Reviews for Bruces Waterside Units

Mallacoota, Australia

 Clean, well equiped and comfortable

Review by LM on 1/5/18 6:04 PM

Bruce’s Waterside Units are in a convenient, central location in Mallacoota. Unit 1 was clean, well equipped and comfortable. Friendly and efficient service/communication was greatly appreciated.

 Clean, well equiped and comfortable

Review by LM on 1/4/18 11:38 PM

Bruce’s Waterside Units are in a convenient, central location in Mallacoota. Unit 1 was clean, well equipped and comfortable. Friendly and efficient service/communication was greatly appreciated.

 Unit 6 - great stay

Review by Russell on 11/27/17 4:25 PM

Stayed 2 nights. Spacious and clean, with all amenities we could want. Even free wifi which was fast! Manager was very friendly and helpful, both during the booking process, and when we arrived. We enjoyed the view (units 6 & 7 are the pick), and the short walk to the shops and cafes.

 Waterside Unit 1

Review by Wayne on 9/1/17 2:14 AM

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Mallacoota in Bruce's Waterside Unit 1, found it absolutely clean, all the mods and cons you would require when stay on holidays, including a private BBQ (no sharing) The price during winter was fantastic at $130 per night with the 4th night free. Close to supermarket and 2 minute walk to Motel Bistro. Hospitality was great, saw Louise on arrival and did not see her again (no reason to) All in all a fantastic place to spend a few days. Thank You.

 Fishermans Cottage

Review by Ann on 7/7/17 1:30 AM

We stayed here on the way back from Merimbula. It suited us superbly, but the back area with bedroom and bathroom certainly needed heating in the winter time. It was great sitting on the front verandah overlooking the lake on the first early evening as the sun set. Everything in the house was in excellent order although the upholstery on the couch in the lounge could do with a good clean. Louise ensured that we were settled in and followed up our emails and queries very promptly. Once we worked out the timing system on the heating the house was very warm. Comfortable, clean, plenty of parking and within walking distance of the main street and the hotel for meals. The recommendation of the Golf Club for a meal was much appreciated. The town in winter is very sleepy! I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

 Second time

Review by Ganma on 6/9/17 3:04 AM

This is the second time we have stayed in units 6 & 7 with extended family. We love the view from the balcony and the fact that our boat can be moored on the jetty within sight of our unit. The walk up the hill is fairly steep and takes a bit of effort but it is worth it. Both units were clean and reasonably comfortable and we were glad to see that the uncomfortable sofa in unit 7 had been replaced. The units are just a short walk from the Main Street shopping and the pub which has a good bistro. Pricing was reasonable - we were there off peak and the weather was sunny but with cool mornings.

 Great Cottage

Review by Great place on 5/7/17 12:01 AM

We stayed in the cottage for four nights and we were very happy with the accommodation. The cottage has a very nice view of the water, close to everything. It is very comfortable and has everything that you would ever need. Louise was very helpful when booking in as I was bringing my mother who is on a walkingd frame and has limited movement. Louise went out of her way to supply a shower chair for my mother to use. It was also my mothers 80th birthday and she helped me out to give me info on where to order a cake. We all enjoyed our holiday away, and it was a fantastic accommodation for my dog. Will defently return again.

 Peaceful

Review by Annie on 3/8/17 6:26 PM

we had such a lovely time in Unit 1. It was clean comfortable and had a secure yard for our small dog. The owners and staff were wonderful, from checking in to making sure everything was OK during our stay. We stayed for two weeks however, we could have stayed forever! The unit had everytihing we needed, it was very clean, comfortable and located in the best spot, close to the water, shops and walking trails.

 Not Happy

Review by Bruce on 2/15/17 3:04 PM

While the cabin was clean and tidy the whole place was very small and pokey. The lounge consisted of a fold out couch which was horrible to sit on with the only other seating a wicker 2 seat. A brick wall for a view out of the main bedroom and a bed as hard as a rock. It might sound like I am a winger however we take accommodation for a number of houses and I do know what I am talking about. You can't change a view but this shack looked nothing like the web site. All in all I would not stay there again or recommend it.

 Village View Unit 2

Review by Suzanne on 1/22/17 7:12 AM

We stayed in this unit for 5 nights in January 2917. The unit was clean and accommodated three adults and an elderly dog comfortably. This unit had everything that we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The location was great. Supermarkets, hotel and other shops were almost directly across the road. Everything was within walking distance. The internal lock on the front door was a little temperamental and stuck on ocassion. Overall view is that we would like to stay here again in the future.. .

 great spot

Review by Sue on 12/30/16 2:12 AM

the cute house had everything we needed. The location is perfect for doing things locally, watching the water and all the activities around. It is close to boat hire, shops and a short drive to the lovely beaches. we would highly recommend this rental and town and area.

 A great place to relax

Review by Isabel on 11/9/16 4:31 AM

Captain's cottage has a lovely holiday charm and is very comfortable. It is centrally located close to the water and the shops. My kids also enjoyed the wifi. The lady managing the property was friendly and helpful. A great place to stay.

 Unit 1

Review by lindy on 11/5/16 6:20 PM

We found unit 1 to be clean and very practical for a semi-disabled person like myself and it was a joy to be able to bring our dog inside with us. As others have said, no stove was a problem and the seating arrangements a bit squeezy. The first shower was a bit scary as the bathroom seems to flood but nothing awful happened. It was hard to clean up afterwards. I would have liked a sheet with general information in the unit explaining how to turn the air con on (we found a switch on the other wall which had to be turned on as it's on a timer) also we need to know we could use the portable BBQ outside as the one in the laundry didn't work. One of the permanent neighbours told us it was ours to use. All in all, it is a good little holiday place in a very convenient location.

 Get escape from the hustle and bustle

Review by Dave and Karen on 8/14/16 7:28 PM

We stayed at Bruce's waterside units recently and started relaxing immediately. Waking up to the kangaroos across the road, as well as watching the birds was such a pleasure after a tough week at work. Only request would be to have a heater that runs a little more than 2 hours as we found it a little bit chilly when we first woke up, however once the heater kicked in it was a great little cottage. What was also nice was being able to bring the dog down and I know that he had a great time as we did not see him for two days after we got back due to him being so tired. Highly recommended for a great getaway on the water. Managers were fantastic and really made us feel welcome.

 Superb Weekend

Review by CAST on 8/1/16 4:59 AM

We wanted accommodation off peak season that could accommodate 15 mates from all over Australia. John was very helpful in organising three units; The Cottage, Unit 7 and Unit 5. We were not expecting what we found on arrival and centralised ourselves around the Cottage. Great view, great facilities and an excellent open fire which was utilised on Saturday Night when the weather turned inclement. Couldn't fault the location and it more than met our needs. The fishing was also good and the jetties more than suitable with just a very short walk across the road. The place isn't the Hilton, but why would you want that in such a great place, with great company and great facilities. Many thanks to John and the Team for making our weekend. Each member of the Team took note of the contact details and will probably be in touch for family visits. We'll be back

 Wonderful!

Review by Cath on 5/25/16 4:47 AM

What a fantastic home! We felt so welcome and comfortable on arrival and the view was spectacular! The house had everything we needed for a lovely stay, Helen was extremely helpful despite a mix up, on our behalf I must say, and accommodating. We had plenty of room, and were able to walk to just about everything. Mallacoota is such a beautiful place, we will definately be back.

 Unit 1

Review by Zoe on 4/4/16 2:02 AM

Great location close to everything. Was good to have space to store the boat. The beds were comfy with plenty of extra blankets available. Great that we could have a dog there. Would have benefitted from an extra couch or chair. Bathroom was easy to flood because of the shower. Overall good stay!

 Unit 7

Review by Amisella on 3/31/16 2:52 AM

Great position, clean, comfortable beds and great assistance from Helen when we arrived. TV is good and splendid view out front of the lake; convenient to walk to town for a meal out and a few drinks; easy walk home. Went fishing via David's friendly hire boat service a few minutes' walk away. Needs refurbishment fairly soon but otherwise terrific, will be back.

 COTTAGE DELIGHT

Review by ROS on 1/24/16 1:26 AM

We love the cottage rain or shine, easter or christmas. It is perfect. we fish we surf we ski. we make use of the jetty birth or can park the boat and trailer in the yard. the dogs can run around. there is a new stove so we can cook inside or outside (big weber Q) the view from the deck is magic. Heaps of sleeping options all linen provided. Big screen TV.kids can walk anywhere from the cottage.Maintained to a high standard without losing that country get away feel (not pretentious) two bathrooms two toilets . you cannot help but enjoy and feel refreshed from your time at the cottage. The owners are really nice people who want you to enjoy your stay and make a big effort to make sure it is all up to scratch.

 Unit 1

Review by unit 1 on 1/17/16 6:09 PM

My hubby, 2 kids & I stayed in Unit 1. We found the location to be fantastic, as hubby is a mad fisherman, & our 2 boys could walk themselves to get an ice cream, and to get the newspaper for us! The unit itself was very clean and had enough space for the 4 of us, downside was that the couch was only big enough for two, and was very uncomfortable. There also wasn't an oven, which would have been fine if we were only staying 2 nights, but when staying there for a week, made things harder, when there also wasn't a bbq. Overall, we would definately use Bruce's again, but maybe we would try one of the other Units next time.

 Double the fun

Review by Lazzas on 1/16/16 2:59 AM

You absolutely cannot beat the hospitality and care given by everyone at Bruce's!!! We were made to feel so completely at home and were lucky enough to enjoy the beautiful Fishermans cottage for a few days while our in laws were there. Our Unit 6 was clean & immaculately presented for what it is & the position is gorgeous on the water. All the little things are thought of for you and your holiday is made super easy because nothing is too much trouble! The amenities in the Fishermans cottage were fantastic : loads of kitchen space and plenty of extra linen etc .. bundles of kindling and endless firewood made 3-4 days of constant rain no problem at all. The dogs loved snooping around the property and also felt very much at home!! So worth a visit to Bruce's!! Thank you all

 Unit Number 7

Review by tilly on 12/30/15 9:40 PM

We stayed for 3 nights from 20 Dec. Perfect size unit for my sister, dog and I. Location fantastic and although certainly not luxury had everything we needed and very comfortable beds. Quiet spot (before the crowds arrived). Would definitely come again in off season and yes, Ian was very helpful and obliging. View of lake was stunning.

 Excellent Stay in Perfect House and Location

Review by Sandy on 9/21/15 4:06 AM

Fishermen's Cottage was a very well appointed house in a perfect location, right in the heart of Mallacoota. The house was well set out with a well equipped kitchen, a comfortable living area and ample space with three bedrooms. The front deck had a fabulous view of the lake and was the perfect location for breakfast and to plan the day's activities. The shops are within easy walking distance, as is boat hire and walking trails. Mallacoota is a very special location with Croajingalong National Park on the doorstep, fishing and beautiful beaches. We brought our dog and the fencing was 100% secure: she loved the stay as much as us! We would stay again without hesitation. Special thanks to Ian who was super easy to deal with and accommodated our every need during our stay. We loved every minute of our holiday!

 unit 1

Review by Jan on 7/6/15 3:51 PM

We spent a week in unit 1. It was spotlessly clean, with 2 comfy bedrooms. Or dog was welcome inside. It is an easy walk to the lake and to town. Fantastic cycling and walking around the lake. And the price was VERY reasonable. We will come again.

 Fishing,Shopping,Bush walking

Review by Haluk on 6/4/15 3:13 AM

Good spot for Fishing,Close to Shopping,Bush walking,,Friendly owners\Good clean Unit,,I'll be comming back,And I alltough told some of my friend..Thank you...

 Unit 6 with views

Review by Regulars on 5/16/15 6:02 AM

Great location close to everything, so you can walk to shops, beach, Boardwalk. Good for the dog; great views of the lake and very handy having a jetty right out the front to moor the boat. The unit is old but adequate; could do with a spruce up and a decent frypan, some new towels and better lighting in the kitchen/lounge area, but otherwise has what you need. We had great weather for the whole week so enjoyed the walks and beach without the crowds that are common over the Christmas period. We even caught fish!

 Great for the boys

Review by Ashley on 4/13/15 6:40 AM

Stayed in apartment overlooking the lake for 10 nights over Easter. Positives Great price Great Location Great View Great big TV Nice and bright Plenty of boat parking Negatives Dated No exhaust van in bathroom and window broken Water runs hot and cold Needs a good spring clean to get rid of all the dust and a new comfortable couch Conclusion Great for the boys I plan to return in June school holidays

 Awesomw

Review by Navarro on 4/13/15 6:07 AM

The stayed in the unit was awesome given that we were accomodated even fro a big family. Very nice view and very quite as well, when you needed a good rest at night tme after a long day outing. It is a well suited unit to stay. Very close to everything.Impress with the high technology used by the caretaker providing receipt for final payment. My only suggestion, maybe next time free WIFI will be available ad like other accomodation offers. Otherwise, we will be definitely come back in the summer.

 Cottage

Review by Syd on 4/9/15 3:07 AM

We stayed in the fisherman's cottage on our recent trip to Mallacoota and it had all we needed. The cottage is old and a bit of a mix of lots of things and styles but it was great for us and our dogs and we were lucky enough to have a couple of cold days so we could light the stove and open fire, Neil is probably sorry he showed my husband where the wood heap was!! It is within close walking distance to the local shops and fabulous walking tracks around the lake. Don't go here if you want a 5 star holiday. We love it and will be back again. Came home feeling very relaxed

 Outstanding!

Review by Outstanding! on 3/2/15 5:02 AM

Our little family recently stayed in unit 2 and thoroughly enjoyed our time. There was ample space for a porta cot in the spare bedroom for our 3 month old daughter and our bundle of energy dog did have to sleep inside but had a blast in the fenced yard (under supervision ). The amenities inside the unit had everything that we required for a 5 day stay. Bruce's Waterside Units can't be beaten for location, price and hospitality. Caretaker Neil gave us a fantastic run down on what the unit contained and other guests from other units (semi regulars) were very friendly. The pet friendly aspect is win win with money saved on boarding kennels and being able to see the enjoyment your pet gets with being out in great surrounds. We will be back with hopefully a bigger family next time.

 The Kelly's

Review by The Kelly's on 12/23/14 12:18 AM

I agree with other reviews, although basic, the accommodation is clean and comfortable and the water views from unit 6 were a welcome relief from the city surrounds we usually have to put up with. Our dog Walter was very comfortable and safe too! It is also very convenient to get to the shops and the pub which suited us well. Cheers and all the best for the new year.

 Room 1 review

Review by RonM on 11/20/14 6:39 AM

Although we are not regular reviewers this Unit was such a pleasant surprise we should say something...We recently stayed a couple of nights in Bruces Waterside units. It is not five star but is was spotlessly clean and comfortable and everything worked. Being disabled , in a wheelchair, I would score it 9 out of 10 for accessibility. No steps, spacious bathroom , plenty of handrails, wide door ways. It is well positioned close to shops, the wharf and the centre of Mallacoota. Heartily recommend it as great value.

 Unit 6

Review by Camper  on 11/11/14 6:20 AM

Twice a year we head to Mallacoota camping. This year we stayed in accommodation due to having family with us. The main reason we booked Bruce's was because of the fact you could take pets. The affordable price also helped. Neil the care taker was so friendly and welcoming The views and location are fantastic. There is a paddock you can use to let your dogs run around, but otherwise they do have to be jnside with you, or tied up which wasn't clear on they Stayz website. This made it difficult with two big dogs as we thought there was an enclosed backyard for the units - which would be great!!! Unit was clean and tidy, shower could do with an upgrade and oven trays provided for the oven, but otherwise couldn't fault the unit. We will be back

 A couple of days in Mallacoota

Review by B&J on 8/4/14 5:50 AM

A very clean, lovely unit. Well situated close to shops, beach and walks through bush. The enclosed dog area didn't work for our Cavalier who found a way out under the gate in 2 minutes, but everything else worked well. We loved Mallacoota and will return, next time with our caravan. This is not 5 star accommodation but it doesn't pretend to be. I give it 5 stars for doing what it does as well as it does.

 Great place to stay

Review by Vikki on 7/16/14 4:32 AM

We stayed in unit 7 for a week in winter and it served our needs in every way! It was budget-friendly, pet-friendly and kid-friendly! The unit was basic but it had everything we needed including a secure paddock out the back for our 10- month old puppy to run around in. The private mooring was a great bonus! We would definitely come back to Mallacoota and we would definitely stay here again!

 View is worth a million dollars

Review by Fisherman's Cottage on 4/11/14 10:50 PM

We stayed in the fisherman's cottage on our recent trip to Mallacoota and it had all we needed. The cottage is old and a bit of a mix of lots of things and styles but it was great for us and our dog. Within close walking distance to the local shops and fabulous walking tracks around the lake. By far the best place to stay if your wanting pet friendly accommodation. Don't go here if you want a 5 star holiday, go to a big city. That is the charm of Mallacoota, it's a fishing village and is visited by people who enjoy the simplicity of the place. We love it and will be back again

 Long weekend at Mallacoota

Review by Karen & Andrew on 3/17/14 3:12 AM

We were very happy with our unit which overlooked the water. It was very clean and provided everything we needed. Neil was very friendly and helpful.

 Fishergirl

Review by Di on 2/10/14 12:18 AM

My husband and I along with our faithful pooch 'George' have stayed at Unit 2 before, but this time we stayed in Unit 1. The price is affordable, especially when we don't camp anymore. We found the extra space was great and easier to move around. We bring our boat and the car/boat space is beneficial. Everything was supplied so all we had to bring was all our stuff. It is such a handy spot and we always incorporate a dinner at the pub which is so close. The unit was clean, bright and comfortable. The caretaker, Neil was friendly and helpful and happy to help with any questions or queries. We'll definitely be coming back for another fishing escapade. I recommend Bruce's flats to my friends and workmates.

 Unit 1

Review by Fleabag on 1/14/14 8:30 PM

The Unit was beautifully presented and very clean. Was very impressed and would certainly stay again. The location of the unit is perfect, stones throw to both street and boat ramp! The only thing as a family of 5 waw that the couch was seating for two however there was amply dining chairs. Highly recommend Bruces to anyone!

 Unit 2

Review by Steve on 11/30/13 10:24 PM

The unit was spacious, which we appreciated, as there were four of us. Only couch space for two, unfortunately. We found it limiting to have a microwave oven with no microwave cooking dishes, and there were no salad bowls. (We donated a couple.) Great to have a toploading washing machine (and detergent to use in it.) The bedding looked a bit tired in this otherwise nicely refurbished unit. Neil, the caretaker, was very helpful. We'll come again.

 Pet friendly unit

Review by Kirby on 11/10/13 5:18 AM

Trevor & Jenny were once again very pleased with the welcoming one gets. After a 7 hour drive we had no hassle about accessing the unit. To our surprise the next morning we awoke to a gorgeous view of the inlet. We are always grateful when a place is pet friendly as we were visiting a daughter who was longing to see our dog, Kirby. |The bathroom/laundry was cosy and upgraded and for the amount of time we were there the kitchen was adequate. It was apparent that the last portion of the unit due for renovation were the bedrooms but what was available was comfortable.

 Fishermans cottage and Unit 1

Review by Di on 9/19/13 12:51 AM

The cottage was just perfect for us with children and a dog. It is all fenced and in a great location. reasonably priced. Hospitality great. Looking forward to the next stay.

 Had a wonderful time

Review by dusky flathead & crew on 8/28/13 6:25 PM

We spent a week at Bruce's Cottage during the colder months of the year and had the most relaxing time. This was our 6th stay at the cottage, however it was our first winter stay as we usually go in summer when the flathead fishing is the best. We took our 7 month old pup and were satisfied that the property was well secured. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean (the bath was a treat) and we had enough firewood to see the winter out. A couple of newer, more comfy sofas would have made sitting in front of the fireplace perfect. The private jetty was so convenient and the outlook form the front deck was magic... We had dinner at the local pub a few times and it was relaxed and delicious. Looking forward to arranging another trip there as soon as possible. I highly recommend the cottage to anyone.

 Fishermans cottage

Review by Bruces (no relation) on 8/4/13 3:41 AM

This is the second time our family have met in the Fishermans cottage, so we knew what to expect. The renovations in the bathrooms were great, but the noisy fan in the outside bathroom was a bit off putting. Really enjoyed the open fire again, and the great position of the cottage, close to the water, and not far from the shops. My daughter loved having her dog with her. All in all, a great 3 days.

 Unit No 2

Review by Sunny on 6/23/13 6:09 PM

Stayed in Unit No 2 at the start of winter so heavy rain welcomed us. Unit was very cosy and welcoming and clean. Rooms were large with lots of pillows and blankets. Kitchen was very well equipped though a chopping board would have been welcome. Loved the electric bbq! Short walk down to the sea and to the charming little village. We had to spend a lot of time indoors due to the rain but thouroughly enjoyed every minute of it, the LCD TV with HDMI connections helped as we had brought our bluray player. Will definitely be back hopefully when the weather is a bit more welcoming so we can enjoy the fishing. (Would be good to have some bath soaps supplied in the bathroom and basin.)

 Lovely doggy holiday

Review by Christine & Wendy on 5/3/13 3:40 AM

My dog and I did the whole Mallacoota Coastal Walk (not the National Park bit) and the Heritage Walk and then enjoyed the view from our unit in the afternoon when we had a rest. I could cook meals, do washing and my dog could stay, which was everything I wanted. The only suggestion would be a guest soap in the bathroom for the toilet visit on arrival before unpacking.

 Our stay Unit 2

Review by Chris and Graeme on 4/14/13 11:04 PM

My husband and I had a wonderful stay and will book into the same unit again in the future. We found everything new and very clean. Bed covers were clean but very old fashioned - that was ok, as we brought our own doona and pollows. Neil was a great caretaker, very helpfull. I gave only 3 stars as 4 stars would provide hairdryers, well stocked barfridge and the normal soaps and shampoos etc. We have no complaints and will definately be back -only to unit 1 or 2. The others don't look too inviting!

 Thankyou

Review by Wobblyone on 4/8/13 4:51 AM

We stayed in unit 7 for Easter and had a fantastic time. Mallacoota was a pleasant surprise and very easy to get around ( even on my mobility scooter ) The unit was neat and clean and our two cocker spaniels were allowed to share our break which was great. The bed was comfortable and the facilities very adequate. Neil the Caretaker was really helpful and we very much appreciated his assistance. Whilst the units are ageing, they allow those of us who wish to take our pets on holiday to do so in comfort and safety. I am sure there are many who appreciate this facility. Thankyou for having us and we will be back.

 Mrs

Review by Jeannie on 3/26/13 12:40 AM

Fantastic views and close to villiage, the unit was well equiped and comfortable.The manager was very helpful and friendly and our dog Jessie was able to run around in a fenced off area. I would recommend this to our friends

 not what we expected

Review by californians on 3/6/13 3:34 AM

We are traveling for 9 weeks and rating each of our accommodations. Sadly this came second to bottom of our experiences. The floor plan was awkward. It is hard to find the bathroom during the night. The bed was very uncomfortable, and the pillows were as hard as rock. The overall atmosphere was depressing. On top of all that the electricity was out village wide for one of the two days we were there. Clearly the caretaker knew this was a planned outage and the owner should have informed us of that before we booked. Had we known we wouldn't have stayed as we had medications requiring refrigeration. While we were there during the power outage the fridge and freezer defrosted onto the floor. A sad mistake.