Reviews for Cabins on Indian Creek

Carbondale, Illinois

 Great Cabins

Review by Jack on 5/22/24, 6:44 AM

We needed to show up late due to traveling from far away. Janet was very accommodating for our situation and stayed in direct contact with me the entire time. The cabin was very clean and the full kitchen was awesome. We will be back!

 Wonderful Weekend

Review by MJ on 4/29/24, 7:19 PM

We went to the Cabins on Indian Creek and had a wonderful time. Our family rented 3 cabins. We cooked all our meals in our cabin. We were amazed at how well the kitchen was furnished and the cabins also have gas grills. We made a fire both night at the fire pit and all the wood was supplied! We will definitely be back. Thank you, Janet, for providing us a clean comfortable place to get together with family.

 Hiker/Fisherman

Review by Bob on 4/23/24, 9:32 AM

The cabins are comfortable, clean, and relaxing. They are in a great location if you love the outdoors. The manager is nice and super helpful. Can't recommend this place enough!

 LOVED the place!

Review by Scott on 4/21/24, 7:29 PM

Teh cabin we stayed in was great! Had all the amenities you need and so very clean and comfortable. Janet, the manager, is a terrific person!

 Awesome

Review by Shawn on 4/21/24, 8:28 AM

Cabin was amazing!! Would recommend it to anyone who is traveling to the area. When we return we will definitely try to stay in the cabins!

 Amazing cabins

Review by Kerri E on 4/8/24, 1:56 AM

I stayed at cabin 6a. It was beautifully decorated & updated appliances. They have everything you need besides food and clothes. I took my daughter because we usually go stay in hotels so she can swim and we go have fun. Since finding these cabins, hotel rooms are a thing of the past. I spent around the same amount of money on an entire cabin with 1 room as I would have for a hotel room, but this had privacy. We loved it so much , we reserved another cabin over Easter weekend, but we wenr bigger and better with cabin 3. I made a big dinner, and had a few family members come join us. We all had an amazing time fishing and my son and daughter were brave enough to jump in the pond. It was clean but too cold for me. Had a great experience in both cabins. The only issue was in 6a, which we found some ants. Which really was no big deal. If they grew spearmint around the cabin it would smell nice and keep ants away without poison or chemicals. If I could give 10 stars I would. Oh and the manager, Janet is amazing as well. Very sweet lady. She bends over backwards to help and make your stay enjoyable. We definitely will be returning.

 Amazing cabins

Review by Kerri E on 4/8/24, 1:56 AM

I stayed at cabin 6a. It was beautifully decorated & updated appliances. They have everything you need besides food and clothes. I took my daughter because we usually go stay in hotels so she can swim and we go have fun. Since finding these cabins, hotel rooms are a thing of the past. I spent around the same amount of money on an entire cabin with 1 room as I would have for a hotel room, but this had privacy. We loved it so much , we reserved another cabin over Easter weekend, but we wenr bigger and better with cabin 3. I made a big dinner, and had a few family members come join us. We all had an amazing time fishing and my son and daughter were brave enough to jump in the pond. It was clean but too cold for me. Had a great experience in both cabins. The only issue was in 6a, which we found some ants. Which really was no big deal. If they grew spearmint around the cabin it would smell nice and keep ants away without poison or chemicals. If I could give 10 stars I would. Oh and the manager, Janet is amazing as well. Very sweet lady. She bends over backwards to help and make your stay enjoyable. We definitely will be returning.

 Beautiful Place

Review by Jenna on 4/6/24, 7:05 AM

This place was amazing, we had a wonderful time and we look forward to staying there again. It was perfect for 4 adults. The cabin was beautiful.

 Great place to relax!

Review by Jeano on 12/20/23, 6:44 PM

This was our third visit to the Cabins on Indian Creek. We have enjoyed each visit; the cabins are clean and have everything needed for a pleasant getaway. The people that we dealt with during the reservation process and check-in were wonderful. Highly recommend for any time of year!

 A great get-away destination

Review by Brenda M., Mt. Vernon, IL on 12/1/23, 2:57 PM

This was my second time at the cabins. My first time was when I was a guest of the owner celebrating his mother's 100th birthday. I just loved the place and knew I would go back. So I spent Thanksgiving there this past month. I was in Cabin 6 which is separate from the others but had to take it since the others were all reserved. I liked it so much I am giving my son and family a gift of staying there this summer. For me it's not far from home but secluded enough that you feel like you have really got away, yet close enough to visit Carbondale/Marion if you feel the need to. The cabins are clean and SO comfy and homey. Janet was excellent in getting us settled and taking care of us. I highly recommend!

 Ms

Review by colleen on 11/6/23, 12:52 PM

so glad i found these cabins a couple years ago. so clean and the owners are so accommodating with arrival times, etc. perfect location for seeing everything from Shawnee to Makanda, and Carbondale. We have stayed here a few times, and will again.

 Two couples hiking with our dog

Review by Beth and Ed and our whippet "Oak" on 10/31/23, 9:35 PM

We LOVED our dog friendly cabin #2 ! (We were travelling with our 8 year old whippet and two nature loving friends.) We had excellent communication with Janet! She was accommodating warm and welcoming. Our cabin was spotlessly clean and fresh and ready for us ! We were two couples from Urbana and Champaign visiting the unique Makanda vulture festival and hiking for two days in the Shawnee national Forest. The Giant City Lodge and dramatic hiking trails were very close by. This cabin #2 is ideally set up for two couples . spacious soundproof rooms .plenty of privacy and reasonably priced. ,Front porch and back verandah with views of the ponds and woods White egret greeted us and blue heron too! We were too busy hiking each morning and wine tastings on the wine trail each afternoon to take advantage of the swimming and canoes and kayaks and fire pit provided. We were too happily tired and satisfied with the physical exercise to take advantage of the two flat screen tvs and cable choices so it was zzzzzz and crickets and quiet on the excellent bed and under cozy coverlets. ps the heating and AC was perfect because during our October visit it was warm by day and chilly at night. We are coming back! Beth and Ed and Oak (and Kim and Mark too)

 Amazing 60th Birthday

Review by Sue G on 10/14/23, 3:21 AM

I can't say enough about our cabin and Janet. The cabin was exactly as pictured and was fully stocked. The grounds are immaculate and my friend & I had an incredible time relaxing, visiting wineries & zip lining. I travel a lot and Cabins on Indian Creek is a fantastic find--reasonably priced & spotless. Thanks Janet for making my 60th birthday something I won't forget!

 Amazing 60th Birthday

Review by Sue G on 10/14/23, 3:20 AM

I can't say enough about our cabin and Janet. The cabin was exactly as pictured and was fully stocked. The grounds are immaculate and my friend & I had an incredible time relaxing, visiting wineries & zip lining. I travel a lot and Cabins on Indian Creek is a fantastic find--reasonably priced & spotless. Thanks Janet for making my 60th birthday something I won't forget!

 Great get away

Review by Dave & Ruth on 10/5/23, 5:21 PM

We stayed in Cabin 2 last year at Thanksgiving for a couple nights, while our daughter's family (4 kids under 10) stayed next door in Cabin 1. The cabins worked out great! The ponds and grounds were lots of fun for just being outside, walks, fishing, and campfire. The grandkids loved fishing and exploring the grounds. And we all ran around the downstate area non-stop it seemed. There is a lot to do and see. So this year it was just the two of us, and we said, stay in the same cabin - just to relax. But we forgot to ... just relax. Ran around too much once again. This place is just too good, too nice, to not stay there and enjoy it .... enjoy the quiet, enjoy the woodsy feel, enjoy the beautiful nature setting. And if you need anything, Janet will take care of you. She even provides the simple things - like great conversation on life. We'll be back and try again!

 Cabins

Review by Angela  on 9/25/23, 9:46 AM

Love this place!! Second time visiting, first was for our wedding 4 years ago and this time was for our anniversary. It just feels like home! Can’t say enough good things

 Always a perfect stay!

Review by Lynne on 9/3/23, 12:13 PM

We absolutely LOVE Cabins on Indian Creek! We have had the pleasure of staying at Cabins on Indian Creek multiple times and everything is always so very nice at these cabins. Great location, cabins are always nice and clean, the grounds and ponds by the cabins are all beautiful. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Thanks again for a perfect, relaxing stay!

 Weekend trip

Review by Nancy on 8/20/23, 9:14 PM

This is the 4th year our family has been to Indian Creek. We love it, the kids love it, everyone loves it. We will return for sure.

 Cabins on Indian Creek

Review by Samantha on 8/17/23, 5:19 PM

Staff was wonderful..parking was little difficult but overall stay was very nice!!! Cabins were cleaned and had everything we needed to cook and such.. had a great time with family, very quiet and secluded 🥰

 Great place

Review by Hanleys on 7/30/23, 9:08 AM

Great cabin. Great area. Janet was a great help with our reservation. We really enjoyed our getaway.

 Great place

Review by Hanleys on 7/30/23, 9:07 AM

Great cabin. Great area. Janet was a great help with our reservation. We really enjoyed our getaway.

 Great Cabins and Beautiful Grounds

Review by Warren Family-Cabin3 on 7/17/23, 1:19 PM

We had our family vacation and was one of three family cabins booked for the weekend. Cabins are beautiful and well kept and clean. The three families were able to all be close enough but yet have our own space as well. Janet is a great host and always there if needed. The kids (young and old) enjoyed the swing and slide at the swimming pond. The location is close to Carbondale if you want or need to make a run to a store or restaurant. The location is a great spot for the wine trail as well. However, the cabin has everything you need to stay hidden away and enjoy the weekend without going anywhere. The only reason my review isn't 5 stars is because we did have a flood in the basement due to a pump not working. We called Janet late in the evening and she was very concerned and assured us that she would call the owner and be right over. I was very impressed with her attention and care especially that late in the evening. However, the owner came over and was NOT friendly and very angry (not sure at who exactly). While I understand his frustration, I did not appreciate the unprofessionalism. But ending on a good note, Janet and maintenance would get 10 stars!

 Cabin

Review by Cory E Burgland  on 7/5/23, 5:55 AM

Thank you for allowing us to have a great vacation destination. Your caretakers are great people. We were in Cabin#6. Overall a nice little place however, there needs to be some updating and renovation to it. The tub/shower needs replaced currently the drain dosen't work real well. A full bathroom upgrade would definitely bring back people to this cabin. The roof and gutters need a good cleaning out and the landscaping could use a little touching up. Behind the cabin has not been mowed or had a weed eater ran over it. The hot tub didn't work but we knew that going into it. There is a small mouse issue. Last but not least one of the recliners didn't work. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves in the area and the cabin was overall a good deal and did what we need it for and that was a quite get away. The pond was excellent. Thank you again. We are not upset about anything, we just thought someone should have a heads up on the cabins well being. Cory E. Burgland

 Cozy and clean

Review by Liz on 7/3/23, 11:23 PM

My daughter and I stayed in cabin 4A. It was cozy, clean, and welcoming. We enjoyed watching the fish in the pond, swimming at the beach and jumping off the rope swing! My daughter took out the kayak in the fishing pond as well. We loved using the fire pit at night and there was a supply of wood on the porch to use. We definitely want to come again.

 Cozy and clean

Review by Liz on 7/3/23, 11:23 PM

My daughter and I stayed in cabin 4A. It was cozy, clean, and welcoming. We enjoyed watching the fish in the pond, swimming at the beach and jumping off the rope swing! My daughter took out the kayak in the fishing pond as well. We loved using the fire pit at night and there was a supply of wood on the porch to use. We definitely want to come again.

 Beautiful

Review by Home on 6/22/23, 6:50 AM

We had a wonderful time. Our first time at the cabins and it won't be our last. The cabin is so comfortable and the scenery is incredible it makes you not want to go home. Thank you!

 Great place

Review by Sharon on 5/30/23, 11:16 AM

This is my second time staying here and just as great as last time. Hosts are friendly, location is close to everything, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful, cabins are clean and comfortable. We didn't get a chance to have a fire outside but there was wood available to have one which is much appreciated. You won't be disappointed staying here.

 Cabin 5

Review by Family Gathering on 5/15/23, 9:30 AM

Cabin 5 over exceeded our expectations on every level. Highly recommend!

 Amazing and Peaceful Experience

Review by Maureen on 2/21/23, 6:25 PM

Cabins on Indian Creek are not only affordable, but extremely well-kept, clean, and serene out in nature. My fiance and I had a wonderful time on a hike nearby, and all the ammenities within the cabin were also super helpful to have on hand. I would recommend a cabin stay at these cabins to anyone looking for a calm and peaceful experience- not too far from the Carbondale area.

 Lovely

Review by Donna and Mark on 12/11/22, 2:32 PM

This place is very scenic. The grounds are beautiful to take long walks or just enjoy the scenery. We stayed in cabin 2 and it was spotless. Ms. Janet is a gem.

 Cabin 4A

Review by Happy Guest on 11/7/22, 5:08 AM

We had a wonderful stay, as always, in Cabin 4A. We have stayed in both Cabin 3 and Cabin 4A multiple times and everything is always perfect at these cabins! Janet, the host, is always super nice and makes sure everything at the cabins are perfect for your stay. Clean, comfortable, well stocked on everything, they even provide ample firewood for the firepit and the surroundings are beautiful! A little slice of heaven less then 10 minutes outside of Carbondale. We love Cabins on Indian Creek!

 Retiree

Review by David & Lori  on 10/28/22, 2:55 PM

Very accommodating hosts. Made sure TV was functioning properly, turned on and checked out gas log fireplace earlier in the season than normal schedule because we were celebrating our anniversary. Staff provided ample firewood for exterior fire pit. We would definitely stay there again.

 Cabin 2

Review by Laurie  on 10/24/22, 9:14 AM

Everything was great from the signs in the area to get you there to the beautiful entrance. We stayed in cabin two which is the only cabin that does not sit right over one of the two ponds but we are able to walk straight out to the fire pit in between which had a beautiful view. The cabin was like new and fully equipped. Two nice bedrooms. If there are four of you there’s only a loveseat with two straight chairs but besides that everything was absolutely wonderful and Janet and housekeeping had everything immaculately clean. Only 10 minutes to Giant City park. We plan on going back.

 Cabin #2

Review by D J  on 10/21/22, 6:27 AM

Wonderful experience. Janet was most helpful and very kind. Only one suggestion, have a basket or container of some kind to put the firewood in on order to carry it back to the cabin. 5 Stars!

 Beautiful

Review by Cabin 1 on 10/14/22, 8:47 AM

This was are first time there and we were very pleased. The cabin was very clean and not overused. We can't wait to go back and bring the rest of the family

 Beautiful

Review by Cabin 1 on 10/14/22, 8:47 AM

This was are first time there and we were very pleased. The cabin was very clean and not overused. We can't wait to go back and bring the rest of the family

 Cabins on Indian Creek

Review by Robb on 10/12/22, 3:41 PM

I had recently suffered a stroke. Yet still helped my son move to Carbondale from western Wisconsin. I was exhausted. Found cabin 4A. Two days of heavenly rest and able to return home. I would give you a six star rating but I guess that is something the system will not recognize, so five star it is.

 Great stay!

Review by Lucy  on 10/10/22, 6:57 AM

We stayed in cabin 2. Our cabin was very clean and well equipped. The whole property is beautiful and well maintained. We will be back!

 Cabin #2

Review by Mark S. on 9/22/22, 3:55 PM

The scenery is beautiful. The cabin no. 2 was okay but not equipped at all, not even a broom and dustpan. Ms. Janet was so sweet and got us checked in.

 9/7/22

Review by Monique C on 9/20/22, 12:47 PM

Such a perfect gem tucked away in Carbondale! We had such an enjoyable time that we've already booked another stay and will be bringing friends with us. The cabins looked just like the internet pictures. Janet was super sweet and helpful with all questions. Thank you for such a perfect getaway!

 Excellent place to stay

Review by John and Francy on 9/11/22, 5:23 AM

We had such a wonderful stay. The cabin was clean and in working order. Janet the manager was a pleasure to meet and answered all our questions. We can't wait to come back this place.

 Just wonderful

Review by Theresa B. on 9/2/22, 10:05 PM

This was our second stay at Cabins on the Creek, and we were just as pleased as the first time! Thank you, Janet, for making sure everything was ready, super clean and comfortable! We will return again!

 Why stay anywhere else

Review by Williams2000 on 8/28/22, 6:37 AM

This was the 2nd time we stayed at the Cabins on Indian Creek. Just like the 1st time, everything was perfect. Clean, comfortable, spacious, etc. Janet (manager) is great, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We’ll be coming back at the end of September to visit our daughter at SIU.

 Family Adventure

Review by Nancy on 8/21/22, 12:04 PM

Our family made our 3rd trip to Indian Creek. We rented Cabin 3 and 4a. The cabins are great-everything you need and very clean. We are ages 5-76 and everyone enjoyed the whole experience. The young ones (5 & 7) loved the swimming as did the 18 year old. Feeding the fish was a big adventure as well. Janet is so great and always helpful and so very friendly. This is our "go to" place for family get togethers. Thank you so much.

 Great Girls' Getaway!

Review by Rachel on 8/15/22, 12:48 PM

Plans fell through for us on our camping adventure and as fate would have it, someone cancelled their weekend due to Covid. It was meant to be. 3 Immediately walking into Cabin 2, we knew it was going to be a great weekend. The place was just big enough for the 4 of us. It is decorated so cute, creature comforts are available (coffee pot, ice maker, sharp knives) and the beds are on the firm side (not too squishy - thanks). The cabins are nestled in the woods with a couple of beautiful bodies of water to look at (we didn't partake of any water activities, although there were kayaks/canoes available). We will be back to enjoy this wonderful cabin in the woods!

 Conway family vacation

Review by Great place on 7/29/22, 6:52 PM

Fantastic!! We rented three cabins for our children and grandchildren for a family vacation. We were very impressed with the cabins; they had everything you could possibly need. All members of the family enjoyed the rope swing and slide; along with the kayaks. It definitely is a surprise gem of a place. Would love to come back for a visit.

 Excellent

Review by Laura on 6/30/22, 9:20 AM

We rented all six cabins for a long weekend at the end of May. Everyone had a great time. We used the fishing pond and spent much of the day in the swimming pond with a rope swing and small slide. Each famy was very happy with their cabins.they we're clean and comfortable The cabins were bigger than they looked from outside with a bedroom and another living room with sofa bed in lower level as well as another walkout patio with chairs with view of pond. That was cabin 1. . Cabin 3 seemed to be our meeting place for campfires every night. Good times. Cabin 6 is walking or driving distance away. Near different houses but still a nice place to stay. That group was really only there at night anyway. Cabin 2 has a common area behind it with basket ball area and picnic tables and that is where boats are stored.. We had a good time out there too. I'm not sure how this was for the renters in cabin 2. If they weren't family, would we have been intrudind on their lake view, grill area, and campfire spot? The only thing that I thought was missing was screen doors. The weather was perfect. The air conditioning was nice but I prefer open air sometimes. I really hope to get all six cabins again for our next reunion. We had family in from Colorado, Mississippi, and the Chicago area and everyone was very impressed. Location was perfect. Castle Park, Fork and Vine for family meal, Giant City, Lake Kinkade, SIU, and of course the wineries. Definitely Recommend. Janet was wonderful and very helpful for our large family. Thanks Janet!!!

 Amazing

Review by Lee on 6/27/22, 8:56 AM

We only got to stay one night in cabin 1 for fathers day. But in one night, we were able to feel like we had taken a real vacation. The kids are already begging to go back! The castle park nearby, as well as All of the fishing opportunities surrounding the place, kayaking, swimming, and so close to Carbondale, there was something for everyone in the family. We will back soon, and have told all our friends how great it was. If we could give it 10 stars we would!

 Amazing

Review by Lee on 6/27/22, 8:55 AM

We only got to stay one night in cabin 1 for fathers day. But in one night, we were able to feel like we had taken a real vacation. The kids are already begging to go back! The castle park nearby, as well as All of the fishing opportunities surrounding the place, kayaking, swimming, and so close to Carbondale, there was something for everyone in the family. We will back soon, and have told all our friends how great it was. If we could give it 10 stars we would!

 Great Time!

Review by Connie on 6/12/22, 8:10 PM

It was a wonderful experience. We stayed in Cabin 3. We had a small issue with the downstairs bathroom. We called Janet and she had someone come right over. It was fixed in a matter of minutes. Beautiful country, wonderful accommodations. Everything was provided. James is true professional.