Reviews for Jackson Lake Campground & Park, LLC

Canal Winchester, Ohio

  June 17th 2018

Review by Michelle on 6/18/18 3:12 PM

Stayed in a cabin for June 17th 2018. Father's day. Upon arrival was told by lady in office that they don't have grills, so we immediately left for walmart to purchase one. Once arriving at cabin guess what, there was a grill. So that was an instant waste of time and money. We was told the cabin next to us would not be rented due to problems so we could hang out on that side since it was grassy and ours was not, we needed grass since we had a 2 year old. Once again we was lied to. After that we went to the aqua park. It was fun, we asked the lifeguard on duty what time the regular po closed since the aqua park closes at 8. We were told the pool was own til 11pm. And GUESS WHAT, also a lie. When we settled in the cabin for the night only one person was ankle to take a shower because the drain was clogged. As we were leaving we had the maintenance guy approach us and ask how the shower was, we found that strange because we hadn't told them about it yet. We found out apparently they already knew. Well why wasn't it fixed before renting the cabin then. Last of all, we decided to leave at 11:30 instead of noon check out time. We were done. Well guess what, knowone in office, it wad closed and no drop box for keys. So apparently your not allowed to leave early. Overall it was a pretty bad experience and the place is not ran well. I was disappointed.

  June 17th 2018

Review by Michelle on 6/18/18 3:11 PM

Stayed in a cabin for June 17th 2018. Father's day. Upon arrival was told by lady in office that they don't have grills, so we immediately left for walmart to purchase one. Once arriving at cabin guess what, there was a grill. So that was an instant waste of time and money. We was told the cabin next to us would not be rented due to problems so we could hang out on that side since it was grassy and ours was not, we needed grass since we had a 2 year old. Once again we was lied to. After that we went to the aqua park. It was fun, we asked the lifeguard on duty what time the regular po closed since the aqua park closes at 8. We were told the pool was own til 11pm. And GUESS WHAT, also a lie. When we settled in the cabin for the night only one person was ankle to take a shower because the drain was clogged. As we were leaving we had the maintenance guy approach us and ask how the shower was, we found that strange because we hadn't told them about it yet. We found out apparently they already knew. Well why wasn't it fixed before renting the cabin then. Last of all, we decided to leave at 11:30 instead of noon check out time. We were done. Well guess what, knowone in office, it wad closed and no drop box for keys. So apparently your not allowed to leave early. Overall it was a pretty bad experience and the place is not ran well. I was disappointed.

 One of the worst

Review by Aray  on 6/18/18 7:14 AM

I heard from a few people that this place was nice. My family and I decided to stay two nights there. First compliant, the girl escorts us to our campsite. This is where we find out, that the campsite is occupied by someone else. I had reservations for that spot and picked that particular spot for a reason. The guy moved because he couldn’t properly hook up to the sewer and because our site had a picnik table. I’m sitting there for about 15 minutes waiting for the girl to call me to see if it was okay to take that spot. Not only that, it was raining and had to pull my crying child out of the truck, since she had been in the vehicle long enough already. Furthermore, they told me to take his site, which was right next to mine. I’ve been camping for a long time and have never seen someone take someone’s spot. They never told the guy to move. Aprarently, you can do whatever you want at this campground and take other people’s reservations. Second complaint, I went down to the office in order to talk about what had happened. In hope of possibly getting some money refunded, or maybe a free night. I was informed that the GM wasn’t there and she could only deal with that. I was informed that I would hear from her the next day. The next day came and I didn’t hear anything from anyone. I went back down to the office and they said she would be down at my site today, so she could talk to me about the situation. No one came down and the next day I left. Third complaint, so since I couldn’t properly hook up to the sewer line, which wasn’t a big deal. Because I can have someone hold it to the pipe while I drain it. Well... come to find out that the sewer line was backed up, which made the black water go everywhere. I would not recommend this place nor to any of my friends.

 One of the worst

Review by Aray  on 6/18/18 7:13 AM

I heard from a few people that this place was nice. My family and I decided to stay two nights there. First compliant, the girl escorts us to our campsite. This is where we find out, that the campsite is occupied by someone else. I had reservations for that spot and picked that particular spot for a reason. The guy moved because he couldn’t properly hook up to the sewer and because our site had a picnik table. I’m sitting there for about 15 minutes waiting for the girl to call me to see if it was okay to take that spot. Not only that, it was raining and had to pull my crying child out of the truck, since she had been in the vehicle long enough already. Furthermore, they told me to take his site, which was right next to mine. I’ve been camping for a long time and have never seen someone take someone’s spot. They never told the guy to move. Aprarently, you can do whatever you want at this campground and take other people’s reservations. Second complaint, I went down to the office in order to talk about what had happened. In hope of possibly getting some money refunded, or maybe a free night. I was informed that the GM wasn’t there and she could only deal with that. I was informed that I would hear from her the next day. The next day came and I didn’t hear anything from anyone. I went back down to the office and they said she would be down at my site today, so she could talk to me about the situation. No one came down and the next day I left. Third complaint, so since I couldn’t properly hook up to the sewer line, which wasn’t a big deal. Because I can have someone hold it to the pipe while I drain it. Well... come to find out that the sewer line was backed up, which made the black water go everywhere. I would not recommend this place nor to any of my friends.

 One of the worst

Review by Aray  on 6/18/18 7:13 AM

I heard from a few people that this place was nice. My family and I decided to stay two nights there. First compliant, the girl escorts us to our campsite. This is where we find out, that the campsite is occupied by someone else. I had reservations for that spot and picked that particular spot for a reason. The guy moved because he couldn’t properly hook up to the sewer and because our site had a picnik table. I’m sitting there for about 15 minutes waiting for the girl to call me to see if it was okay to take that spot. Not only that, it was raining and had to pull my crying child out of the truck, since she had been in the vehicle long enough already. Furthermore, they told me to take his site, which was right next to mine. I’ve been camping for a long time and have never seen someone take someone’s spot. They never told the guy to move. Aprarently, you can do whatever you want at this campground and take other people’s reservations. Second complaint, I went down to the office in order to talk about what had happened. In hope of possibly getting some money refunded, or maybe a free night. I was informed that the GM wasn’t there and she could only deal with that. I was informed that I would hear from her the next day. The next day came and I didn’t hear anything from anyone. I went back down to the office and they said she would be down at my site today, so she could talk to me about the situation. No one came down and the next day I left. Third complaint, so since I couldn’t properly hook up to the sewer line, which wasn’t a big deal. Because I can have someone hold it to the pipe while I drain it. Well... come to find out that the sewer line was backed up, which made the black water go everywhere. I would not recommend this place nor to any of my friends.

 Dont do it

Review by Softball family on 6/18/18 5:41 AM

Place was terrible. Staff was not friendly. Lots had not been mowed. No picnic table. No trees. Pool was filthy Friday and brown after a small rain when we left on Sunday. Bathrooms were ok. Did not use the pond but it looked nice. Roads were muddy and full of pot holes. Over priced. DO NOT STAY HERE.

 Don’t do it

Review by Softball family on 6/18/18 5:40 AM

Place was terrible. Staff was not friendly. Lots had not been mowed. No picnic table. No trees. Pool was filthy Friday and brown after a small rain when we left on Sunday. Bathrooms were ok. Did not use the pond but it looked nice. Roads were muddy and full of pot holes. Over priced. DO NOT STAY HERE.

 Camping one day

Review by Tiff on 6/17/18 5:26 AM

This place was great. The staff was so kind. It's camping so I didn't have high expectations. But, the bathrooms weren't something I would shower in so I didn't want to stay more than one night. But the lake is awesome,the view was great and they even did a scavenger hunt for the kids.

 Camping one day

Review by Tiff on 6/17/18 5:26 AM

This place was great. The staff was so kind. It's camping so I didn't have high expectations. But, the bathrooms weren't something I would shower in so I didn't want to stay more than one night. But the lake is awesome,the view was great and they even did a scavenger hunt for the kids.

 Cabin

Review by NRH on 6/10/18 6:08 PM

Cabin was not cleaned before we got there, also before that we weren't even directed on where to go after checking in by staff. . So We find the cabin which isn't marked if it's #1 or #2 we just tried out key, and we had to clean up the cabin before we could settle in to it, the previous renters trash and food was still there, the place was quite filthy when we arrived, floors, sink toilet, all a mess..I was disappointed to say the least. But we ended up having some nice family time afterwards, we ended up leaving early bc of storms coming in. Probably wouldn't come stay again to be honest.

 Fun stay

Review by Momma of 3 on 6/10/18 9:18 AM

We had a great time with our 3 young kids. They loved the inflatables and the tie dye activity. Only downfall for us was the restroom/shower houses. I’m not a big camper so I don’t have much to compare it to- and I understand it’s camping- but, I felt they could have been nicer. Other than that- great place. We’ll likely be back.

 Terrible

Review by Unhappy guest on 6/5/18 9:18 AM

My family and 3 other families spent Memorial Weekend at this campground. The lake is what peaked our interest. However, when we arrived the check in, it was hot mess to the point I had to get my phone out and help calculate another families bill before I could even check in. I let that go then I arrived at my site to find grass up to my knees (this is a holiday weekend, you would think they would be ready). My friend found a mower in the shed and he mowed his lot an ours and I mowed my other friends lot. So all lots were in terrible condition with high grass and trash in all the fire rings but one. I discussed wit the office manager who said she would credit my account for mowing my spot but have not seen a credit yet. I tried to call again upon coming home and was told they would take care of it and asked me to hold. I waited for 10 minutes and finally hung up. I have call numerous times since the 29th and I have not received a call back. Terrible customer service and the worst campground I have ever stayed at. Do not book here the lake is not worth the terrible treatment of their guest.

 Terrible

Review by Unhappy guest on 6/5/18 9:18 AM

My family and 3 other families spent Memorial Weekend at this campground. The lake is what peaked our interest. However, when we arrived the check in, it was hot mess to the point I had to get my phone out and help calculate another families bill before I could even check in. I let that go then I arrived at my site to find grass up to my knees (this is a holiday weekend, you would think they would be ready). My friend found a mower in the shed and he mowed his lot an ours and I mowed my other friends lot. So all lots were in terrible condition with high grass and trash in all the fire rings but one. I discussed wit the office manager who said she would credit my account for mowing my spot but have not seen a credit yet. I tried to call again upon coming home and was told they would take care of it and asked me to hold. I waited for 10 minutes and finally hung up. I have call numerous times since the 29th and I have not received a call back. Terrible customer service and the worst campground I have ever stayed at. Do not book here the lake is not worth the terrible treatment of their guest.

 Memorial weekend

Review by Kim on 6/3/18 7:58 AM

We had a great time my family have come camping for 2 years Swimming an relaxing S’mores An everyone is so nice

 Memorial Day weekend

Review by Mary on 5/28/18 12:11 PM

I don’t even give them a 1 star. Most horrible ran campground I ever been to and we are campers who camp all summer. We and a bunch others reserved sites for this campground back in Dec , 2017 for Memorial Day weekend .for a travel ball tournament going on in the area. We all arrived Friday evening. One of our friends site wasn’t available because they rented it out to someone else. So we gave up one of our sites for them. A bunch of other people that had reservations that reserved back in February sites were not available as well so they all had to travel Friday night to some where else to find a campground because their sites were given away. After getting to our sites the grass was so high from not being mowed my husband ended up mowing the lawns in the sites. We even rented a cabin and had to mow the grass there. The cabin had not even been cleaned we had to throw the previous trash out. We all went to a ball game on Sunday and came back late and they told one of our friends that had to relive their Camper off the site because they had someone else that wanted the site. Our friends were like no we paid for 3 nights our friends even showed them their receipt and they said their receipt was wrong and even their car pass showed they were staying until Monday. But they removed them from the site anyways because they had som others they told could have it. Our friends went home because they were so peed off. Most of the sites are not well taken care of they are very ruff sites. I believe this place is out to rip people off.

 Memorial Day weekend

Review by Mary on 5/28/18 12:11 PM

I don’t even give them a 1 star. Most horrible ran campground I ever been to and we are campers who camp all summer. We and a bunch others reserved sites for this campground back in Dec , 2017 for Memorial Day weekend .for a travel ball tournament going on in the area. We all arrived Friday evening. One of our friends site wasn’t available because they rented it out to someone else. So we gave up one of our sites for them. A bunch of other people that had reservations that reserved back in February sites were not available as well so they all had to travel Friday night to some where else to find a campground because their sites were given away. After getting to our sites the grass was so high from not being mowed my husband ended up mowing the lawns in the sites. We even rented a cabin and had to mow the grass there. The cabin had not even been cleaned we had to throw the previous trash out. We all went to a ball game on Sunday and came back late and they told one of our friends that had to relive their Camper off the site because they had someone else that wanted the site. Our friends were like no we paid for 3 nights our friends even showed them their receipt and they said their receipt was wrong and even their car pass showed they were staying until Monday. But they removed them from the site anyways because they had som others they told could have it. Our friends went home because they were so peed off. Most of the sites are not well taken care of they are very ruff sites. I believe this place is out to rip people off.

 Cox

Review by Robin  on 5/27/18 8:19 PM

Don't ever stay here . We stayed and they gave my lot a way on one of are nights. Made us leave. Made use mow are lot. They have clue what is going on . And they don't deserve any stars................

 So-So

Review by TexasTraveler on 5/27/18 9:09 AM

The lake is full now, blow up slides and other toys were present. Sewer connection for campers was an open pipe. Water connection is 15" below ground (ok as freezing preventative) but ours was leaking, so we had to dig out mud, cut grass, water before we could connect. Manager stated "but the water is clean once you connect". It could be nice ... someday.

 The other reviews are true

Review by Unhappy camper on 9/18/16 6:59 AM

What other reviews have said are true. I was willing to give this place a try but I really regret doing so. The bathrooms are horrible and tiny. You can't shut the door while on the toilet. The showers were not clean. Soap with mold growing on it was in one shower. No soap or dispenser, paper towels or dispenser. We were the only ones camping on the tent side. We now know why. The other side isn't much better. Looks like people live year round on the camper side? Highly disappointed and will never return. I'm not sure why you would send this survey out to people and ask them to fill it out, this can't be getting you business. Oh, the firewood situation is a joke. Not allowed to bring your own wood in but you can buy a bag from them. $15 got us 3 pieces and over half a bag of bark.

 Nicegetaway

Review by Love it on 9/17/16 4:00 PM

We just bought a camper in June of 2016. Jackson Lake was our "trial run"because it was close to home. The staff there were very nice, and they made sure we knew how to hook up to the water and electric, and explained about the Lake, how they are improving the campground with a water park. We have camped there three times, and everytime we have enjoyed ourselves. I have read some of the reviews, and one of them said the road into the campground was dusty.....really? You are camping All I can say is we will be camping there frequently, as a matter of fact, we are on the waiting list for a permanent spot.

 Sooooo Disappointed. Will never return

Review by Memory Lane on 9/12/16 5:52 AM

My family used to camp at Jackson Lake as a child. It was clean and well maintained. 40 years later..... Very run down. High weeds, no lights above ladies restroom sink, Very dusty road, and buildings with exterior facing falling off. Our question is why spend money on a water park when there Is much greater needs. It appeared that the owners did not take pride In the campground. State parks are much nicer

 Camping at Jackson Lake

Review by Pissed off camp  on 8/2/16 10:34 PM

Wow this place was awful. Yea it says fishing with out a license of course you dont because there is no lake at Jackson Lake camp grounds. Plus when you pull in your rig is covered with mud from them digging out the lake that you dont have to have a license for, the shower rooms disgusting paint falling off in peices plus you had to listen to the beeping of the equipment till 9 pm they dont mow the very uneven site this place was atrocious. They dont tell you anything till you grab your poles to go fishing and there is no lake it stinks like dead fish, the flies terrible the pool was at deep end was 2 foot deep firewood was 20 bucks for small amount if you could even find afire ring and don't ask them to bring you one few picnic tables the place just sucked

 Disappointed Camper

Review by NatureLovinMama on 7/18/16 9:26 AM

This place was a dump. The "Lake" was a big empty pit which they do not advertise on their website. No discounted rate for that. The bath houses were disgusting-people would never shut the door behind them so it was full of bugs. The stalls were so small, we couldn't shut them while sitting on the toilet. Primitive campsites were so hard, we couldn't drive tent stakes into the ground. The "pool" was a wading pool and crowded. The buildings looked dilapidated-siding falling off, paint chipping, and an old trailer for the main office. $10 for a small bundle of firewood and $20 for a large seemed expensive to me when you can buy a bundle at Kroger for around $5. Quiet time is not enforced. We did not sleep at all the 2 nights we were there-screaming kids, loud adults, and loud cars. The one positive thing I can say about this sorry excuse for a campground is that the staff we encountered were quite friendly.

 Serene, peace and memories!

Review by The Gaines Family  on 7/18/16 8:05 AM

Our family really enjoyed this place. We stayed 6 nights in a two week period. When we made reservations, the park e-mailed us immediately to inform us the lake had been drained in preparation for a water park and had the option to cancel our reservations. Also, our camper needed some repairs and the park let us keep our camper at the campsite, free of charge, until we could get it fixed. Great staff that monitors the activities of the park to ensure the safety of the other guests. The pool was not very deep, however, kids don't care, as long as it's cool and wet! Can't wait to come back when the aqua park is finished. Really enjoyed our time here. Thanks you for your hospitality!

 BAD

Review by Nohappycamperhere on 7/17/16 6:44 PM

Would not go back. Bath house and showers outdated. Trash overflowing the dumpsters. Just a wading pool. And the lake was a mud hole. We were told new owners are going to make improvements. Give them a couple years. Expensive firewood.

 awful place

Review by TC on 7/17/16 6:16 AM

Made reservations for July 9th via the campground website based on the pictures of a beautiful lake and refreshing swimming pool. arrived with swimming attire and full fishing gear in tow, expecting to live the life of pure R&R...... NOT! the "lake" was just a large disgusting mud hole! and the pool was covered with a tarp, so the only swimming was the thigh deep kiddie pool! They didn't even discount their fee to try to make up for the FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!

 July 4th weekend

Review by AT*HIKERS on 7/12/16 12:58 PM

Our extended family traveled from Eastern PA to visit our son/brother family who live near columbus and spent the weekend at the campground. We reserved 4 sites and our extended family had an awesome weekend with such happy memories.

 The lake with no lake

Review by Unhappycamper on 7/8/16 11:16 AM

We drove out to Jackson lake in the beginning of June to look at the facilities and see if we wanted to camp here. It was beautiful and quiet and seemed perfect for the $25 price to prim camp. My son could fish and swim, we could have our nights by campfire. We made our reservation for the end of the month. Once that date came we showed up to check in and got our site and proceeded into the campground. That once beautiful lake we saw weeks before was now a dry lake bed. It was gone. The whole reason for camping here was for the lake access. They said nothing about it when we checked in and it was also not mentioned on their website. Hell, they didn't even discount the price for lack of amenities. The bathrooms were atrocious and our quiet night turned into one in the morning screaming children with their parents to follow. Completely disappointed and will NEVER rent from here again.

 june camping

Review by pt on 7/7/16 12:14 PM

We were scheduled to stay 4 nights, only stayed 2. There were no numbers on the camp site we had. We counted back on the map to be sure we were on the right sight. There was no picnic table or fire ring, grass had not been cut in some time. Sewer connection was broken. Swimming pool did look clean but we did not use it. Price was good.