Reviews for Rocky Ridge Ranch

Wamic, Oregon

 Additional insights

Review by Dave on 6/14/18 1:08 AM

Additional insights. One suggestion would me to make it easier to cancel/change reservation dates. Because we ride the weather sites to maximize our experience, we don't sign up till the night before. Often, we will adjust dates right up to the last minute. Being able to make changes on the reservation would help. On fish size, we recognize the planting approach you are using may be resulting in fewer large fish than in previous years. Perhaps a periodic dump of large triploids would enhance average catch size as these fish grow fast during the season. We love zingers and trips are usually hotter fish than regulars.

 Additional insights

Review by Dave on 6/14/18 1:07 AM

Additional insights. One suggestion would me to make it easier to cancel/change reservation dates. Because we ride the weather sites to maximize our experience, we don't sign up till the night before. Often, we will adjust dates right up to the last minute. Being able to make changes on the reservation would help. On fish size, we recognize the planting approach you are using may be resulting in fewer large fish than in previous years. Perhaps a periodic dump of large triploids would enhance size as these fish grow fast during the season. We love zingers and trips are usually hotter fish than regulars.

 Trout!

Review by Jack on 5/11/18 11:13 AM

Very comfortable atmosphere. Ospreys, eagles, plentiful fish and varied ponds. Addicted. Would be helpful to include some info on wether ponds were frozen up or not on the website. Would also be a huge plus if regulars could get a discount from time to time. Nonetheless...a great place to fish.

 May 3, 2018 Trip

Review by Dave on 5/10/18 3:14 PM

Been fishing RRR for many years now. Proper timing with weather conditions helps with the value. My buddy and I kill it most of the time. This time was one of the best. I had a 30 fish day on dry flies, a few 15" or less fish, most 18-20. Lost or missed another 15 or so. Buddy had a 45 fish day with 20+ misses/lost fish. Been there at times with lower fish counts and higher fish sizes, up to 25". Due care on release. Seems like average size has come down a bit the last few years, much fewer over 20" than in years past. We use a measuring net so our measures are accurate. Our favorite Stillwater within easy reach of Portland. Lots of "zinger" fish. A number of good jumpers. Love everything about it, location, cost, etc. Well managed for a great experience.

 May 3, 2018 Trip

Review by Dave on 5/10/18 3:14 PM

Been fishing RRR for many years now. Proper timing with weather conditions helps with the value. My buddy and I kill it most of the time. This time was one of the best. I had a 30 fish day on dry flies, a few 15" or less fish, most 18-20. Lost or missed another 15 or so. Buddy had a 45 fish day with 20+ misses/lost fish. Been there at times with lower fish counts and higher fish sizes, up to 25". Due care on release. Seems like average size has come down a bit the last few years, much fewer over 20" than in years past. We use a measuring net so our measures are accurate. Our favorite Stillwater within easy reach of Portland. Lots of "zinger" fish. A number of good jumpers. Love everything about it, location, cost, etc. Well managed for a great experience.

 april fishing 2018

Review by Go Trojans. on 5/1/18 12:05 PM

Our latest visit to Rocky Ridge was a real test. My buddy and I have fished the lakes probably 15-20 times. We are very experienced fishermen and really struggled to get into fish. Little surface activity, the lower lake showed few fish feeding. Fish size was way down. We had a group of 5 friends come in behind us and they spent 2 days and had similar luck. They fished all three lakes. Don't know what problem was. We will be back in May, hope to figure things out..

 Another Great day at Rocky Ridge

Review by David on 5/1/18 10:15 AM

I have fished this 3 times so far this year and have not been disappointed! I love coming up here for a relax full day of fishing and a great day of catching!

 Been fishing here for a number of years

Review by Dave on 5/2/16 11:13 PM

Love the Ranch, as my fishing buddy and I call it. Great dry fly fishing for 20" fish. Can't beat the value....