Reviews for Racine County Campgrounds Reservation Office

Sturtevant, Wisconsin

 Good campground, clean bathrooms and spacious sites

Review by Mount Pleasant Campers on 5/13/18 8:05 AM

We only live about 30 mins away and Cliffside is our "go to" for many camping weekends because it is reliably clean and well kept - especially the bathrooms. This is an important aspect of any campground! We typically reserve a site since it gets pretty busy in the summertime - and we would be taking a chance of not getting one if we did not reserve ahead of time. We have never had a real problem with neighbors or loud or unruly kids (although we avoid holiday weekends). We are only a few miles from Oak Creek and various stores if we fine we need something and overall feel that Cliffside is one of our favorite places! Hopefully it will continue to be for a long time!

 Good campground, clean bathrooms and spacious sites

Review by Mount Pleasant Campers on 5/13/18 8:04 AM

We only live about 30 mins away and Cliffside is our "go to" for many camping weekends because it is reliably clean and well kept - especially the bathrooms. This is an important aspect of any campground! We typically reserve a site since it gets pretty busy in the summertime - and we would be taking a chance of not getting one if we did not reserve ahead of time. We have never had a real problem with neighbors or loud or unruly kids (although we avoid holiday weekends). We are only a few miles from Oak Creek and various stores if we fine we need something and overall feel that Cliffside is one of our favorite places! Hopefully it will continue to be for a long time!

 Cliffside needs

Review by Pete and Vicki on 5/3/18 8:17 AM

On our way up from FL, Cliffside was the most expensive site at which we stayed and only stayed there in order to see some folks living in the area. The sites have little or no vegetation except soggy, uneven grass. The gravel on the site is so narrow that we could hardly get a big rig on it. Our site did not have a picnic table so we took one from another empty site. We could not understand the registration process at the site when we looked at the board the following year so we registered on-line for an additional $12...what an insult as it was already the most expensive site we rented on the trip and it did not even have a sewer hook-up as our other sites did on the way up. The camp host is not welcoming, comes on aggressively. Time for a new hostess.

 Agree!!! Great park, bad host!!!

Review by Kdogs on 4/23/18 10:34 AM

We enjoy camping here, not that far from home, great get away, nice bath house, big sites. But we too have had horrid encounters with the hosts. Yelling at us for accidentally being an inch on grass, my daughter was picking up my granddaughter-only there for a minute and the lady came screaming at her for not parking properly. We tried to explain she was only going to be there for literally a minute, but couldn't get a word in. There are many other poor examples of these hosts. Can't figure out why they keep them. NEED NEW HOSTS!!!! RUINING A GREAT PARK!!!!

 Agree!!! Great park, bad host!!!

Review by Kdogs on 4/23/18 10:34 AM

We enjoy camping here, not that far from home, great get away, nice bath house, big sites. But we too have had horrid encounters with the hosts. Yelling at us for accidentally being an inch on grass, my daughter was picking up my granddaughter-only there for a minute and the lady came screaming at her for not parking properly. We tried to explain she was only going to be there for literally a minute, but couldn't get a word in. There are many other poor examples of these hosts. Can't figure out why they keep them. NEED NEW HOSTS!!!! RUINING A GREAT PARK!!!!

 Cliffside

Review by PJ's Happy Kamper on 2/14/18 1:39 PM

Decide to go to Cliffside based on the blog of 'We're the Russos'. The said what a wonderful place and I have to agree. We were in site 39. We have a RL TT and the view was overlooking trees. Beautiful. Our site was very large and very private! I only had one minor complaint. The fire ring was full of garbage. Paper plates, Styrofoam plates, Styrofoam cups, plastic cups, beer bottles, bags from fast food take out. I had to clean it up in order to use it. I thought the 'hosts' were suppose to care for. I read previous reviews about nasty host. Never met one so I can't comment on that. The bath house was immaculate! We will be going again in August 2018. Can't wait.

 Cliffside

Review by PJ's Happy Kamper on 2/14/18 1:39 PM

Decide to go to Cliffside based on the blog of 'We're the Russos'. The said what a wonderful place and I have to agree. We were in site 39. We have a RL TT and the view was overlooking trees. Beautiful. Our site was very large and very private! I only had one minor complaint. The fire ring was full of garbage. Paper plates, Styrofoam plates, Styrofoam cups, plastic cups, beer bottles, bags from fast food take out. I had to clean it up in order to use it. I thought the 'hosts' were suppose to care for. I read previous reviews about nasty host. Never met one so I can't comment on that. The bath house was immaculate! We will be going again in August 2018. Can't wait.

 Lady with Florida plates 066 JFN

Review by Jerry  on 10/6/17 1:50 PM

I was parking the RV and a Lady in a Cadillac with License Plate (Florida) 066 JFN sped up to my Wife's Van and almost hit it. She jumped out and said and I quote "If you drive on the Grass again I will call the Sheriff". I do not know this lady, nor did she present herself, but I told her I was "Sorry" and told her it was wrong of her to speed in her SUV and almost hit my Wife's Van. She said and I quote "That has nothing to do with what I am talking about". I told her I was sorry and then saw that she is camping at the Grounds 2 rows from us. This just happened 2 hours ago. I am going to call the Sheriff and file a complaint that she threatened me. I don't know if this Lady is who everyone else on this review is talking about as the Host, but she did not present herself and I am not going to take it!! I am at site 42 right now. She has stepped over the line by threatening me without any other words. I will now contact the Sheriff. If you are in charge of this Lady having authority, the system is failing. JR

 Nice park bad host

Review by Ricky boy on 9/24/17 4:56 PM

I would love to make this a 5 star BUT.....camp host NEEDS to go.i also agree.. lady host treats you bad....dose not come up to you if there is some thing your doing wrong ....she charges up to you an says ....she is going to call the cops...BAD....not sure we're she lives ..a camp host is not what she needs to be...they set at their fancy rig like kings and queens ....in stead of talking nice to campers....I know these hosts have been here many of years ....time to fix this problem...an make this a 5 star camp grounds.....

 Love the park! Host is rude!!!!

Review by Happy Campers on 9/17/17 1:40 PM

We have been camping here for many years. We generally have a large group of us that go camping together. Love the park! The sites a huge and facilities are some o the cleanest I've seen. On the other hand the camp host should be be called a camp nazi! She is VERY, VERY rude, confrontational and disrespectful! I understand there are rules but don't be confrontational about them and come off like you want to fight and threaten to call the sheriff all the time! She has been this way for a few years and makes us want to discontinue our camping here.

 Love the park, not the hosts.

Review by Sandy on 6/24/17 7:53 PM

We grew up in this area, but moved away a few years ago. We are new RVers, so it was the first time in any park. We love this one, it's quiet and beautiful, the bathrooms are clean and the grounds are clean. The female host was not the nicest person we've ever met. We were at site 89. Our daughter was coming to the site, bringing my 90 yr old mother. I pulled my truck into an unoccupied site across from ours so my daughter could pull in front of the RV and we could get my mom in my truck. Within 3 minutes of putting my truck at the other site, the host came driving over to tell us to move the truck "NOW". I told her the reason it was there and for only about 5 more minutes. She was confrontational and seemed to want an argument. I did move the truck, but my daughter pulled up before I even parked the truck by the bathrooms. This all took place in about 8 minutes, what was the big deal? I ended up stopping on the road in front of our camper to pick my mom up and ended up blocking another camper coming through, they were nice about it and knew what had happened. I"m 60 yrs old, I don't generally go around breaking rules, but this really should have been a non issue. Like I said, she wanted a fight or a reason to call the police, who were at her motor home 3 different times in the few days we were there.

 Hire me

Review by Rita on 3/3/17 8:42 PM

Friendly and respectful... never rude.

 Summerfest

Review by Rupester on 7/6/16 11:15 AM

Stayed a couple nights during summerfest and to ride bike trails. Very nice campground, clean bathrooms, close to several bike trails, well mowed hiking trail ti the lake, only 15 min drive to catch bus downtown. Would def. Stay again.

  Its January 31st 2016 will winter ever end

Review by Puma Palamino on 1/31/16 10:47 AM

Will it ever warm up so we can get back to what we enjoy most, spending our summer weekends at Cliffside :)

 Love it!

Review by MIKC on 8/10/15 11:25 AM

Value, beauty,safety,proximity to the best o SE = Love it!

 A Pleasant Surprise

Review by zmmetz on 7/19/15 6:06 PM

Wasn't sure what to expect but boy was I happy. The campground is clean with modern facilities. The lots are large and level and there is lots of trees and grass. Definitely plan on staying there again.

 Pretty Good

Review by Stacie on 5/7/15 3:35 PM

Full Time RV'r. My husband was assigned to a job at a near by plant. Nice and quiet park. No sewer hook up's but a dump station in the front. Site's aren't on top of each other. Although, not a big enough road to make the turn and back your rig into a spot when you have a truck with a 36 foot rig attached. The VERY RUDE FEMALE PARK HOST will not hear any excuses as to why you have even a tread of a tire on the grass!!! Let me make it clear, THE PARK HOST IS VERY RUDE!!! She doesn't identify who she is when she comes angrily storming out of her car yelling at you to keep off the grass. Been full time over 2 years now and have been to many RV parks, never has any host been as rude as this lady.

 cliffside

Review by secret place on 8/12/14 12:15 PM

I wont tell anyone about this place because I don't want to share such a beautiful place. Bathrooms are generally clean and not worn out with paint chipping and bugs/spiders etc. The police dept cruises through periodically. Love the large sites

 cliffside

Review by secret place on 8/12/14 12:15 PM

I wont tell anyone about this place because I don't want to share such a beautiful place. Bathrooms are generally clean and not worn out with paint chipping and bugs/spiders etc. The police dept cruises through periodically. Love the large sites

 Cliff side park RV camping

Review by Disappointed on 8/12/14 11:42 AM

The Park is lovely and most of the time quiet. Spacious sites, very reasonable rates. All sites have water and electric. Bathroom's in the past were sparkling except this last weekend 8/9/14. By 4pm on sat the place was a mess with tissue all over the woman's bathroom, shower floor was covered with dirt, long hair and water sitting. By 6pm there wasn't a stall with toilet tissue in it. People were flushing paper towel. My husband complained that everyone including a small group of young boys were using the men's handicap stall and some one finger painted on the walls with poop. It would be nice if a handicap sign would be posted on both the woman's and men's handicap stall to possibly make children aware that they are there for a reason. This is the first time we have ever experienced this at Cliff side. I'm hoping its an isolated incident. The girl that cleans was surprised at the mess. I would think the camp host would do a periodic check on these sort of things.

 Hat's off to Racine

Review by Ed on 6/30/14 1:57 PM

We recently returned from our trip to Michigan & Wisconsin. During this trip we stayed at various campgrounds, some good, some not so good. Cliffside was one of the most pleasant surprises of the whole trip. Our daughter lives in Wind Lake and we often visit but not normally with our trailer. It's nice to know that there is a quality and reasonably priced campground within 25 minutes of her home. My hat's off to the city of Racine.

 Super!

Review by Bruno on 6/22/14 5:24 PM

Great place to stay. Easy to find, easy to navigate around. Nice area!

 New home away from home

Review by twosunniweather@aol.com on 6/16/14 1:27 PM

Love the park, our new home away from home. Sad to see the trees thinning so and no new planted. Bathrooms are always clean and water is hot. Thanks Mary

 Great

Review by Rivers on 6/5/14 11:17 AM

We loved site 89 so much this past Memorial Day weekend, we need to come back for the 4th of July weekend and will stay 3 nights again. Great place, friendly, well kept and clean bathrooms.

 great campground

Review by Happy Camper on 9/7/13 8:28 AM

We've been camping there for over 10 yrs. and have NEVER had a problem. The campground used to be a wild place but the hosts have made it a quiet relaxing campground. They are friendly and helpful. They make our camping enjoyable.