Reviews for Chilliwack Valley Campsites

chilliwack, British Columbia

 Thurston Meadows

Review by Karen the Camper on 2/28/24, 1:06 AM

I had a wonderful experience camping at Thurston Meadows over the last Family Day long weekend. The hosts are wonderful, I will be back for sure!

 Nice & rustic

Review by Javahead on 10/21/23, 9:44 AM

There was some confusion on our reservation. When I booked I had some website issues and I had to try a couple of times. When I did book...it only had me for one night instead of 2 for the weekend, but i had paid for the 2 nights which is automaticfor the weekend. I contacted the group via email and got it fixed. But low & behold Saturday early afternoon the host stopped by saying that we were supposed to be gone. I explained the situation and after a couple minutes the host was fine. The hosts are very nice. I do wish that they had a better way of showing the campsite numbers. We had a double site and the picnic table that had the site number on it was behind the unmarked table. Also, the numbers are hard to read. Its a great campground, especially if you want to disconnect as reception is super spotty. Great fishing & a great place to ATV or dirt bike. We will be back.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 10/25/23, 5:30 PM

When reserving in the future please remember the out date is the day you are leaving. It does state this on the web site

 tent only

Review by kweyn on 10/15/23, 10:34 PM

their website should state that this campsite a not a drive in campsite. only great for people who loves to fish.

 Chipmunk

Review by Andrew on 10/7/23, 1:33 AM

Fantastic campsite location with great campsites. Not overcrowded at all even during max capacity. Out in the woods so it's a real camping experience that not many know of. Would definitely come back again!!

 Thurston meadows

Review by B on 9/30/23, 9:41 PM

Stayed in a double site, which was no bigger than the regular. We were a site away from an outhouse and oh my, it stank so bad we were could barely breathe. They need to maintain those more. And garbage disposal would be good. Also need a running water tap for washing dishes etc for tent campers

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 10/9/23, 8:31 PM

Sorry but it is impossible to put in running water..there is water from the river you can use for dishes, outhouses..they are outhouses nothing you can do about the smell especially in the summer or when they are used alot

 Vee

Review by Der on 9/17/23, 1:47 AM

We absolutely love booking the Foley group site. The Rangers are amazing and the site is fantastic. The pups love the creek flowing down to the river for swimming, and the fact that we can leave them off lead for the whole weekend makes it absolutely the best. The Rangers that oversee the site have become family we will definitely miss them going forward

 Great place to camp but not so nice generators

Review by Lovetocamp on 9/13/23, 10:47 AM

We love camping at Tamahi Rapids, but this last long weekend was very annoying. We had a trailer beside us that had an onboard older generator (added by them), which they ran from 6pm - 10pm each night. Right beside our picnic table, constant noise, loud, fumes while we were trying to eat and on one night had to get the camp host to ask them to turn it off at 10:15pm because it was still going. They allow generator use from 8am-10pm without restrictions. That needs to change. Good camping neighbours only run their generator for a couple of hours at a time, not 4+ each and every day.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 9/13/23, 6:15 PM

generator hours are from 8am to 10 pm when needed they are not to be run all d2ay just enough to charge the batteries This would be the fault of the camp host not going to tell them to shut it off

 Thurston meadows

Review by Debo on 9/11/23, 6:43 PM

Been coming to Thurston meadows for 2 years now. Very tidy, quiet and clean. Host is great. Booking must be done at least 4 days in advance, not sure why. No return of emails or phone messages even when an emergency arises you cannot get a refund. Not once in 2 years have we ever got the over 65 rate weather we reserve or not. Site overall is great just needs a system tune up.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 9/12/23, 6:34 PM

Please read the reservation and refund policy. Also, there are no senior rates on reservations or certain sites in the campgrounds. You have to book the 4 days in advance so the sites do not get over booked, some come in for first come first serve and if the site is available, not reserved then they can go into that site that is why it is an advanced booking

 Amazing

Review by Darlene on 9/10/23, 2:13 PM

Just came back from Tamahi campsite. Shear luck in finding a camping spot 1 week before the long weekend...We had booked but the camping site we did book we were not able to go to so got a refund..THANKING the universe we found this camp ground. We will definitely be camping there many more times for sure. very clean and well kept. You feel very comfortable as it is private. Had some great neighbors also.

 Amazing place

Review by Randy  on 9/7/23, 1:04 AM

We stay at least once a year at Foley Group site. It’s one of the most amazing places in BC to camp and ride anything Off Road. Tons of trails, amazing nature and it’s right next to the river. My only suggestion is that they add a one week minimum reservation during peak times. It’s such a great value already and there is nothing worse than trying to book a full 7 day week only to see everyone has hooked 2 day weekends so you can’t have a week.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 9/21/23, 12:29 AM

Reservations open Jan. 1 of each year to book for the season for group sites

 Chipmunk

Review by Rob on 9/3/23, 8:51 AM

Many years of camping here and we've never had any issues. Campsite hosts are great and respectful. Online reservation system super easy to use. Always looking forward to our next visit.

 Wild fires

Review by Unhappy on 9/3/23, 1:54 AM

Called chilliwack campground after the wife had sent numerous emails stating that the local wildlife s were making the air quality so bad we didn't want to risk our health camping there,anyway there was no answer, I have heard nothin, no refund, no credit back ,nothing The air quality on the day of our camping was "risk to health" Yet still no sympathy, not even a response to my call Super disappointed I won't be going back

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 9/6/23, 2:03 PM

Please read our cancellation policy. There were no messages left on the phone from you. And no wildfires in our area and the sky was clear of smoke

 summer23

Review by summertraveler on 8/31/23, 8:04 AM

there should be a monitored gargabe disposal and a seperate doggy waster receptacle. there was dog poop everywhere and doggy bags just thrown along the river sides and trails because of it. i would bring my gargabe to the main entrance , at least the food waste should be considered.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 9/1/23, 8:04 PM

We have had garbage disposal but people left batteries,propane tanks, mattresses etc that the hosts have no way of getting disposed of. As for the dog poop you can Dispose of it in the outhouse but some people would just rather throw it on the ground. For this reason some campgrounds charge for pets

 Long Time Camper

Review by Corky on 8/28/23, 11:35 AM

I've stayed in them all...mostly Tamahi west. Honestly, Been camping here for over 10 years and It has always been affordable, friendly and well kept! If people would read and abide by the policies there would be less confusion about long weekend minimums etc.... It literally says it when you book lol Where else can you enjoy yourself and nature for 17$ a night? you cant. so shut up and stay home, leave the sites for the friendly people you gremlins. I'm here average 5 to 6 times a year and always book when another when im home. The river is beautiful, there are tons of cool trails! I have 2 dogs and a 9 year old and WE ALL have fun :) I have never has an issue with the hosts, treat them with respect and you'll be surprised on the care you get from them 3 Happy Camping guys!!!

 Long Time Camper

Review by Corky on 8/28/23, 11:35 AM

I've stayed in them all...mostly Tamahi west. Honestly, Been camping here for over 10 years and It has always been affordable, friendly and well kept! If people would read and abide by the policies there would be less confusion about long weekend minimums etc.... It literally says it when you book lol Where else can you enjoy yourself and nature for 17$ a night? you cant. so shut up and stay home, leave the sites for the friendly people you gremlins. I'm here average 5 to 6 times a year and always book when another when im home. The river is beautiful, there are tons of cool trails! I have 2 dogs and a 9 year old and WE ALL have fun :) I have never has an issue with the hosts, treat them with respect and you'll be surprised on the care you get from them 3 Happy Camping guys!!!

 Wonderful week at Thurston Meadows

Review by Gail D on 8/21/23, 10:30 AM

Spent a wonderful, restful week at Thurston August 7-14. We’ve being going there for the last 5 years and The sites are always clean and the entire campsite is well maintained. The camp hosts are great and make regular tours of the entire site during the day. The river access is still recovering from flood damage but there was some great access to a couple of side creeks for kids and dogs to cool off safely. We’ll definitely be back

 Overcharged

Review by Sina on 8/19/23, 3:18 AM

We stay one night from Sunday to Monday civic holiday at Chipmunk I reserved online and I was charged $68 I don’t understand why they charged me for the whole weekend

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 8/25/23, 6:16 PM

long weekends are a 3 night min.

 Tamihi west

Review by Gail on 7/31/23, 9:24 AM

Love this campsite! Nice private spots on the river with a trail that has several access spots to the river. It is kept very clean. There are both reserve and first come sites which a nice option. Hosts Jason and Louise are the best out there!

 Thurston Meadows

Review by Bernadette  on 7/31/23, 1:07 AM

Campground clean and very well managed. Always enjoy the quiet safe campgrounds Reservation system is user friendly and we appreciate the fact that there are non reservable also.

 Allison pools

Review by Sheary on 7/25/23, 11:05 AM

Have been coming to this sight for 4 years now. We luv it here but every year people walk through the camp sight.,Sometimes with dogs. My concern is we have dogs already and almost a few dog fights. I think that chilliwack needs to put better signage up for trail and also needs to cut back the brush for trail. We usually have the river bank to ourselves but the private campsight next door is over spilling on to our part. Maybe 25-30 more people than usual.

 Allison pools

Review by Sheary on 7/25/23, 11:05 AM

Have been coming to this sight for 4 years now. We luv it here but every year people walk through the camp sight.,Sometimes with dogs. My concern is we have dogs already and almost a few dog fights. I think that chilliwack needs to put better signage up for trail and also needs to cut back the brush for trail. We usually have the river bank to ourselves but the private campsight next door is over spilling on to our part. Maybe 25-30 more people than usual.

 Allison pools

Review by Sheary on 7/25/23, 11:05 AM

Have been coming to this sight for 4 years now. We luv it here but every year people walk through the camp sight.,Sometimes with dogs. My concern is we have dogs already and almost a few dog fights. I think that chilliwack needs to put better signage up for trail and also needs to cut back the brush for trail. We usually have the river bank to ourselves but the private campsight next door is over spilling on to our part. Maybe 25-30 more people than usual.

 Best Campsite in fraser valley area

Review by Sierra on 7/23/23, 7:05 PM

3rd year camping here, always an amazing experience. The camp hosts are always welcoming and you can tell the campsite is well cared for. Cant wait for our next trip :)

 Best Campsite in fraser valley area

Review by Sierra on 7/23/23, 7:05 PM

3rd year camping here, always an amazing experience. The camp hosts are always welcoming and you can tell the campsite is well cared for. Cant wait for our next trip :)

 Not a happy camper

Review by SR on 7/15/23, 7:14 AM

Very disappointing. I booked 2 large sites that pictures showed were private and treed. We came from Alberta with a 12 hour drive to find that the sites were very small with no trees or privacy and only enough room for a small tent. The camp host was very accommodating and moved us to bigger sites that were a little more private. I booked the sites for 7 days but had to leave for a family emergency after the 2nd night. I emailed the camp office to see about a refund and was told I couldn't get my money back. The lady was rude and insensitive and refused to refund my money for the remaining 4 nights that we were not able to enjoy. We will not be back.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 7/15/23, 2:52 PM

sorry about your experience, but in the future please read the cancellation policy, there are no refunds for partial stays

 Great weekend!

Review by TMERKO on 7/9/23, 11:28 AM

We stayed at the Thurston meadows site over Canada Day long weekend, first trip out as a family with the wife and 2 kids. We went up with a large group and it was perfect for the kids. Where we were situated we could see the kids running and playing from site to site. I’m sure we were the loudest group in the camp but what’s camping without a little partying! Camp host was awesome, grounds were clean. Overall Thurston Meadows is a wonderful place to camp! Definitely coming back for more!

 Great weekend!

Review by TMERKO on 7/9/23, 11:28 AM

We stayed at the Thurston meadows site over Canada Day long weekend, first trip out as a family with the wife and 2 kids. We went up with a large group and it was perfect for the kids. Where we were situated we could see the kids running and playing from site to site. I’m sure we were the loudest group in the camp but what’s camping without a little partying! Camp host was awesome, grounds were clean. Overall Thurston Meadows is a wonderful place to camp! Definitely coming back for more!

 Avoid

Review by Avid camper on 7/7/23, 1:10 AM

We were better off camping in a Walmart parking lot. My friend and I booked 2 spots. One for 2 nights and one for a single night. The minimum charge was three nights. Even though we paid for 6 nights and only used 3 between us they still charged us a parking fee for a second vehicle. The sites were too close together and barely accommodate a small trailer even though we reserved their largest spots available. There's a reason why I don't use government campsites. Ridiculously overpriced and underwhelming. Practically camping on top of other people.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 7/15/23, 2:54 PM

Please read the policies before booking,it is 3 NIGHT STAY ON LONG WEEKENDS...jUST TO LET YOU KNOW, YOU CANNOT CAMP IN A CAMPGROUND ANYWHERE IN bc FOR 17.00 PER NIGHT

 Avoid

Review by Avid camper on 7/7/23, 1:10 AM

We were better off camping in a Walmart parking lot. My friend and I booked 2 spots. One for 2 nights and one for a single night. The minimum charge was three nights. Even though we paid for 6 nights and only used 3 between us they still charged us a parking fee for a second vehicle. The sites were too close together and barely accommodate a small trailer even though we reserved their largest spots available. There's a reason why I don't use government campsites. Ridiculously overpriced and underwhelming. Practically camping on top of other people.

 Riverside

Review by Scherger on 7/2/23, 10:42 AM

All of our experiences with Chilliwack FSR campsites have always been positive!! Thurston, Riverside, Chipmunk, (and Tamihi west , if you get the sites by the river and you need internet and don’t mind atv’s at the end. You can’t beat the price, the close proximity to hiking, security, and friendly hosts. We left our jack at home and they let us use theirs. They greet you and are very helpful. So sad that they have to deal with rude people who park in spots at Riverside campground like it is a parking lot for hiking then take off without paying and when questioned play the I never knew game because there was no signage!!! If you don’t want your vehicle broken into then pay the $17 fps!!!!

 Thurston

Review by Nikki J on 7/2/23, 10:30 AM

Nate and Linda are amazing hosts!! We come to Thurston often, and will continue to do so.

 AWESOME

Review by ToddyGail on 6/25/23, 7:57 PM

Was our first camping trip to Tamahi West. The hosts were great, very nice people, easy to deal with, and checked in on us a couple of times to make sure we were good. Beautiful site close to the river to enjoy the sounds of it and a very short walk to the edge. There are dirt bikes and ATV's around, but the hosts keep them under control to a 10KMH speed limit. Great spot and we WILL be back.

 A wonderful place in a wonderful country

Review by Aart Bijkerk on 6/23/23, 6:00 PM

Recently, we went a couple of times to the Tamihi East Campground and I can recommend this campsite very much! The host is very friendly and helpful with everything! The river is amazing and the sound of the river will assure you of a perfect sleep! I love to stay there and do some fishing, doing nothing and enjoy the amazing nature. 5 stars is not enough to rate this campsite!

 We love Tamihi

Review by JoJo on 6/18/23, 1:05 PM

We go to Tamihi 4-6 times a year. We can ride our ATV's right from the campsite with hundreds of trails to explore. The camp hosts are always friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The sites and facilities are usually well maintained, and you are right next to beautiful Chilliwack river. We love going to Tamihi, and we camp in a lot of other places, but this is our close to home go to place!

 the great outdoors

Review by Tamara on 6/18/23, 12:16 PM

our second time at Tamahi west. brought our 2 dogs, walked the trails alot, always a good stay. Campsite was very nice. will reserve again for sure.

 the great outdoors

Review by Tamara on 6/18/23, 12:16 PM

our second time at Tamahi west. brought our 2 dogs, walked the trails alot, always a good stay. Campsite was very nice. will reserve again for sure.

 Pt cruiser

Review by Debo on 6/11/23, 11:16 AM

Car broke down 2 days before reservation and was unable to cancel our stay. Did not respond to voice message or email trying to cancel and get partial refund. Very disappointing

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 6/18/23, 4:16 PM

sorry we did not receive an email or voice message. Please read the cancellation policy

 Favorite Camping Location

Review by Noldi  on 5/29/23, 3:33 PM

It's been years we always go at last 4-5 times a year to this location , it is one of our favorite place to be , highly recommend this place to anyone

 Favorite Camping Location

Review by Noldi  on 5/29/23, 3:33 PM

It's been years we always go at last 4-5 times a year to this location , it is one of our favorite place to be , highly recommend this place to anyone

 Camp Foley Group Site

Review by Alexis on 4/30/23, 9:41 AM

Just stayed at the Camp foley group site for a bachelorette weekend and we had the best time! The hosts were fantastic and checked in on us here and there to see if we needed anything. When I asked ahead of time if we could check into our group site earlier then check in, they said absolutely since there was no one camping the day before and it was already cleaned and ready to go! They were very nice and accommodating! :) the site was also BEAUTIFUL! Right next to the river and had a beautiful little creek running down the back side as well. Site was clean and outhouse didn’t smell bad either which is always a bonus when camping. Would absolutely recommend this place! I know we will be trying yo go back every year!

 Camp Foley Group Site

Review by Alexis on 4/30/23, 9:41 AM

Just stayed at the Camp foley group site for a bachelorette weekend and we had the best time! The hosts were fantastic and checked in on us here and there to see if we needed anything. When I asked ahead of time if we could check into our group site earlier then check in, they said absolutely since there was no one camping the day before and it was already cleaned and ready to go! They were very nice and accommodating! :) the site was also BEAUTIFUL! Right next to the river and had a beautiful little creek running down the back side as well. Site was clean and outhouse didn’t smell bad either which is always a bonus when camping. Would absolutely recommend this place! I know we will be trying yo go back every year!

 Love the hosts at Riverside

Review by Mia on 10/17/22, 9:36 PM

I've had a few great trips to riverside, the hosts are great and of course their little dog.

 Great hosts!

Review by Kate on 9/4/22, 1:52 AM

Recently camped at Riverside. Sites were clean, and the camp hosts Ron and Vi are incredible! Will be returning ASAP.

 Great hosts!

Review by Kate on 9/4/22, 1:52 AM

Recently camped at Riverside. Sites were clean, and the camp hosts Ron and Vi are incredible! Will be returning ASAP.

 Allison pools

Review by Sherri on 8/22/22, 9:18 AM

This is my 3rd year camping at Allison Pools, firstly the host Matt from tamihi is helpful and friendly. We love ❤️ camping here, but experienced the same 2 disappointments all 3 times. The outhouse is awfully smelly , you have to cover your nose to use it. I wish they would empty it more often. And also they need more signs to the public that this is a private camp sight and not to trespass. Because fishermen were walking right through camp sight at 6:00 am talking. Or people with or without dogs walk right through the campsite. This concerns me because we all go down to the river and I feel our belongings are at risk. Otherwise it is a beautiful campsite.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 8/25/22, 3:37 PM

Sorry you had a bad experience. Outhouses are pumped as needed, they always smell. Allison is not a private campsite. You cannot stop people from walking through crown land. They are suppose to use the trails but some people do not read.

 Allison pools

Review by Sherri on 8/22/22, 9:18 AM

This is my 3rd year camping at Allison Pools, firstly the host Matt from tamihi is helpful and friendly. We love ❤️ camping here, but experienced the same 2 disappointments all 3 times. The outhouse is awfully smelly , you have to cover your nose to use it. I wish they would empty it more often. And also they need more signs to the public that this is a private camp sight and not to trespass. Because fishermen were walking right through camp sight at 6:00 am talking. Or people with or without dogs walk right through the campsite. This concerns me because we all go down to the river and I feel our belongings are at risk. Otherwise it is a beautiful campsite.

 Rented group site and camp host sold them off before all our party could arrive

Review by 304Ventures on 8/20/22, 11:42 AM

We rented the group site for a weekend and the campsite host sold off our spare campsites before all of our party could arrive over the weekend coming from all over the province. This is a Sad case of renting a group site for it to be double rented and not reimbursed. THINK TWICE.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 8/25/22, 3:54 PM

Forestry regulations state the site must be occupied the day of arrival. Sites are held until 10pm

 Rented group site and camp host sold them off before all our party could arrive

Review by 304Ventures on 8/20/22, 11:42 AM

We rented the group site for a weekend and the campsite host sold off our spare campsites before all of our party could arrive over the weekend coming from all over the province. This is a Sad case of renting a group site for it to be double rented and not reimbursed. THINK TWICE.

 Rented group site and camp host sold them off before all our party could arrive

Review by 304Ventures on 8/20/22, 11:42 AM

We rented the group site for a weekend and the campsite host sold off our spare campsites before all of our party could arrive over the weekend coming from all over the province. This is a Sad case of renting a group site for it to be double rented and not reimbursed. THINK TWICE.

Response From Chilliwack Valley Campsites on 8/25/22, 3:51 PM

When renting Riverside or Tamihi Rapids if your party does not show up by 10pm the sites can be rented out Please read the policy before you bokk a group site. This is due to lack of campsites

 Great time

Review by Lacey on 8/19/22, 10:30 AM

Just returned from Allison Pool. Stayed there with 3 of my sons and 6 of their friends. We had an excellent time. The camp host at Tamahi where you pick up the keys was fantastic. The campground was clean. I have also camped at Riverside and Chipmunk. Every time I enjoyed myself.