Reviews for red river gorge climbers campground and retreats

slade, Kentucky

 Bedrooms at Miguel's

Review by Susie on 6/26/24, 7:19 AM

My cousin and I stayed in the bedroom behind Miguel's. I asked about check-in at the counter in MIguel's and was given Susan's number. When I called she seemed annoyed and told me that the information was in the email (it was). We arrived in our room and was pretty much on our own, which we liked. We did use the showers and found a friendly camper help us through the process of purchasing tokens. I would describe the facilities as adequate and what I expected for a rock climbing campground and according to the descriptions online. The room itself: You have to go downstairs and around the building to use the restroom. One of the sockets in the room was burnt black and charred. The shade didn't cover the entire window on the side that faces the pizza parlor but the air conditioning was ice cold - a bonus for the very hot day we were there. I would however, say that things weren't that clean and we were charged a substantial cleaning fee in addition to the advertised $45 per night. The cost ended up being nearly $70. Although we really enjoyed our stay, in all, I could only give it 4 stars because of the additional cleaning fee. I dislike fees when they are really just a sneaky way to increase the price and when the facilities could be cleaner. Overall I would definitely stay again. It's a cool, quaint place in the Gorge, even if a bit overpriced with the cleaning fee.

 Bedrooms at Miguel's

Review by Susie on 6/26/24, 7:19 AM

My cousin and I stayed in the bedroom behind Miguel's. I asked about check-in at the counter in MIguel's and was given Susan's number. When I called she seemed annoyed and told me that the information was in the email (it was). We arrived in our room and was pretty much on our own, which we liked. We did use the showers and found a friendly camper help us through the process of purchasing tokens. I would describe the facilities as adequate and what I expected for a rock climbing campground and according to the descriptions online. The room itself: You have to go downstairs and around the building to use the restroom. One of the sockets in the room was burnt black and charred. The shade didn't cover the entire window on the side that faces the pizza parlor but the air conditioning was ice cold - a bonus for the very hot day we were there. I would however, say that things weren't that clean and we were charged a substantial cleaning fee in addition to the advertised $45 per night. The cost ended up being nearly $70. Although we really enjoyed our stay, in all, I could only give it 4 stars because of the additional cleaning fee. I dislike fees when they are really just a sneaky way to increase the price and when the facilities could be cleaner. Overall I would definitely stay again. It's a cool, quaint place in the Gorge, even if a bit overpriced with the cleaning fee.

 Ms

Review by DDee on 6/15/24, 7:15 AM

Beds were comfy, there wasn’t much direction for check in. We were a little confused and called Susan and she seemed annoyed that we even called. The token machine in the laundry room were out of order and there was no direction on where we could purchase. Maybe put a sign up on the machine to go to the gear shop for tokens. Staff was rude when any questions were asked, they seemed bothered. Although we didn’t have many interactions with them. But the two we did were not pleasant. Bathroom was very ill maintained. Other than that the room was great, showers were great and hot!

 One night stay review

Review by Jed on 10/26/23, 7:48 AM

Stayed for one night while in the area to fish & hike. Room was easy to find, clean & comfortable bed. I happen to be there at a busy time in the Fall so bathrooms were a little unclean and wait was long at restaurant. I had overall good experience and would stay again.

 Big House Review

Review by Dale on 8/13/23, 8:56 AM

Our family rented the whole big house for a week and enjoyed our time. We did have three complaints about the property. First, the drive to the house is treacherous. Second, the Wi-Fi is limited and variable. We had a couple of people who needed dependable Wi-Fi and they had to go to the Stanton library to get it. And third, we had small ants crawling around the kitchen counter until we bought some ant traps. Otherwise, the space and accommodations were great.

 Perfect

Review by Michelle on 8/22/21, 6:21 AM

We stayed in one of the rooms above the shower house. The instructions for accessing our room were clear and easy, the room was very clean and comfortable. I felt so much at home here I can't wait to come back. I didn't use the showers downstairs but the bathrooms and washroom area were well maintained for the amount of traffic they see, and the floors were clean. We ordered a pizza next door, walked over and sat outside (lots and lots of covered outdoor seating) and enjoyed the very laid back atmosphere that is Miguel's.

 Perfect

Review by Michelle on 8/22/21, 6:20 AM

We stayed in one of the rooms above the shower house. The instructions for accessing our room were clear and easy, the room was very clean and comfortable. I felt so much at home here I can't wait to come back. I didn't use the showers downstairs but the bathrooms and washroom area were well maintained for the amount of traffic they see, and the floors were clean. We ordered a pizza next door

 Campground Rooms at Miguels

Review by Corny on 6/8/21, 9:34 AM

Great stay at the campground rooms at Miguel's. My kids and I enjoyed the night we stayed there. Easy to reserve. Directions were clear on getting into the room. Comfortable rooms. And so close to ordering food too. We would stay there again.

 Cozy Cabin

Review by LB on 5/10/21, 12:16 PM

We stayed two nights at the Cozy Cabin for my son's wedding in the RRG, and we had a wonderful weekend. The beds were comfortable, there were plenty of towels, the kitchen had all the items we needed to cook, and the appliances were even updated. The best part though may have been the location.....The cabin is close to Miguel's, and is right next door to The Big House, where my son's wedding party stayed. Super convenient!!

 Campground Rooms at Miguels

Review by Tracy on 11/19/20, 7:08 AM

I had a lovely 3-night stays in the Campground room at Miguels. It was my first time, and I had a wonderful time. It was quiet (after the Foosball games finish around 10 pm), peaceful, and inspiring for me to be surrounded by 'everything climbing'. I would stay at Miguel's anytime! Thank you for a great 3-night stay!!!

 Perfect location

Review by RichmondTed on 11/12/20, 6:12 AM

Miquels camping and area is the COTU for The Red. The camping / rooms are incredibly convenient and economical. Having a solid gear shop on the property is a big extra. Never actually got to eat at Miguel’s, as it gets much busier towards the end of the week (our trip was Tuesday - Friday). All you need for an exceptional RRG climbing trip!

 Such a special and unique destination

Review by Cynthia on 11/2/20, 11:54 AM

Only reason it got 4 stars was bc our room above the showers had dust bunnies under the beds and the women's bathroom door slammed loudly everytime someone left--right under our bedroom area. It was addressed and fixed upon my report. Miguel and Susan have built an area that really accommodates outdoor enthusiasts! I love how his buildings have his artwork and are clearly build carefully with design in mind. The food is amazing for our in the practical wilderness. Where do you find 'Mom and Pop' places like this anymore!

 Family Gathering

Review by Logan on 11/2/20, 8:56 AM

Magical family weekend! The cabin and the grounds were breathtaking, got to meet owner and he gave us several great recommendations for hiking! Everything was great! Definitely will come back!

 Campgrounds

Review by Hiker55 on 9/7/20, 3:11 PM

The camp site was not at all what I expected. When making reservations I noticed that the place advertised WiFi and Electric. Although the restaurant does have these amenities available they are not on the camp site. However, we made the best of the situation. We had very little interaction with the employees. The experience we did have, the young man referred to us as “dudes” which I considered rude being that we are old enough to be his parents. Other than that, it was very affordable, and easy to access to various trail heads. We did not have pizza while there. I know...crazy. Maybe next time.

 Campgrounds

Review by Hiker55 on 9/7/20, 3:11 PM

The camp site was not at all what I expected. When making reservations I noticed that the place advertised WiFi and Electric. Although the restaurant does have these amenities available they are not on the camp site. However, we made the best of the situation. We had very little interaction with the employees. The experience we did have, the young man referred to us as “dudes” which I considered rude being that we are old enough to be his parents. Other than that, it was very affordable, and easy to access to various trail heads. We did not have pizza while there. I know...crazy. Maybe next time.

 Can't wait to come back

Review by Tag A Long on 1/19/20, 8:08 AM

We live in Michigan and saw a bumper sticker for Miguel's Pizza on a Tuesday. I called my daughter and said I saw a bumper sticker for Miguel's Pizza I think we should go and get a pizza this weekend! Of course she said yes. She has been there many times to climb and camp and I've been there once and loved it. So worth the drive! We stayed in a room on site, hiked, enjoyed the company of employees and other people and of course ate pizza! I will say their breakfast is amazing too! Thank you Susan for being fantastic at answering your phone and helping us along the way. Can't wait to come back!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:04 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:04 AM

!S!WCRTESTINPUT000003%3c%3e!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:04 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001%3c%3e!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:04 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000%3c%3e!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='2

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='7

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:03 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:02 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:01 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:00 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!