Reviews for Casa De Tortugas

Chacala, Mexico

 Pamela

Review by Pamela on 2/2/18 2:00 PM

Heavenly location, view and accommodation. Got along with the other guests very well, always felt there was plenty of space when we wanted to be on our own or if we wanted to be social . The pool was divine...loved to watch the birds gather on the top step ! Thank you Casa De Tortugas, to Marie who cleaned our room and made our stay even better with her cheerfulness.

 Wonderful experience

Review by Katerina on 4/13/17 7:37 PM

Charming decor wonderful views of the sun sets/rise. Cool breeze. Plenty of room for a group with private for everyone. I can't wait to get to get back!

 Peaceful spot in welcoming village

Review by Alex on 4/28/16 8:59 AM

My grad school group goes on vacation somewhere new every year, and Casa de Tortugas was the first time we returned to the same spot. The layout of six bedrooms was perfect for our group of 8-9; cozy but each w our own space. The staff couldn't be more helpful or welcoming, and we loved spending the day in the van w Juan or heading snorkeling on Isla de Coral w Fede. Chacala itself is like finding something for the past. The vibe is small-town friendly.

 Lovely and Peaceful

Review by Sarita on 3/13/16 11:19 AM

So many superlative words have been used to describe this lovely place, it's hard to say more. This was my husband's and my second time at Casa de Tortugas, which in itself says a lot. The first time was with our grown sons and their partners; this time was just we two. Both times the experience was great. The first time there was another occupant in one of the upstairs rooms and it still felt like we pretty much had the place to ourselves, as the upstairs kitchen and sitting area give a good sense of semi-private,personal space. The upstairs patio kitchen is a treat to work in with such a gorgeous view. The third floor terrace was a lovely place to do yoga The neighborhood, and in fact the whole town of Chacala, is pretty quiet at night. The owners were very patient and helpful with all our pre-visit questions. We were here in March for the annual Festival de Musica y Arte, a wonderful set of nights full of music and folkloric dance , all for free. And if you love swimming in the ocean, the waters here are very welcoming, of course dependng on the swell.. All in all, a wonderful place to visit, both the town ad the Casa de Tortugas.

 Excellent

Review by Sheree on 12/14/14 12:23 PM

A perfect location very near the main beach and town, but quiet. The property is well maintained, clean and the manager and staff are very friendly and certainly helpful. Be prepared to bring your own entertainment, we opted for a lovely day at Las Cuevas beach. Arturo set up a boat to take us and pick us up, and it included snorkel gear too (which was in good shape, fyi). It is easy to buy fish from the fishermen's coop just below the house. I highly recommend Casa de Tortugas in Chacala! Our thanks to everyone who made our stay special.

 Casa de Torgugas

Review by Mike on 3/18/14 5:29 PM

Excellent, small hotel (4 units) in Chacala. Great town. On site service was very good, clean, good shared kitchen, comfortable bed. Will return.

 A "must stay" in Chacala

Review by Beth on 2/5/14 5:56 PM

This was our second year spending a week at Casa de Tortugas and we will definitely be back. The view is incredible and it is just a short walk to town. We watched the fishermen come in and the sailboats anchored just off shore. It's easy to buy fresh fish which we did each day and barbequed in the outdoor kitchen. A must is the walk to the volcano at the south end of the beach to get a wonderful view back on Chacala and breakfast at Susana's up the hill.

 Spectacular vacation

Review by loveschacala on 1/25/14 9:36 AM

What an amazing property. You wake up (2nd level), open your window, and there is the ocean. A few barefoot steps out and you're overlooking the pool, the ocean, the fishing boats, the beach. Awesome. The 2nd level deck is so pretty and comfortable, the views are heart and soul-expanding. I stayed in Amantes, the center room, and just loved it. It is cozy and comfortable and is especially great for a single person - the color feels comforting for some reason. I intended to stretch every single morning on the top deck which has even more amazing views, but only did every other day or so. So peaceful, no one else was up there. I had the whole huge property to myself for 3 nights, and shared it with other folks the rest of the time. It was great being alone, and great having the other people there too. Everyone is soooo nice, and it feels like camp or something. Loved loved loved the pool, did 30 lengths every afternoon and it was blissful. I came back feeling transformed.

 Casa de Tortugas

Review by olymargie on 2/24/13 12:59 PM

My fiance and I spent a week in the Amantes casita. We loved cooking in the outdoor kitchen above the pool. The pool is large and refreshing. We went whale watching with our neighbors and followed a mother and calf for an hour and a half. It was enchanting. Even the boogie boarding turned out to be great! I can honestly say that we didn't see anywhere else in Chacala that we would have rather stayed. We spent 3 weeks in Sayulita on this trip, and the week in Chacala was a welcome break.It's a quiet town with a beautiful beach.