Reviews for CLARE-MAR LAKES CAMPGROUND

WELLINGTON, Ohio

 Best camp ground around, awesome people

Review by Red & Dan on 9/22/16 12:29 AM

If you want a camp ground that's clean, beautiful, magical, with great family owners this is it. I never want to leave when I camp here. It's truly magical and an escape from this chaotic world. Here you'll forget it for awhile, 10 stars !!

 Heard Things!

Review by Bugsie on 9/20/16 6:31 AM

I had heard a lot of Good and Bad things about this place, so I thought I would go check it out for myself! Wow, was I disappointed! I used to camo there as a younger adult and was very impressed, BUT IT HAS GONE DOWNHILL! THIER Mowers must not be working, the Staff must have all gotten Fired because the old camp sights were in shambles! They must have left in a Hurry and didn't clean up. And the Staff didn't care! Plus I had heard about the electric problems, well after talking to one of the worker's, they told me that it was LMRE's FAULT! Well that didn't account for all of the old wires laying around! A Lady confronted me when I was checking out the old wires and asked is I was going to check them to make sure that they were safe! I told her that I was just checking the place out. Well, she wasn't happy, said she had asked the owner to please clean the old wires up because she had Grandkids come out and play on the weekends and was concerned about thier safety! The main guy said, "I'm sure it's OK"! WTF??!!!!! Plus I had talked to many of the "Regulars" there, and they said that they were going to be leaving after the season was over! BAD REVIEW , SORRY , BUT DIDN'T ENJOY MYSELF!

 Loud like living in the middle of the city

Review by Wow on 10/12/15 9:09 AM

We camped here on Halloween weekend, the grounds are beautiful the staff were nice and polite, most seasonal campers were rude. Loud and very unfriendly,, they had very loud music playing from the time we for there until 1 am in the morning when my daughter finally called a emergency number because her young children couldn't sleep! They drove golf carts while drinking all through the campgrounds what seemed like they were flying. I know now why I respect state parks, the quiet time is strictly enforced. The noise level here was like living in the city. Halloween Saturday was nice it rained out a little damper on it. The ball was great. They did a great job with it. The kids were friendly with my granddaughters but the adults were not. ( I do try and be friendly and talk to people) so I guess that's it, I didn't use the bathrooms as we have a camper but overall I would maybe try it here again, but it's camping folks to me it's sit around the fire listen for the creatures or the acoustic guitar sitting around the fire! We couldn't even hear each other talk thanks to the regulars! Peace

 Beautiful Location...

Review by GG on 10/12/15 7:34 AM

Went for the Halloween Weekend. Other than the rain, we had a good time. We were to have a pull thru site and in a virtually empty area, there was already a seasonal camper so my husband had to back into the site. The guy came out of the camper and happened to be a family member of the campground and told us we could move over a few sites if we wanted. Not sure why we weren't given the pull thru in the beginning but it all worked out. The price was right. Didn't use the bathroom facilities so I can't comment on that. Was disappointed that the website said there was a game room and there wasn't. Also there was no store. It was a beautiful area!

 us

Review by Us on 8/31/15 7:04 AM

I feel this is a beautiful place to stay at> The downside of this place is the REGULAR campers here are arrogant and rude. Come on people your living at a campground where most people are coming to enjoy for their weekend getaway from work and home. The store and bathrooms should be better but this is a beautiful place and the owners do everything in their power to make your stay one of the best. I will be going back often.

 NOTE TO SERIOUSLY DISAPPOINTED

Review by campers on 8/16/15 11:33 AM

IF A CAMPER IS HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THEIR NEIGHBOR CAMPERS, IT SEEMS TO ME IT SHOULD BE REPORTED SO THE OWNERS CAN CONTROL THE SITUATION BY A WARNING OR ASKING THEM TO LEAVE. IF NOTHING IS SAID, ITS NOT FAIR TO JUDGE THEM. MENTIONING TO THEM ABOUT THE RESTROOMS OR SUGGESTING TO THEM TO ADD MORE TO THEIR CAMP STORE WOULD SEEM TO ME BE THE BETTER WAY. THE BACK SIDE OF THE CAMPGROUND HAS LARGE SPACES AND QUIET, PEACEFULL. EVERYTHING YOU ARE LOOKING FOR. THE FRONT SIDE SEEMS A LITTLE MORE PARTY GOERS. YOU CANT HEAR THEM IN THE BACK. WE LOVE IT. IM 67 . IM NOT SURE ABOUT THE RESTROOMS SINCE WE HAV A CAMPER. YOU SHOULD GIVE IT ANOTHER CHANCE. PLUS, REMEMBER YOU ARE NOT PAYING HIGH END PRICES. YOU ARE GETTING YOUR MONIES WORTH.

 CAMPGROUND AREAS

Review by CAMPSITES LARGE AND ACCOMIDATING on 8/16/15 11:17 AM

CAMPSITES ON THE BACKSIDE LARGE FOR OUR 33 foot camper. easy to get in and out. may not have full hook-up but was fine with water and 50 amp sites. landscaping kept up. We have stayed on both lake areas. front seems crowded too much smoke when everyone has fires goinf. back around sites 479 a lot less crowding no smoke baxk ups. great for pets. Quiet and peacefull in the back area. tent sites look great too. plenty room for our slideouts. Our boxers love it there.

 lakefront escape

Review by disappointed on 8/10/15 1:33 PM

Although someone came in and "cleaned" the place, the carpet was SOOOO stained we could not believe it... it also stunk to high heaven. I know it's a pet friendly cabin so would expect a stain here or there, but I'd also expect them to steamclean that carpet a couple times a year. Stanley steemer came out and steam cleaned the entire bottom floor of our colonial home last month for only $100...Now for the kicker --- I'm honestly NOT making this up. Our dog (9 year old cattle dog), would NOT lay on the carpet in the main room. instead he stayed between us on the couch. he would lay on the carpet in the bedroom but not the living room. the stench drove us out 24 hours early... Doug in Wellington....

 Filthy and Broken

Review by WandaBoo on 8/10/15 1:33 PM

We stayed in the "lodge" for 2 nights and half of the things in there were broken. The electrical outlets didn't all work, the screens were broken in some windows, and the worst part was we noticed that the toilet drains out underneath the cabin and runs down into the river. We noticed an odd smell when sitting near the cabin and when we investigated we found that the toilet wasn't hooked up to the sewer system!!! The good points were that the place is pet friendly and the seasonal campers were very friendly.

 Great in off-season, only in cabins

Review by JHolmes on 7/16/15 8:01 AM

This place has potential if someone would just tap into it. The cabin we stayed in 242 and 240 were practically brand new and they FAR exceeded our expectations. However, for the price they are charging I expected other things at the camp ground to not be so ghetto. The beach is no beach, it's basically a large pong that has no sand, but someone did till up the mudd anyways to make it seem like sand. Sounds alot cheaper to just buy some sand, it's a cheap product and would immensely increase the joy of the beach there. In the "lake" there was a free standing platform with three diving boards, all of which were removed. The thing was a death trap. Camp store is horrible and as everyone has been saying on here for a decade, the bathrooms are terrible.

 4th of July 2015

Review by Christy on 7/12/15 7:02 AM

We returned to CML for the second time and enjoyed our stay. They have fun events for kids and adults. Bingo was fun, except all the smokers, we had to keep moving. My suggestion is to post signs that smokers should be so many feet from the Pavilion, same thing for when bands are playing. We could not sit in there :( The restrooms need some serious updating, and some of the old and rusted playground equipment should be removed. Could use more playground equipment too. The beach looked sketchy so no swimming for our families. A pool would be nice. The pull thru sites are set up odd, you can get blocked in by the campsite opposite of you. Not to mention the electrical is on the same pole and below the water spickets ??? Water and electric don't mix. Last year they had "phases " posted for improvements, what happened? Lastly, the people walking around and driving golf carts WHILE DRINKING needs to be addressed. Operating the golf carts would be considered DWI in Ohio and it's almost promoted there. We would most likely come back, but not recommend it to others.

 Seriously disappointed

Review by K4Kampers on 7/5/15 9:43 AM

We were planning to stay at Clare-Mar over Memorial weekend for three nights. Suffice it to say, we left a day early. The reasons for this are as follows. The camp store is nearly empty and dirty. My husband described it as something you would see in a "Walking Dead" episode. Rules are definitely not adhered to: "No alcohol off-campsite," "no dogs off-leash," and the biggest joke - "Quiet Hours." The main reason for our early departure was seasonal campers throwing a huge party, blasting music, screaming, swearing, and culminating in a near-brawl outside our camper at 4:00 a.m. Do I need to even address the oft-mentioned deplorable bathroom/shower facilities? After our return home, I found reviews online dating back to 2006 where these same complaints were mentioned repeatedly. There has been NO improvement. The showers were dirty and there is no privacy. The restroom by our campsite (site 158) had only one functioning men's toilet. The other had apparently been out of commission for some time as it was full of garbage and dead leaves. Someone threw something at our truck, denting the hood. There was very little in the way of activities for teenagers. One of the few scheduled activities that weekend was bingo. However, this too was ruined by a group of drunk (alcohol in hand) middle-aged "children" dropping the F-bomb and making lewd comments with children present. (See above rule about off-site drinking). I guess if your goal in staying here is to be drunk and disorderly, by all means reserve a spot. If, however, you want a peaceful place to bring your kids, I'd recommend finding another destination. The only reason we are giving even a single star rating is because the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

 lakefront escape

Review by nay on 6/11/15 2:16 PM

When we pulled to the gate the girl tried to charge me double what I owed her. After I thought she understood the price she still charged my credit card the wrong price. I think u need an adult checking people in and not a teenager. The toilet almost overflowed so we had to have them come out and empty the tank. The carpeting was disgusting and needs to be ripped out or scrubbed thoroughly. The cereal bowls looked like a dog had chewed on them. Its a shame too because it is such a nice location right on the lake. For the price I expected something a little better taken care of.

 Disappointed

Review by Passingthru on 6/5/15 3:59 PM

Had a pull-thru and had to back into it. I thought a pull-thru was just that - NOT here. Shared the 'site' with a second rig. Bath and showers are terrible. Doesn't look like even minimal maintenance is done. Camp store is a joke - open only Sat and Sun - even on a holiday weekend. Roads are bad - dust everywhere; got home and had to clean from top to bottom to get the dust out. Staff is VERY friendly. Great campground for walking, Seasonals were friendly. Doubt if we would ever return - too many other nicer sites available elsewhere.

 Love Campground

Review by J & K Avenger on 6/3/15 11:04 AM

I just want to say that we camped at Clar Mar Lakes this past Memorial Weekend, and we had such a lovely time. This was our second time and we had friends come visit and they had a good time. I loved the band at the pavilion, and golf cart riding around the beautiful lakes, and dog friendly. The restrooms do need improving, but they were stocked daily with bathroom tissue and cleaned. The handles did stick, but I always unstuck them. We have a shower in our trailer so I can't comment on that, but overall we will be back to camp, because we love the campground. Thank you for such a wonderful time.

 Awful restrooms

Review by BigPoppa&MommaSkinny on 6/2/15 6:41 PM

WE HAVE BEEN COMING TO CMLC OFF AND ON FOR SEVERAL YEARS. OUR VERY GOOD FRIENDS INTRODUCED US TO YOUR CAMPGROUND, WHICH THEY'VE BEEN COMING TO OFF & ON FOR OVER 40 YEARS SINCE THEY WE KIDS. I CAN SAY THAT WE HAVE NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES WITH THE WATER/ELECTRIC HOOKUP CAMPSITES; SPACIOUS, GOOD FIRE RINGS, PLENTY OF SHADE. ALTHOUGH THE LAKE CLEAN UP PROJECT HAD AN EXTREMELY POSITIVE EFFECT, THE RESTROOM/SHOWERS AND CAMPSTORE CONTINUE TO BE AN ISSUE!!! THE RESTROOMS ARE ATROCIOUS AND LOOOOONG OVERDUE FOR AN UPGRADE!! ADDITIONALLY, THE ROADWAY BEHIND US IN THE "600" CAMPSITE AREA FLOODED SEVERAL TIMES FROM WHAT APPEARED TO BE THE OVERFLOWING SHOWER HOUSE SEPTIC TANK. I COULD SEE WHY THIS HAPPENED AS ALL TOILET FLUSH FOOT PEDALS THERE WOULD STICK IN THE "FLUSH/ON" POSITION CONTINUALLY FLUSHING UNLESS YOU TOOK TIME TO LIFT PEDAL BACK UP. ADDITONALLY, THE CAMP STORE WAS BEAR AS USUAL WHICH HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE CASE SINCE WE STARTED COMING HERE. UNFORTUNATELY, THIS WILL BE OUR LAST VISIT UNTIL WORD GETS OUT THAT AT LEAST SOME SHOWER HOUSE UPGRADES HAVE TAKEN PLACE.

 Shower Beware

Review by Happy Mrs. on 6/1/15 5:02 PM

My husband and I went camping for the first time at Clare-Mar Lakes Memorial weekend. The park was beautiful and we had a really good time at the scheduled activities. The only thing i can see that needs serious help are the bathrooms and shower houses. They were very old and gross. They had a see through shower curtain that they ripped in halved that did not cover the entire door way and gave you NO privacy. Grateful that I have a shower in my camper. We will camp there again-but beware of the showers and bathrooms. P.S. the best part is that there dog friendly.

 it's all good

Review by Happy trails to you on 9/29/14 7:58 AM

we attended the Rythem of Life festival . Loved the park and such a Beeyutiful setting for the ROLFest. We WILL be back expecting the park to be just as nice.It's all good

 beautiful spacious campground

Review by Kitty on 9/16/14 10:09 PM

I think Clare-Mar Lakes is a beautiful campground. I camped as a child and just started going there again in the past two years. I had fun playing bingo and everyone is friendly. Depending on the size of your RV you may have to find and pick a spot if they are not too crowded. Most of the sites I feel are adequate size. It was very quiet and peaceful there. I camped both times in September. I guess the only bad part was is that I did not catch any Fish:(

 awful experience

Review by awful  on 9/9/14 7:29 AM

my wife and I have a 30 foot travel trailer, we were in "the woods" section you absolutely can NOT get that size camper in the spot we were given I had to turn my camper around , meaning had to back it up through the campground just so I could back into the spot, I also had to put my truck into 4wd just to get the camper into the site. the water hook ups are at the front of the campsite, had to drive into town and purchase another length of hose just so we could have water. appeared as though most campsites in this section are seasonal most are not kept up, bathrooms were awful , outdated , toilet had a bungee cord to bring the foot pedal back? didnt even venture to the shower house so who knows? then the next day, the power went out? evidently a transformer failed. in general the campgound was in need of alot of maintenance, our campsite had alot of stumps? I will say that we rode our bikes though the campground and found the meadows sections were quite nice. the camp store was a TOTAL JOKE.

 Great Weekend!

Review by adamsqhc on 9/8/14 12:51 PM

Stayed Labor Day Weekend. Had a great time. Was welcomed by some full time campers, all very nice. Was glad to see us come in. Love how each campsite has there own dock. It was very quiet where we were did hear the band and they were great. It was good to see the campground has lots of activities for the campers. Seemed to be very well kept EXCEPT the shower houses. Quite awful!! Why have they not remodeled?????? That should be a must on the list. No reason for a campground this size to have such horrible shower houses. Overall was a great time! We will return!

 blast

Review by great weekend on 9/8/14 9:46 AM

My family and I rented lot 94 camper it was great fully stocked nice deck fire ring good size lot very clean. Kids had a great time I do recommend the hayride go the whole length of the grounds .it was a wonderful getaway with the family and we do plan on future returns. Thank you clare mar.

 Fun weekend!

Review by Donna and Michael on 8/24/14 9:25 AM

We drove 6 hours to visit friends at Clare-Mar. The cabin that we rented, 242, was clean, adequately stocked, and comfortable! Plenty of hot water and the camper toilet worked fine. We rented a paddle boat and drove our friends' golf cart all around. We have no complaints!

 Stay away

Review by cooldaddyo on 8/10/14 9:43 PM

I won a complimentary weekend at the RV show but I have no compliments. The experience started out on the wrong path with the registration where I was asked for the confirmation card for the free weekend. I did not realize I needed the card considering we were contacted initially and it was obvious your records showed I received the complimentary stay. The person at the gate was not sympathetic so I was charged for two nights plus one extra child ($84). This was just the start of a very disappointing evening. When we got to the campsite (252), we spent 15 minutes raking up all the garbage. We were also disturbed by the young people down the hill who were obviously intoxicated, playing very loud music. Then they set off what I believe was an M-80 ordinance (small bomb). Our opinion of the campground at this point is not positive. The bathrooms were no better and I was concerned that they were not hygienic. In addition, we were shocked by the neglected condition of the seasonal residents’ equipment. It is obvious to us that the campers do not follow the rules and that many, including quiet hours, only families being permitted on sites and the use of drugs and open containers of alcohol (I witnessed a couple smoking marijuana at the lake) were not “strictly enforced” as stated. We came for the Balloon Fest which, unfortunately and not within anyone’s control, was rained out. Since we did not consider the campground to have any redeeming qualities, we choose to not stay the second night and take the loss. It should have been more obvious to me that the No Refund sign at the check-in gate was there for an obvious reason. Based on the marketing materials, my expectations were much higher; the reality is the campground did not come close to living up to them. I would suggest spending less on marketing and more on facilities. I will never return and will not recommend it to anyone looking for a campground.

 Deck was awesome

Review by Phoebe on 7/29/14 7:34 AM

Staff was wonderful - always there to help. The "cabin" we stayed in was not too good. They said it had been cleaned, but it just looked filthy. The carpet in the main living area was so spotted I couldn't look down because every time I did, I just wanted to leave. However, what kept me there was the fantastic deck and view of the two lakes. It was so quiet and serene at 6:00 in the morning. My cat and I sat out there watching the sunset every morning. If the carpet cold be replaced and the rotting wood at the sliding door and the bedroom door could shut right and the screen was fixed, it would be a perfect place.

 Wanted to fish but couldn't

Review by beenthere on 7/13/14 11:10 PM

We came to tent camp. The site we had was nice. No complaints there. Tons of bathrooms in the area. The bathhouse does need updated but it was clean. For the most part we enjoyed our stay. We really wanted to fish, but unfortunatley there was too much seaweed in the lake. We ended up driving down the road to fish. The swimming area was covered in seaweed as well, but the kids swam anyways. They do say they are improving the water areas, so I would come back and stay again in the future. It has potential to be a really nice campground.

 5/23/2014

Review by naturelovers on 6/3/14 11:26 AM

The campgrounds are nice but there's no full hook-ups. The restrooms/shower are old and not the cleanest. I would recommend remodeling them for campers who rely on using the facilities.

 IMPROVEMENTS

Review by PULL THRU on 6/3/14 6:58 AM

CLARE-MAR IS A BEAUTIFUL PLACE, HOWEVER THEY HAVE NO ORGANIZATION IN THE EVENTS THEY DO. THE LIFE GUARD IF YOU COULD FIND HER IN THE CROWD HAD NO AUTHORITY THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN 2 LIFEGUARDS FOR THE CROWD. THE STORE NEEDS A MAJOR OVERHAUL AND THE WORST FACTOR OF THE PLACE WAS THE BATHHOUSE( HA HA) THE JOKE WAS ON US. THEY ARE IN DESPERATE NEED OF BEING TORN DOWN AND REMODELED THEY WERE HORRIBLE FOR A CAMPGROUND WITH NO FULL HOOK UPS THE BATHHOUSE/BATHROOMS SHOULD BE MODERN AND CLEAN AND BIGGER

 nice place

Review by schaufymom on 6/2/14 8:01 AM

Clare-mar lakes is a beautiful campground with the lakes! The only complaint I have is the showerhouse/restrooms. They need upgraded badly! The toilets are rv type and always clog and gross. Being we didnt have full hook up we needed to use the bathrooms more than usual. Also when we were leaving at 11am, pretty much the time most were pullimg out, they gad a truck at the dump station pumping it out as a line formed waiting. This should have been done at a less busy time. I hope they upgrade the showerhouses because the park its self is so nice!

 Beautiful 'lil Cabin Rental

Review by mzyb on 4/9/14 10:10 PM

The staff was extremely friendly as we arrived a little later than expected. The cabin was even more beautiful than I expected. We were there in the "off season", but even then there were non-water activities on the weekend. I highly recommend this place!

 Staying at Clare-Mar

Review by Ladyj on 10/18/13 8:58 AM

We have been to clare-mar quite a few times and this year was the worst. We camp in a 39ft RV, the electricity there is atrocious and we were without A/C when it was in the 80s. The next time we went the site we were on did not have a gravel pad and we had to be pulled out after the rain with the tractor and the back hoe. The good thing about Clare-Mar is their staff is awesome. We will go back next year and hopefully thing will be better

 Sept 19th to Sept 22nd, 2013

Review by Scubadog on 10/1/13 10:12 AM

I rented one of the park trailers through the website for the Rhythm of Life musical festival. Check in was easy enough although they issued the wrong keys and I had to go back and get the right ones. I was not able to get a cell phone signal, but I connected to wifi and was able to send messages through gmail. The trailer I rented was an older and had an Audiovox cassette player and microwave. It looked like the stove had not been used in some time so I decided not to use it either. The Audiovox microwave worked so I used it for cooking and heating water. The small coffee maker overflowed because the filter screen didn't work so I had quite a mess to clean up the first morning. The whole unit seemed clean enough but had a very uncomfortable mattress. The flat screen TV worked, water worked, flush toilet, and shower worked. Water was tepid warm. I was glad to have rented it though because there was a huge rain storm the 2nd time and my tent would have floated away in that. The campground seemed nice enough but the lake was atrocious with litter, bottles and cans. That marred a pretty decent camping weekend. Pack it in and Pack it out.

 Sep 2013

Review by Jim on 9/22/13 6:16 AM

This is mostly a residential campground, we arrived with two campers and had an enjoyable weekend. The bath houses and showers leave a lot to be desired but we had bath rooms in our campers and used them. A lot of campers don't want to use their campers but that's what they are there for so I say enjoy them.

 nice sites

Review by dance mom on 9/9/13 10:16 AM

The sites are nice and grassy.But the bathrooms really need to be updated. The bathhouse by us only had one working shower and that one had hardly any water pressure. Also the rule of keeping booze on campsites wasn't followed very good by seasonals or anyone.

 Clare-Mar Campground

Review by Keri on 7/22/13 2:02 AM

West side of the lake was very nice with level gravel sites. Beach area was GROSS !!!! Duck droppings all over the place. Would be a very nice beach if camp would clean up each morning. Showers were OK...... somewhat clean but, my sons g/f had to wait til I was done showing so she had hot water. toilet area was clean...... Very quiet on the west side of the lake which was nice plus for us.... We would stay there again....

 4th of July weekend

Review by Jewels on 7/15/13 7:36 PM

Had a blast to spite all the rain we had. Been camping here for 45 years & never had a problem. Only thing we were on a low site that caused a river to run thru it. Will get a higher site next time. Thank God for the camper. The baths are clean but are in need of a remodel. Nice to know they are finally having concerts here. The prices are responsible & the staff is very friendly.

 LOVE LOVE LOVE

Review by viking 18 on 7/15/13 9:35 AM

CAME IN 4TH OF JULY WEEKEND. RAIN. LOTS OF IT. BUT HAD A FREAKIN' BLAST. THE BANDS WERE PHENOMINAL! THIS WILL BE OUR NEW HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!! BUT PLEASE.....WITH ALL DUE RESPECT, PLEASE RESTOCK YOUR STORE.

 July 4th weekend

Review by BLACK SHEPARD on 7/15/13 12:29 AM

We came camping on the weekend of the 4th. So bummed weather ruined the outside part of red solo cup...but wow what a great band UNCLE LUMPY AND THE BACKYARD BAND IS!! We thought the grounds were beautiful. Employees so friendly!! The bath house was right by our sight; yeah i couldn't bring myself to utilize it. I was sooo thankful i was in a camper. They were kept very clean...numerous times a day till dark! But i think a remodel is in order. Just kind of gross. But caught 7 large mouth bass between my husband, son and I. That was fun!! Disappointed the store looked like it was going out of business. Very barren. And I liked how we received a red bag with area info and such...but with the restaurants listed it would help to have their phone numbers. Also...NO ONE delivers pizza to the campground!! Disappointing. :( but had an awesome 3 nights, met some wonderful people!! Looking forward to making reservation for balloon weekend( which is our son's birthday). Hope the weather permits!! :) thank you for a great time and see you soon!!

 Tent City

Review by BUG on 7/14/13 3:13 PM

Had great time 4th of july even though it rained all weekend, great place to camp, do it every year, only down side is not having porta potty cleaned every day, so i walk to the bathrooms, will return again, sorry about the ruts.

 Big Blue Truck

Review by Big Blue Truck on 7/14/13 9:28 AM

We went for the weekend of July 4th and had a blast even though it rained..We loved the Red Solo Cup festivities we can't wait for next year....Also we want to thank all of the campers who helped with my sons Big Blue truck....Thank you all for your generosity.....Had A Blast...Will be doing it again soon....

 CAMPING TRIP

Review by Christine Farrell on 7/13/13 2:24 PM

We came to camp during the 4th of July weekend and had a great time despite the rain!!! We just love it here. There is so much to do and everyone is so friendly. We actually used to have our trailer parked here but do to our work schedules it made it hard for us to use on a regular basis so of course we would think of no where else to go but back here....plus my sister is here and many friends that we made over the two years we spent here....we miss being here but will always come back to camp!

 Be aware!

Review by Daisyann on 6/29/13 3:50 PM

1) We took our 7 year-old granddaughter with us to camp for a few days during the week while her parents were working and were very disappointed to find after we got there that you can only swim when a lifeguard is on duty and there is none during the week! 2) We had GREAT difficulty backing our fifth wheel into our site as a tree had been planted right next to the narrow gravel "pad" and the roadway though most of the campground is just wide enough for your car/truck. Even though it was a "driver side" back in the tree was TOO close and our truck had to use the grassy area across from our site to accomplish the back in thus leaving ruts which we were upset about! Later as we rode our bikes through the campground we found that this "tree problem" was at a lot of sites! 3) Also if you intend to use the bathroom/shower house (elec. & water hookup at sites but no sewer hookups) be aware they leave a lot to be desired! Fairly clean but definitely in need of doors! And the squeezed in sink is a scream! 4) On the positive side.... the check in was easy and the personnel was polite. During check in, they gave us brochures about places nearby like a laundromat, restaurants, etc. and upcoming events in the area. Also they do have a security keycard system that was nice.

 Fish Day

Review by Pastor Bob on 6/20/13 12:28 PM

Brought our church group out (55 people) to Clare -Mar Lakes Campground for weekend in early June for a Family Fishing Day. The staff was extremely friendly and went the extra mile to accommodate us. Based on our experience we are considering using Clare-Mar Lakes Campground once again next year to host this event. Enjoy! Pastor Bob