Reviews for Beachview Vacation Cottages

Gulfport, Mississippi

 weekend getaway

Review by sandy on 5/4/18 1:15 PM

Great location. The cottage was just the right size, very cozy. I will definetly go back.

 Love this place!

Review by Tanya D, on 2/5/18 8:16 PM

What a great spot! Loved being able to walk to the beach. Property is centrally located and really close to a lot of attractions. Highly recommend staying here!

 Was a happy customer...not now!

Review by Ashley Cobb on 1/2/18 11:44 AM

I called a month in advance to reserve the cabin. When I called I asked what the minimum night stay was as I only wanted to stay for two nights. He said that it was three nights and what nights was I looking at? I said it was Dec 29th and 30th and he said that as a matter of fact that was a holiday and the minimum night stay would go up. I immediately got online to your website and booked cabin 2 for the 2 nights I wanted. I was immediately charged for what looked like 2 nights in the cabin. Once we got there I was informed that the heat in my cabin was not working and was upgraded to a bigger cabin with better view and with heat. YAY! When we went to leave, i read the hand book. You were to wash all your own dishes, take out trash and strip the beds, close the windows and blinds and lock up. Then I get home and find out they charge you a one time "cleaning fee" of $55.00!? EXCUSE ME? I JUST TOOK OUT MY OWN TRASH, WASHED MY OWN DISHES AND STRIPPED THE BEDDING FOR YOU AND YOU WANT TO CHARGE ME $55 FOR CLEANING? I would have been a returning customer but not now!

 Get what you pay for

Review by Rodo on 7/14/17 4:44 PM

Strange reviewing the cottages after reading the other reviews. Feels like we stayed somewhere else. Okay, first, my stars need to be explained. It is not that I am giving it a 3/5 stars, rather, that it is but a 3 star accommodation. I'll try and stick to the facts and potential renters can know what they are in for. The cost is inexpensive, for sure, and that counts for a lot. We've stayed in two other condo locations, both would have been $500-$800 more for the week. It is one of the lowest priced rentals we could find. The Bad: other houses across the street from Beachview were sketchy (but we had no trouble at all), our particular house was on the north street so lots of loud trucks, the houses are located two blocks from the train so lots of loud trains (and on a couple of occasions the trains managed to shake the entire house), and the houses are located under the flightpath of the airport so the occasional loud jet buzzing overhead. Our toilet leaked so the tank would refill, very loudly, only about every fifteen minutes. Someone came to have a look, quickly, nice guy, but as it was a more complicated job than he could do quickly, just advised us to turn the tank off every night before bed. The Inexcusable: every pillow in the house was flat and worn and the houses should not be advertised with wifi. It worked poorly the entire week and never had enough bandwidth. (Note: in the welcome book it instructs visitors to "go to the back bedroom" if wifi signal is not strong. So they know it does not work properly.) Misc: the dead possum that laid in the street a block away for at least three days. Smell almost reached Beachview. The Good: It is cheap. Location is close enough to see the beach from the front porch. (Note that that particular part of the beach is not the most charming. I noticed two pieces of rusted rebar sticking up through the sand, remnants of Katrina.) The house is well stocked with necessaries for four. The house was clean and bug free. The a/c worked perfectly. House was cute, porch useful. Great having three bedrooms. TV was small but had good channels. Bathroom was minimal but good size and all functioned well. In conclusion: you get what you pay for. Looking for a cheap and cheerful and don't mind noise, this is your place. Wife says she would give it another try next year.

 GREAT place to stay!

Review by JessD on 3/16/17 1:41 PM

Had a girls weekend getaway with my two best friends, and we absolutely LOVED these cottages. They were the perfect size for us, super clean and comfortable, and close to everything in Gulfport. I am planning to bring my family back in a few months.

 Nice Enough To Rent Again

Review by jat53 on 11/30/16 10:25 AM

These group of cottages have a direct view to the ocean and sit far enough off the highway to be in a quiet spot. The living area is small but is adequate as one does not stay inside when at the beach. The place was clean except for the bathroom. The toilet bowl had a ring and the faucets were covered in drops of tooth paste. It was easy enough to clean the bowl and wipe off the faucets. I was still pleased with the cottage (no. 14) until I realized there was not a shower curtain hanging above the bathtub/shower. I did not appreciate having to run out and purchase a shower liner and hooks. It would have been nice to have more than one ice tray in the freezer.

 Couldn't be better

Review by Smiley  on 5/8/16 10:11 PM

Amazing stay and will be back!!! I work for a hotel which I get discounts all over but I would much rather stay here I had cottage five for a weekend surprise for my soon to be husband birthday and on my gosh this just spoiled me so clean, quite and the people around my gosh so nice. And when I say clean I mean it I'm a person that check beds etc before sleeping and everything was perfect! From booking all the way down to getting the code to lockbox and detail information about how to check out my new home away from home!! Stayed 05/6-05/8/2016

 Relaxing Down Time

Review by On The Road on 10/29/15 1:50 PM

We originally booked for three nights, extended twice for a full week. The cottages are cute, so clean, and a perfect location near the beach for some time off the road on our extended vacation. Barney is hospitable and accommodating, and we enjoyed visiting with our adjoining cottage residents. Great time of year to sit on the front porch! Secure parking, convenient laundry facilities, good restaurants.

 Fantastic

Review by Golfer on 9/25/15 12:37 PM

Clean. Clean. Clean. Wonderful place to stay with close access to everything. Barney is a fine gentleman.

 Great place in Gulfport

Review by World traveler on 8/19/15 9:45 AM

My wife and I stayed in unit #2 when we were in town for business. We wanted to stay near the beach and cook our own meals so this place was perfect. Good view of beach and easily accessible either walking or riding our bikes. Good deal for the money. Owner was prompt in responding to our only request: Internet wasn't working but after modem was reset it was fine. Only complaint was bed was a bit springy. Also would like to have some mixing bowls in kitchen. They also do not supply hair dryers or shampoo/conditioner-not a complaint, just an FYI for future renters. Definitely recommend this place.

 peaceful

Review by Shannon on 6/9/15 9:07 PM

Stayed the weekend to attend our son's graduation from NJROTC leadership training. Loved it. Peaceful. Maybe 4 cars came down the street all weekend. Step out the door turn right ,3 minute walk to the beach. Clean & well kept. We'll be back.

 Great Getaway

Review by LT on 5/14/15 4:57 PM

Just got back from a relaxing getaway to these cottages. Clean, comfortable, and just a short distance to the beach! We found everything we needed for a relaxing and laid-back stay at these cottages. My husband and I and our two small dogs stayed in a one-bedroom, and it was just right for us. We spent a lot of time sitting on the porch, gazing out at the Gulf and just unwinding, but also went the short distance to the beach many times as well. The place is really lovely, and you can't beat the price. We hated to leave, and can't wait to go back!

 Cottage 1

Review by MT on 4/4/15 12:38 PM

We had a great time there! We had 5 kids with us, with the love seat there were enough places to sleep. The mattress on the pull out couch was pretty old but the little ones didn't notice. The walk to the beach wasn't far and we loved the water! The price for the cottage and even gas and food prices around there were very reasonable, not jacked up for tourists. The only thing I would recommend to bring would be spatula & tongs for the charcoal grill, everything else you will need is there. We will be back!!!

 Great weekend getaway

Review by Janell on 4/4/15 9:34 AM

A couple weeks ago, my partner and I decided that we needed to get away for a few days. I found these cottages online and we were extremely impressed upon arrival to the beautiful little cottage. The relaxing atmosphere and short walk to the beach was exactly what we needed to get away from the world for a couple days! We enjoyed it so much that we are going back! We are bringing my mom for a mother's day getaway! The price is just right. The cottage was clean and stocked with everything we needed. We stayed in Cottage 10, which is a 1 bedroom, and it even had a washer and dryer! Mr. Barney, the property manager, even stopped by to check on us. He is such a nice man and responded very quickly to all my questions. I have been recommending this destination to all my friends. It was a perfect weekend that we will never forget!

 Very Nice

Review by Kevin on 4/2/15 8:21 PM

We greatly enjoyed our stay. The beach was an easy walk and the weather could not have been nicer.

 very nice cottages

Review by marty on 3/28/15 6:16 PM

We had a great time at the beachview cottages! the cottages are very comfortable and clean! The management is excellent! Barney the manager is very helpful and informative! Always there when needed! We will stay here again if in the area!!!!! Thanks Barney and beachview cottages!!!!!!!

 cute as a button

Review by shell hunter on 11/3/14 7:13 PM

I loved the little cottage. I was in number 15, Gorgeous view straight to the ocean. Landscaping topnotch. Like most others have said, the internet is not very good. the neighborhood was very quite and peaceful while we were there.The only problem we had was opening the lock box. Even tho we were trying, Barney didn't wait for us to call back and he was right there . The checkout time is 10:00 but for some reason the cleaning person came knocking on the door at 8:30 on our last day there to clean the cottage. We kinda felt like we were being rushed out. Other than that, everything was good. I could live in that cottage full time and be happy. DO not walk anywhere on the lots in front of the cottage, there are stickers in the grass every step you take. We had to pull stickers out of flip flops and crocs for a good 10 minutes, They hurt!

 Eddy Clan

Review by Eddy Clan on 11/2/14 9:57 PM

We all had a great time! The cottages were clean and very well stocked. Good value. Only negative was the internet being weak. But then again we were there to get away.The beach convenient and beautiful. Barney was great to work with and we plan on visiting again. We highly recommend the cottages.

 Cruisin the Coast

Review by Mustang Cruiser on 10/13/14 11:01 PM

We very much enjoyed our cottage stay with Beachview Vacation Cottages!! Very clean and well stocked with everything that we needed. This was a last minute reservation and we are so glad we stayed at this cottage. Very good location, easy in, easy out. We will be back!!!!

 Very Good Experience

Review by St; Louis MO visitors on 8/25/14 12:01 PM

My wife and twin daughters came to vacation at Beachview the beginning of August 2014 prior to my daughters leaving for college. We had a very good time and enjoyed cottage #2. Although we should have gotten a bigger cottage we managed and had a very good time. The short walk to the beach was easy and we had a great time enjoying the sun and water. The affordability was just right for us and the location perfect. We hope to come back again.

 Cottage # 14

Review by The Nails from Bedford on 6/23/14 7:53 AM

We had a wonderful week at this cottage. For 3 days there was 8 of us and it wasn't crowded at all. We had everything we needed and the place was nice and clean. I didn't want to leave but we got us 25 lbs of shrimp to take home and freeze. Yum Yum. We were close to everything we wanted to do our neighbors were great and sitting out on the porch at nite with the breeze was so relaxing.Thanks Barney for being a pet friendly place our 2 dogs really liked it also. Hope to be back soon. This was 100% better than staying in a motel and you can't beat the price. Just wish we could have stayed longer.Thanks again for a great place to stay. Drema

 Great Stay!

Review by Deborah on 5/2/14 8:27 AM

We had a wonderful stay at the Cottages! The unit was very clean and we had everything we needed. Location is convenient. Ample parking, quiet location. It was perfect. Simple and easy reservation process, we couldn't be happier. Many thanks!!

 Awesome Vacation Cottages

Review by Jimmy (Go Panthers, Who dat?) on 4/5/14 4:20 PM

Exceeded our expectations! Everything about our stay was five star. The cottages were set up beautifully, and the price was right. Plenty of room for the four adults in our party. Biloxi casinos are only 6 miles from the cottages, there is a Wal-mart, and Mall 2 miles from you, and New Orleans is only a 1 hour drive from the cottages. The beach is located about a football field away. I will definitely stay there again in the future, and have already recommended them to our friends and family here in Florida.

 Beachview Vacation Cottages

Review by Paul on 8/19/13 8:52 AM

I was there this past weekend and had a great time. I plan on going back in the future. These are reasonable, nice and really close to the beach.