Reviews for Racine County Campgrounds Reservation Office

Sturtevant, Wisconsin

 One of the best RV parks we've ever been to

Review by Sabrina on 8/15/18 5:12 PM

My hubby visits Milwaukee for work and wanted to "show me around the town" (we're from the Twin Cities), so we chose Racine County RV park (Cliffside) after reading RV Park Reviews. We had an idea it would be a nice park, but we were actually even more pleased than we thought we'd be. Conveniently enough, we didn't even need to check in upon arrival. Our reservation was posted on the post at our spot. Hookups were right there (no 50 ft cord needed like some other places!), spots are level with grass, campfire ring, picnic table, and even shade! Spots are VERY roomy, some of the roomiest we've ever had! Park was very clean and, surprisingly enough, very quiet even though it was completely full the weekend we were there. Easy in and out, nice roads and convenient to go to Milwaukee or Kenosha. Very nice trails right off the campground that weren't busy at all. Will make the trek again just to camp here for sure!

 Love Cliffside

Review by T,C&KT on 8/14/18 10:56 AM

Our 2nd time staying here to visit family. Stayed here 2 1/2 weeks. Love this campground and our site(53) which was level, had 50A. I messed up when I made my reservation and didn’t actually have a site booked. The lady in reservations helped me on short notice. The showers and restrooms are clean, great hot water in the North shower room. Great bike riding roads. Met some really nice people. The host can be cranky and she doesn’t always talk to people nicely. My only reason for 4 stars is that I wish they had sewer hookups and WiFi or at least better reception.

 Love Cliffside

Review by T,C&KT on 8/14/18 10:15 AM

Our 2nd time staying here to visit family. Stayed here 2 1/2 weeks. Love this campground and our site(53) which was level, had 50A. I messed up when I made my reservation and didn’t actually have a site booked. The lady in reservations helped me on short notice. The showers and restrooms are clean, great hot water in the North shower room. Great bike riding roads. Met some really nice people. The host can be cranky and she doesn’t always talk to people nicely. My only reason for 4 stars is that I wish they had sewer hookups and WiFi or at least better reception.

 Wonderful stay

Review by SnL on 8/9/18 8:54 AM

Beautiful campground! Spacious sites. Water and electric worked fine. Our site was very unlevel. Wished there was a sewer hook-up at the site but glad they had a dump station. Bathrooms and showers were very clean.

 Overall Great place

Review by Cramer on 8/6/18 7:12 PM

We enjoyed our stay here. Bathrooms clean, nice site, quiet and the host helped us find our site when we got there as our receipt didn’t have the campsite number on it. My only complaint would be the statement online that it was a within walking distance to Lake Michigan. This gives the assumption that you can get to the Lake not just see it from a distance on a trail that is unkept and treacherous. I thought this was misleading.

 Overall Great place

Review by Cramer on 8/6/18 7:12 PM

We enjoyed our stay here. Bathrooms clean, nice site, quiet and the host helped us find our site when we got there as our receipt didn’t have the campsite number on it. My only complaint would be the statement online that it was a within walking distance to Lake Michigan. This gives the assumption that you can get to the Lake not just see it from a distance on a trail that is unkept and treacherous. I thought this was misleading.

 Very Well Maintained

Review by MLB on 8/3/18 8:19 PM

We stayed for four nights on a family vacation. Very clean and well maintained campground. Bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have come across. Only negatives (and these are minor at best) were some aircraft noise and no internet, which I was good with but the kids were not. Overall it was an excellent stay.

 Very Well Maintained

Review by MLB on 8/3/18 8:18 PM

We stayed for four nights on a family vacation. Very clean and well maintained campground. Bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have come across. Only negatives (and these are minor at best) were some aircraft noise and no internet, which I was good with but the kids were not. Overall it was an excellent stay.

 Great Campground

Review by Mark Place on 7/30/18 2:55 PM

Lovely campground. Well maintained, larger sites. We didn't use the showers, but poked our heads in. They were clean and in nice shape. Very quiet except for occasional sound from the nearby power plant, railroad track, gun range, airport, etc. All very understandable given the proximity to huge cities. WiFi would make it 5 stars!

 Great Campground

Review by Mark Place on 7/30/18 2:55 PM

Lovely campground. Well maintained, larger sites. We didn't use the showers, but poked our heads in. They were clean and in nice shape. Very quiet except for occasional sound from the nearby power plant, railroad track, gun range, airport, etc. All very understandable given the proximity to huge cities. WiFi would make it 5 stars!

 Beware Reservation Glitch

Review by Debbie on 7/26/18 6:54 AM

Beware of their on-line reservation system.! They charged me $40 for one night that was a result of a glitch in their computer reservation system and would not refund the charges and book the nights we wanted to book. Had to dispute the charges through our credit card company. So sad since it looks like a nice park to stay. Hope they get their system straightened out and make the process more user friendly.

 Amazing

Review by Marissa  on 7/25/18 10:43 AM

This is by far the nicest campground I’ve ever been to. There was a lady that showed our children monarchs and everything was so clean and peaceful!

 cliffside

Review by HdDude on 7/22/18 10:40 PM

we've camped here many times. nice larger sites. they appear to be widening them. price is not very high talked to camp host and he was a very pleasant fellow. we plan on coming back often. i never give 5 stars because nothing is perfect but this is one of the nicer places we've camped and i'd give it 4.5 stars.

 very nice

Review by Roman on 7/22/18 11:49 AM

most sites are larger than normal. well groomed. having on site water a big plus. bugs were minimal and 10min drive to the lake front. Bathrooms are not large, but very clean and there was never an issue with room the entire 4 days we were there. This is very possibly our new local go too location. Highly recommend.

 Happy RVer

Review by Happy RVer on 7/22/18 10:48 AM

Very nice and even with it being ‘full’ it was very quiet. It’s clean too. We will be back!

 Happy RVer

Review by Happy RVer on 7/22/18 10:48 AM

Very nice and even with it being ‘full’ it was very quiet. It’s clean too. We will be back!

 Racine Campground

Review by Phyllis  on 7/20/18 6:55 AM

Racine Campground has always been such a beautiful clean and quiet place to stay.. the Hosts are busy all the time but never are to busy to stop and visit. When in the area we will be staying there again for sure.

 Cliffside

Review by Thomas on 7/15/18 7:39 AM

Great clean place. Stayed several different times.

 Great campground

Review by Florida on 7/13/18 7:03 AM

We have stayed here for several years as it is close to our families living in the area. Nice big sites, quiet!! Reservation people are great, very helpful. We stop in the area on our way further north from Florida.

 Awesome trip!

Review by Michigantenter on 7/5/18 1:30 PM

This is my second summer staying at Cliffside. Last year, a friend and myself wanted someplace near Racine to camp and came across this campground. Last year's experience was awesome, as was this year's. I don't know if they replaced the host, as we had no problem....except maybe that we didn't realize who the host was. We had no communications with a host, so I suppose that was okay. Reservations were made easily on line and since I don't camp a great deal, I am fine with the rates. It's much cheaper than staying in a hotel. Our site was clean and the bathrooms were spotless! I will return again this summer and hope to have the same great experience!

 cliffside park and campgrounds

Review by family get togethers on 7/4/18 7:06 AM

my husband and I love your campgrounds at Cliffside... we came to visit with family down there during graduations... the lady who is in care of the campgrounds is NO kind of hostess... she doesn't come out of her motorhome except to complain about the people who are staying there.. and tell their visitors they cannt park even for about 1/2 hour... our son came to see us and felt like he couldn't be there... so they didn't stay and no time to really visit after a year of not seeing them... the hostess never came out to welcome people as they came and went... she is very rude...other campgrounds we stayed at the host and hostess would go around to new comers and see if they needed anything or just to say hi... get rid of her and Cliffside will be at the top of our list to stay again

 Lovely place

Review by Lisa on 7/1/18 6:52 AM

We enjoy camping at Cliffside nearly every year when we come to Racine for events with our dogs at the local kennel club. The park is quiet and very clean. We have been coming here for ten years.

 Nice campground

Review by Illinoiscamper on 6/18/18 9:24 AM

This is a very nice campground. It doesn’t have the attraction of mini golf or a pool but it does have nice sized sites, good bathrooms and a nice playground and a good place to ride bikes.

 I am so happy with the Racine County Campgrounds Reservation Office.

Review by Amanda Sandbakken on 6/15/18 10:03 AM

I stayed at Cliffside park in 2016 and I wanted to take a trip back there this year in 2018. I was having trouble finding availability online and so I called and was unable to get through to the reservations. They called me back very promptly and helped me get a reservation. The park is so nice and clean and its so close to Lake Michigan. Thank you for all your wonderful help.

 Tennis

Review by concerned citizen of Racine County on 6/13/18 2:59 PM

When did Cliffside park become just a campground. I know the Tennis courts were destroyed years ago but I thought I was still allow in the park to walk, bike and play just like any other park in this community. I sure hope this park is not just hotel service available for campers.

 Awesome

Review by Kim on 6/7/18 6:45 AM

We love Cliffside. Huge sites, clean washroom, quiet. Stayed here several times.

 Great Campground!

Review by The Jones' on 6/6/18 11:50 AM

It was a great campground we stayed for 4 nights. It was very quiet, the bathrooms were very clean! The showers were huge!! The biggest I've ever seen at a campground. I thought I was going to be able to see Lake Michigan from the campground, I didn't realize I had to take a trail, that was the only bummer. We have a 4 and 1 year old. I wasn't sure how long the trail was so we didn't take it and just went into town to see Lake Michigan. Overall, our experience was great and if we ever get back there I would love to stay here again.

 Cliffside Park Camping

Review by Cricket  on 5/27/18 2:51 PM

This is a very nice quite campground , nice shade for during the summer . The camp host was friendly and helpful . The camp bathrooms were very clean and nice . I would camp at this campground again .

 Great RV Park

Review by TB on 5/26/18 6:16 AM

Reservations were easy to make and the quality of the park met my expectations.

 Beautiful Park

Review by TB on 5/26/18 6:12 AM

Very nice setting- easy to get to. We were in a 40 ft motorhome pulling a vehicle. Beautiful setting- all spaces looked nice and well kept. Parking is on gravel pads amidst grass. There are picnic tables at each site. Bathrooms are well located and nice. Camp hosts are very nice and helpful.

 Good campground, clean bathrooms and spacious sites

Review by Mount Pleasant Campers on 5/13/18 8:05 AM

We only live about 30 mins away and Cliffside is our "go to" for many camping weekends because it is reliably clean and well kept - especially the bathrooms. This is an important aspect of any campground! We typically reserve a site since it gets pretty busy in the summertime - and we would be taking a chance of not getting one if we did not reserve ahead of time. We have never had a real problem with neighbors or loud or unruly kids (although we avoid holiday weekends). We are only a few miles from Oak Creek and various stores if we fine we need something and overall feel that Cliffside is one of our favorite places! Hopefully it will continue to be for a long time!

 Good campground, clean bathrooms and spacious sites

Review by Mount Pleasant Campers on 5/13/18 8:04 AM

We only live about 30 mins away and Cliffside is our "go to" for many camping weekends because it is reliably clean and well kept - especially the bathrooms. This is an important aspect of any campground! We typically reserve a site since it gets pretty busy in the summertime - and we would be taking a chance of not getting one if we did not reserve ahead of time. We have never had a real problem with neighbors or loud or unruly kids (although we avoid holiday weekends). We are only a few miles from Oak Creek and various stores if we fine we need something and overall feel that Cliffside is one of our favorite places! Hopefully it will continue to be for a long time!

 Cliffside needs

Review by Pete and Vicki on 5/3/18 8:17 AM

On our way up from FL, Cliffside was the most expensive site at which we stayed and only stayed there in order to see some folks living in the area. The sites have little or no vegetation except soggy, uneven grass. The gravel on the site is so narrow that we could hardly get a big rig on it. Our site did not have a picnic table so we took one from another empty site. We could not understand the registration process at the site when we looked at the board the following year so we registered on-line for an additional $12...what an insult as it was already the most expensive site we rented on the trip and it did not even have a sewer hook-up as our other sites did on the way up. The camp host is not welcoming, comes on aggressively. Time for a new hostess.

 Agree!!! Great park, bad host!!!

Review by Kdogs on 4/23/18 10:34 AM

We enjoy camping here, not that far from home, great get away, nice bath house, big sites. But we too have had horrid encounters with the hosts. Yelling at us for accidentally being an inch on grass, my daughter was picking up my granddaughter-only there for a minute and the lady came screaming at her for not parking properly. We tried to explain she was only going to be there for literally a minute, but couldn't get a word in. There are many other poor examples of these hosts. Can't figure out why they keep them. NEED NEW HOSTS!!!! RUINING A GREAT PARK!!!!

 Agree!!! Great park, bad host!!!

Review by Kdogs on 4/23/18 10:34 AM

We enjoy camping here, not that far from home, great get away, nice bath house, big sites. But we too have had horrid encounters with the hosts. Yelling at us for accidentally being an inch on grass, my daughter was picking up my granddaughter-only there for a minute and the lady came screaming at her for not parking properly. We tried to explain she was only going to be there for literally a minute, but couldn't get a word in. There are many other poor examples of these hosts. Can't figure out why they keep them. NEED NEW HOSTS!!!! RUINING A GREAT PARK!!!!

 Cliffside

Review by PJ's Happy Kamper on 2/14/18 1:39 PM

Decide to go to Cliffside based on the blog of 'We're the Russos'. The said what a wonderful place and I have to agree. We were in site 39. We have a RL TT and the view was overlooking trees. Beautiful. Our site was very large and very private! I only had one minor complaint. The fire ring was full of garbage. Paper plates, Styrofoam plates, Styrofoam cups, plastic cups, beer bottles, bags from fast food take out. I had to clean it up in order to use it. I thought the 'hosts' were suppose to care for. I read previous reviews about nasty host. Never met one so I can't comment on that. The bath house was immaculate! We will be going again in August 2018. Can't wait.

 Cliffside

Review by PJ's Happy Kamper on 2/14/18 1:39 PM

Decide to go to Cliffside based on the blog of 'We're the Russos'. The said what a wonderful place and I have to agree. We were in site 39. We have a RL TT and the view was overlooking trees. Beautiful. Our site was very large and very private! I only had one minor complaint. The fire ring was full of garbage. Paper plates, Styrofoam plates, Styrofoam cups, plastic cups, beer bottles, bags from fast food take out. I had to clean it up in order to use it. I thought the 'hosts' were suppose to care for. I read previous reviews about nasty host. Never met one so I can't comment on that. The bath house was immaculate! We will be going again in August 2018. Can't wait.

 Lady with Florida plates 066 JFN

Review by Jerry  on 10/6/17 1:50 PM

I was parking the RV and a Lady in a Cadillac with License Plate (Florida) 066 JFN sped up to my Wife's Van and almost hit it. She jumped out and said and I quote "If you drive on the Grass again I will call the Sheriff". I do not know this lady, nor did she present herself, but I told her I was "Sorry" and told her it was wrong of her to speed in her SUV and almost hit my Wife's Van. She said and I quote "That has nothing to do with what I am talking about". I told her I was sorry and then saw that she is camping at the Grounds 2 rows from us. This just happened 2 hours ago. I am going to call the Sheriff and file a complaint that she threatened me. I don't know if this Lady is who everyone else on this review is talking about as the Host, but she did not present herself and I am not going to take it!! I am at site 42 right now. She has stepped over the line by threatening me without any other words. I will now contact the Sheriff. If you are in charge of this Lady having authority, the system is failing. JR

 Nice park bad host

Review by Ricky boy on 9/24/17 4:56 PM

I would love to make this a 5 star BUT.....camp host NEEDS to go.i also agree.. lady host treats you bad....dose not come up to you if there is some thing your doing wrong ....she charges up to you an says ....she is going to call the cops...BAD....not sure we're she lives ..a camp host is not what she needs to be...they set at their fancy rig like kings and queens ....in stead of talking nice to campers....I know these hosts have been here many of years ....time to fix this problem...an make this a 5 star camp grounds.....

 Love the park! Host is rude!!!!

Review by Happy Campers on 9/17/17 1:40 PM

We have been camping here for many years. We generally have a large group of us that go camping together. Love the park! The sites a huge and facilities are some o the cleanest I've seen. On the other hand the camp host should be be called a camp nazi! She is VERY, VERY rude, confrontational and disrespectful! I understand there are rules but don't be confrontational about them and come off like you want to fight and threaten to call the sheriff all the time! She has been this way for a few years and makes us want to discontinue our camping here.

 Love the park, not the hosts.

Review by Sandy on 6/24/17 7:53 PM

We grew up in this area, but moved away a few years ago. We are new RVers, so it was the first time in any park. We love this one, it's quiet and beautiful, the bathrooms are clean and the grounds are clean. The female host was not the nicest person we've ever met. We were at site 89. Our daughter was coming to the site, bringing my 90 yr old mother. I pulled my truck into an unoccupied site across from ours so my daughter could pull in front of the RV and we could get my mom in my truck. Within 3 minutes of putting my truck at the other site, the host came driving over to tell us to move the truck "NOW". I told her the reason it was there and for only about 5 more minutes. She was confrontational and seemed to want an argument. I did move the truck, but my daughter pulled up before I even parked the truck by the bathrooms. This all took place in about 8 minutes, what was the big deal? I ended up stopping on the road in front of our camper to pick my mom up and ended up blocking another camper coming through, they were nice about it and knew what had happened. I"m 60 yrs old, I don't generally go around breaking rules, but this really should have been a non issue. Like I said, she wanted a fight or a reason to call the police, who were at her motor home 3 different times in the few days we were there.

 Hire me

Review by Rita on 3/3/17 8:42 PM

Friendly and respectful... never rude.

 Summerfest

Review by Rupester on 7/6/16 11:15 AM

Stayed a couple nights during summerfest and to ride bike trails. Very nice campground, clean bathrooms, close to several bike trails, well mowed hiking trail ti the lake, only 15 min drive to catch bus downtown. Would def. Stay again.

  Its January 31st 2016 will winter ever end

Review by Puma Palamino on 1/31/16 10:47 AM

Will it ever warm up so we can get back to what we enjoy most, spending our summer weekends at Cliffside :)

 Love it!

Review by MIKC on 8/10/15 11:25 AM

Value, beauty,safety,proximity to the best o SE = Love it!

 A Pleasant Surprise

Review by zmmetz on 7/19/15 6:06 PM

Wasn't sure what to expect but boy was I happy. The campground is clean with modern facilities. The lots are large and level and there is lots of trees and grass. Definitely plan on staying there again.

 Pretty Good

Review by Stacie on 5/7/15 3:35 PM

Full Time RV'r. My husband was assigned to a job at a near by plant. Nice and quiet park. No sewer hook up's but a dump station in the front. Site's aren't on top of each other. Although, not a big enough road to make the turn and back your rig into a spot when you have a truck with a 36 foot rig attached. The VERY RUDE FEMALE PARK HOST will not hear any excuses as to why you have even a tread of a tire on the grass!!! Let me make it clear, THE PARK HOST IS VERY RUDE!!! She doesn't identify who she is when she comes angrily storming out of her car yelling at you to keep off the grass. Been full time over 2 years now and have been to many RV parks, never has any host been as rude as this lady.

 cliffside

Review by secret place on 8/12/14 12:15 PM

I wont tell anyone about this place because I don't want to share such a beautiful place. Bathrooms are generally clean and not worn out with paint chipping and bugs/spiders etc. The police dept cruises through periodically. Love the large sites

 cliffside

Review by secret place on 8/12/14 12:15 PM

I wont tell anyone about this place because I don't want to share such a beautiful place. Bathrooms are generally clean and not worn out with paint chipping and bugs/spiders etc. The police dept cruises through periodically. Love the large sites

 Cliff side park RV camping

Review by Disappointed on 8/12/14 11:42 AM

The Park is lovely and most of the time quiet. Spacious sites, very reasonable rates. All sites have water and electric. Bathroom's in the past were sparkling except this last weekend 8/9/14. By 4pm on sat the place was a mess with tissue all over the woman's bathroom, shower floor was covered with dirt, long hair and water sitting. By 6pm there wasn't a stall with toilet tissue in it. People were flushing paper towel. My husband complained that everyone including a small group of young boys were using the men's handicap stall and some one finger painted on the walls with poop. It would be nice if a handicap sign would be posted on both the woman's and men's handicap stall to possibly make children aware that they are there for a reason. This is the first time we have ever experienced this at Cliff side. I'm hoping its an isolated incident. The girl that cleans was surprised at the mess. I would think the camp host would do a periodic check on these sort of things.