Reviews for Johnson's of St. Mary

St Mary, Montana

 Quality people and organization

Review by Howard Seltzer on 9/11/17 1:40 PM

This is a top quality group. We had paid reservations @ Johnson's and were very much looking forward to our visit. Unfortunately much of the "Going To The Sun Road" was closed (fires) and the air quality turned dramatically south. We called and spoke to Kateri (spelling) and Matt and they were GREAT. We explained our concerns and they immediately said we could cancel and receive a refund - no issues. In today's world of business this is extraordinary customer service and we are definitely grateful for their consideration and will certainly plan a future visit. THANK YOU !!

 Poor stay at Johnson's

Review by JVC on 7/30/16 11:22 AM

I stayed here 10 years ago and was quite impressed. This stay was not so impressive. Dates were 7/27-7/29-2016. Had a 30 amp/water sight right off the office (site #1), a back in site....we were crammed, like sardines in a row with literally only a few feet separating the vehicles down the 'line'.....As new visitors arrived, they blocked my truck and I could not even move. Was told NO FIRES in that loop as there was obviously no room for a fire pit, yet, firewood was still sold (at an extorted rate), at the office. I asked to change sites and was rudely told "campground is FULL". That being said, full campground and all, the shower facilities were a mockery...4 showers in the men's side and only TWO were functional. Was given 4 tokens for the showers (there were two of us) at a time rate of 6 minutes each. Used them on the first night, went and asked for 2 more and was told they were $5 a piece! (they were gold in color, I did not realize they were REAL gold...). A bit of customer service goes along way in this world...Millenials that are employed at this facility for the summer need to treat it as more than "just a summer job". Overall, VERY DISAPOINTED with Johnson's of St. Mary and would recommend to anyone staying in the area to give their business to the other campgrounds available. I will NEVER return. (would have given a NO STAR rating, but was not offered that choice)

 RV Park

Review by Jacymae on 9/9/10 9:26 PM

The view from the RV parkis truly spectacular-- but the facilities need attention. The restrooms and showers need freshing up and so do the grounds. Two of the men's showers were not working. It is a very long walk to the showers/bathrooms and wi-fi. Not much fun in the cold and rain (which can happen at that attitude even in the summer). Wi-fi is in the laundry room and office and not too stable at that. You only get one token per person per day for a 6 minute shower.

 Cabin Stay Was Delightful

Review by Jeff on 8/14/09 7:55 PM

Wow. Johnson's cabins beat the Glacier park concessionaire facilities hands down. Warmly constructed and decorated, very comfortable, firm beds, high quality bed coverings, great porch view of the mountains. What's not to like? EZ walk to the village eateries or Johnson's cafe. I suppose the pair of plastic chairs were for sitting out on the porch, but our stay in August was rainy and cool. I'd rather leave them outside and have a cozy armchair with a lamp in their stead at night. Excellent value.

 Great Find

Review by MsRVer on 5/13/09 6:52 PM

We've stayed at Johnson's every summer for the past five summers. The campground is great! We love the view and the people who run the campground. This campground has a "homey" feel you know your more than just a customer. Try it out!

 campground

Review by sueonthego on 5/9/09 12:40 PM

Camped in tent at unserviced site two nights in 2005 and two nights in 2007. Some of the sites in tent area offer fair privacy. Some sites are quite spacious. Staff friendly and helpful. Campground restroom clean and in good condition; same with laundry room. Tent area of campground is far enough off the road to be quiet at night. Will return to campground again in 2009. I believe that having both showers and laundry, plus a central location on the east side of Glacier, makes this campground "better" than the campgrounds in Glacier National Park.

 tent camper

Review by sueonthego on 5/9/09 12:39 PM

Camped in tent at unserviced site two nights in 2005 and two nights in 2007. Some of the sites in tent area offer fair privacy. Some sites are quite spacious. Staff friendly and helpful. Campground restroom clean and in good condition; same with laundry room. Tent area of campground is far enough off the road to be quiet at night. Will return to campground again in 2009. I believe that having both showers and laundry, plus a central location on the east side of Glacier, makes this campground "better" than the campgrounds in Glacier National Park.