a delicious breakfast. It is a very nice and affordable place. Sharon & Gary

 A little piece of Heaven on Earth

Review by Heather on 9/12/11 7:43 PM

We just returned today from a lovely two night stay in the Shadewind Cabin. Our cabin was adorable, clean and cozy and comfortably slept a family of four. We enjoyed the peace and quiet that surrounds the cabin and had a relaxing stay. We were sad to leave and hope to return soon. The breakfast that was delivered each morning consisted of an egg dish, a meat, a breakfast sweet bread and fresh fruit and orange juice. It was a nice touch to wake up each morning to a friendly face waiting at the door with our delicious breakfast in a basket. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Kent and his son and daughter in law. They are kind and hospitable and we hope to see them again soon. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway then this is the place for you!

 Cant wait to go back!

Review by Cindy on 7/28/11 9:45 AM

We stayed in one of the cabins last weekend...the outside looked very rustic..the inside warm and inviting..very clean...pet friendly...the breakfasts were amazing and the service impeccable...did not want to leave and will be going back soon!!!

 Worth it - seriously.

Review by Flora on 11/24/10 11:10 AM

Don't let that "run down" comment scare ya off. Rustic is a much more appropriate word to describe Southwind. Natural cedar exteriors encase the quaint interior, and the Inn itself is filled with beautiful antiques. (My favorite is Earthwind.) The cabin beds are huge and comfy, always, always clean, and the breakfasts have yet to disappoint and we've been going at least once a year for 12 years now. Several of my friends have tried out SW and they'd never go anywhere else for a little peace and quiet far from the maddening city. Spend some quiet time on the porch, and watch the beautiful red fox and other wildlife stroll by. (Don't worry, the fox has been mollifed by the cat food the owner's cats share with it daily.) Personally, my darlin' and I prefer to spend hours in front of the fireplace, enjoying the crackle and pop in the quiet that can only be found in the country. If we are feeling adventurous, Wimberley is just down the road with wonderful shops and and the new Italian place is outstanding! Now if I could just get Kent to cook us dinner as well as breakfast, we'd be set!

 watch out

Review by nothappy on 10/18/10 9:08 PM

supposed tostay in oct, but canceled after friend stopped by to check it out. Very ryn down and not a person in sight. Canceled over 60 hours before reservation date and am now being charged $35 for canceling.

 My favorite B&B, coming here for years

Review by Judith on 8/19/10 6:46 PM

We love this place. It's quiet. We love the cabin with the private back porch, full kitchen, king bed, and when our kids were little, the extra side bedroom with twin beds. And it's affordable! Super for family gatherings, we all each got our own cabin and had a blast. Wimberly shops close by and fun. Kent is such a nice man, always remembers my dog's name and gives her yummies and the breakfast (delivered in a basket with wonderful fruit and bread)is some kind of egg concoction that is amazing and delicious. We've probably stayed here over 20 years numerous times and always have the same consistent great service and feel very welcome.