Reviews for Cave Run Cabins at the Brownwood

Morehead, Kentucky

 Great place p0

Review by Lou on 7/27/18 4:47 PM

Wonderful place. Nice and clean. Very relaxing.

 WV get away

Review by Foxy on 6/10/18 2:21 AM

We enjoyed our stay there Thank you we will be staying there again

 3 day weekend

Review by Little Foxy  on 5/6/18 1:13 AM

We enjoyed our stay at Cave Run Cabins at the Brownwood. We stayed in cabin 3. We will come back to Cave Run again for another visit. The refrigerator in our cabin didn't work but that didn't stop us from having a wonderful weekend at Cave Run Cabins at the Brownwood. Thank you for a lovely stay.

 Enjoyed my stay, but...

Review by Laura on 4/2/18 9:06 AM

First, the good. We stayed in the Premium Cabin #4. The cabin was clean, linens were clean (could still smell the detergent on the blankets), loved the side patio, decor was nice, stocked fairly well with kitchen essentials, and the outside surroundings were very nice as well. Pricing was great and would pay that over a hotel at that cost any day! Things that need to be worked on. A do not disturb sign would be good. On the first day there, we were taking a nap when we got a knock on the door to check on how things were going. That was a nice gesture, but I did get woken up. The next morning, I went to take a shower and there only a trickle coming out of the shower. I cleaned myself up using the sink. Later that day, my husband said the shower was working fine. So I thought great, I don't need to call and I'll take a shower in the morning. The shower was working fine, at first, then after lathering my hair up it went back down to the trickle. I am not sure what the issue was with it, but it definitely needs to be addressed/fixed. Thank you for the stay! I would definitely come back, just probably switch up the cabin that we stayed in.

 Enjoyed my stay, but...

Review by Laura on 4/2/18 9:06 AM

First, the good. We stayed in the Premium Cabin #4. The cabin was clean, linens were clean (could still smell the detergent on the blankets), loved the side patio, decor was nice, stocked fairly well with kitchen essentials, and the outside surroundings were very nice as well. Pricing was great and would pay that over a hotel at that cost any day! Things that need to be worked on. A do not disturb sign would be good. On the first day there, we were taking a nap when we got a knock on the door to check on how things were going. That was a nice gesture, but I did get woken up. The next morning, I went to take a shower and there only a trickle coming out of the shower. I cleaned myself up using the sink. Later that day, my husband said the shower was working fine. So I thought great, I don't need to call and I'll take a shower in the morning. The shower was working fine, at first, then after lathering my hair up it went back down to the trickle. I am not sure what the issue was with it, but it definitely needs to be addressed/fixed. Thank you for the stay! I would definitely come back, just probably switch up the cabin that we stayed in.

 Premium Suite

Review by Sam on 3/19/18 7:47 AM

My wife and I rented the premium suite for our anniversary weekend get away. We were pleased with the accommodations and found the owner very helpful and easy to work with. We had no problems during our stay.

 Hunt

Review by Hunt  on 12/14/17 9:12 AM

I hope we can rent a cabin every year nice place to stay .

 Hunting season cabins

Review by The Sterns on 11/27/17 4:22 PM

We always have a great stay in the "Big House" or the smaller cabins during deer season.. three stays so far this year! The owners are great to deal with and the cabins are clean and have everything we need. The beds in cabin 2 are awesome! Thanks a bunch and we'll be back!

 Cabin stay

Review by John Hughes on 9/11/17 12:24 PM

My wife and really enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again in the future

 Love Brownwood Cabins

Review by Jennifer Hammond on 8/21/17 10:36 AM

This is a review I hesitate to write in the way that we don't want to give away our favorite little gem in Cave Run;) We have been staying @ the Brownwood since 2006 & it's 100% our home away from home when we are visiting the lake. The cabins (all of them including the suite) are everything you need for a getaway at a great price. Comfy beds, cute little kitchenette(in Cabins 1-4, the suite has a full size kitchen), fair size bathrooms, a grill for your use at each cabin & a fire pit stocked with wood. Fantastic central location to Morehead & Scott Creek Marina. Why stay at a hotel when you can have privacy & the rustic nature of these cabins? Thanks to Donna for always taking care of us, we'll see you soon!

 Deluxe cabin

Review by Lisa on 8/6/17 8:24 AM

The fire pit / bonfire area was great! The cabin refrigerator did not keep things cold and was too small. The toilet seat was broken and kept falling off.

 Great get away

Review by Karishawn26  on 7/30/17 3:22 PM

We enjoyed our stay! Everything was very clean. Anything you could need in the kitchen was there. We enjoyed the fire pit as well. The gas grill was also a nice touch, were able to have friends over and grilled burgers for everyone. Will definitely stay here again.

 Great time

Review by Net on 6/25/17 8:51 PM

I recently went with a group of 17. I rented all 4 cabins and the entire big house,which is upstairs and downstairs. We had a great time,things were clean and we had everything we needed and more. Sheets,towels,soap,laundry detergent,dish detergent..... you name it we had it. Thanks again to Amber for all your help while Donna was away,as we locked our keys in our cabin 2 times.

 Wonderful Spacious Get Away!

Review by Jen on 5/22/17 1:17 PM

We rented the "big house" for my son's graduation weekend. It had plenty of space for all of our out of town guest and everything we needed was readily available in the cabin kitchen. The front porch was the perfect place to sit and visit with views of the hills near by. It was within a 15 minute drive of Morehead and about a 10 minute drive to Twin Knobs Campground where other members of our party were staying. Donna was very accommodating and flexible to our schedule. I would STRONGLY recommend Cave Run Cabins at Brownwood for anyone looking for a larger cabin close to everything.

 Super Nice Cabins

Review by W.r.t.  on 4/2/17 6:44 AM

Super nice cabins. Very clean and comfortable. Yes I will recommend And stay again.

 Weekend stay

Review by Weekend stay on 11/27/16 7:50 AM

Will definitely stay here again - cozy, clean and quiet. Close proximity to the marina.

 YES

Review by YES on 11/21/16 11:21 AM

This was an overall great place to stay. I would highly recommend it. It was very nice and very quiet it was a great get away for us.

 Great Cabins

Review by Neal on 10/16/16 5:58 AM

We stayed a weekend in cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. Close to the lake and tackle shops.Very friendly owners they even mailed me my phone charger that I left at the cabin. They definitely deserve 5 stars.

 Comfortable cabins, excellent location

Review by Queencityfan on 9/6/16 7:49 AM

We spent a weekend at the lake staying in cabin # 1. It was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. It was very close to Scott Marina which gave us more time at the lake. We would stay here again without question.

 Comfort and Hospitality

Review by Travelin Man on 8/14/16 11:08 AM

A great place within easy driving distance of just about any family nature attraction and a great area placed among beautiful Eastern Kentucky horizons. They are very accommodating, pleasant, and provide you with just about everything you'd want. They've earned these five stars.

 Our experience was amazing

Review by Alexis  on 8/14/16 8:52 AM

The cabin was extremely nice and clean, a very relaxing get away. Stayed the weekend for a honeymoon and we loved it. Our view was beautiful and there was so many beautiful things to see. I definitely recommend Cave Run Cabins. I will definitely be going back myself.

 Family organizer

Review by Jenny on 7/31/16 2:51 PM

What a wonderful weekend we had in the entire Suite- annual family renunion and the house left nothing to be desired- great kitchen set up- many extras- our beach house wasn't this equipped and it sleep 28!! Love the fire pit, outdoor porch and will def bring our dogs next year. Also loved the extra touches around the cabin- highly recommend!

 Brilliant!

Review by M on 6/17/16 3:19 AM

Stayed here for 12 nights and it could not have been any better. Everything was brilliant (hence the title) and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. The cabins are lovely and the suite in the main building is nicer than my apartment! If you don't fancy cooking, Pop's BBQ is only 2 minutes up the road and Morehead with restaurants, supermarkets and bakeries is only 15 minutes drive. A fantastic place to stay and I hope to be able to come back.

 Very nice place

Review by Dan on 5/1/16 10:31 AM

My friend and I accidentally stumbled upon this place. I must say it was a great experience. The hospitality was wonderful. Susan went out of her way welcoming us and making us feel right at home. We mentioned cooking out hotdogs for our evening meal around the firepit and she came back to our cabin with matches and tools to use when we roasted the wieners. I stay in a lot of different condos when traveling and I must say this cabins had an abundance of supplies. I would have given this place a five star rating but you could tell that it needed a lot of love as far as care. Such as decking needed pressure washed and re stained etc. but again you must realize these are cabins in the woods. Another great thing about this place was its location. It was handy to everything!

 Great stay

Review by Dee on 3/6/16 10:17 AM

We stayed in the Premium cabin and loved it- quiet and close to all the local attractions. We'll be back.

 Loved It

Review by Lacey on 2/7/16 10:43 AM

My mom, sisters, and I stayed here for a weekend in mid January and we had a blast! Great small cabins with everything you need, except a stove! Near a beautiful lake and a small town up the road with everything you need! Cabin was clean and well kept!

 Excellent!

Review by Excellent accomodations on 1/4/16 4:08 PM

As one guest mentioned, the outside is a normal appearing day to day lake cabin; however, the inside is extremely elegant and clean. We stayed in the suite upstairs and was able to comfortably sleep 5 adult guests and had room to spare. There is plenty of parking and if you have a fur baby (dog), the outside fenced area is so nice. The owners are very friendly and easy to work with. The pictures really don't do it justice. Will definitely stay here again!

 Excellent Stay

Review by Anonymous on 11/22/15 9:01 AM

Cabin on the outside wasn't impressive looking, but once you get inside it was very impressive. cleanliness was very high (much better than any hotel i've stayed at).all the locals were friendly down in Frenchburg and the surrounding areas. Fish hatchery was closed when my family stayed there but it would have been a cool thing to check out earlier in the year. very close to the local town for whatever stores you want to see, yet far enough out in the country to feel alone. My family plans on visiting these cabins again in the future.

 great neighbors

Review by The Nut Guy on 11/3/15 7:58 AM

I travel for work, and spend a lot of time and nights in hotels and various accomodations. Pricewise, i found Cave Run to be as well priced as most hotel rooms. But i've never found a hotel to be more peaceful, nor as pleasant an experience. A top ten, beautiful place to stay, and my preferred accomodations when down this way. Enjoy your stay.

 Highly Recommended...

Review by Chris&Steve on 10/27/15 7:41 AM

We stayed at Cave Run Cabins while in Kentucky exploring my family history. The lodging was perfect; clean, well-equipped, and very convenient. Just as advertised! Highly recommended.

 Real nice

Review by Teri on 10/24/15 8:58 AM

We rented cabin 1 and for 2 people it was perfect. It was nicely furnished and had everything we could need. We were able to park right outside our door and had a covered porch with chairs to sit and smoke. It was so quiet and peaceful! Our only complaint is that the shower faucet was messed up so that the water never got hot only sorta warm. I hate to complain about it though since it could be easily fixed. It was easy to find and we are generally very pleased.

 Very Nice!

Review by The Bushes on 9/27/15 5:16 PM

We were very satisfied with our stay. We stayed for family weekend for MSU. Close enough to campus to visit with our child and far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. I never sleep well away from home the first night I stay somewhere but I slept like a rock there! My husband already said we are going to book again for next year! Thanks Susan for the hospitality!

 Fantastic Weekend

Review by Vicki on 8/24/15 6:19 AM

I highly recommend Cave Run Cabins for a memorable fun weekend. My family and I had a great time and now have many new memories. Susan and her husband were very welcoming and the premium cabin has everything you could ever need. The campfire was definite plus. The lake is close and renting a pontoon for the day was very easy. I am already looking forward to next year!

 premium cabin

Review by The Townson Family on 7/30/15 8:54 AM

The premium cabin is wonderful! Very clean and comfortable. We brought our two dogs with us and the fenced yard is great. We had an awesome stay. We definitely recommend staying here and we will be back!

 Great Time for 12

Review by The Lackey Family on 7/27/15 7:30 AM

Our fun family weekend included 9 adults, 2 babies and a dog - we stayed at the large cabin. Key points to our comfort enabling a wonderful visit include: - Kitchens very well stocked made preparing meals easy - Three full bathrooms comfortably accommodated our group - Upstairs bedrooms/bathroom/kitchen/tv gave needed privacy for two couples plus baby - Two napping babies easy to accommodate with room set up - rest of group still able to visit - Large porch was AWESOME! - Fenced yard was safe & easily accessible from cabin for dog - Washer & Dryer extremely helpful - left with clothes clean (what a difference) - Lake was close for swimming & boating - Amazing Fish hatchery just across road - enjoyed checking it out - Nearby playgrounds were clean, safe & fun - Runners in family had plenty of good road - Owners made arriving and departing EASY WE WOULD ENJOY RETURNING!!!!!!!

 4th of July getaway

Review by Sterns on 7/12/15 7:15 AM

Thanks Susan for another great weekend at the premium cabin. We love having the cozy covered porch to relax at in the evenings. The enclosed porch and fenced in yard are perfect for the dogs. We had a fun day fishing at Cave Run Lake, thanks for recommending the boat rentals that was an easy way to go. Caught enough bluegill for a fish fry and again the kitchen was so nice to have for cooking all our meals. Have a blessed summer...hope to see you later this year.

 Cave run

Review by The Griffins on 7/8/15 7:08 AM

Very nice and a very pretty view of the fish hatchery, only a few minutes from boat dock the fenced in yard is very nice for dogs and safe, service was very good the lake is a lot nicer than any in Ohio, wish we lived a lot closer. Gas on the lake double the price will never buy it there again.

 Nice time in Cabin 4

Review by the Bat on 6/25/15 11:55 AM

We enjoyed this cabin so much that we spent the whole first day just in the cabin alone. Carport to park under was an unexpected plus. Everything was cozy and clean. Air Conditioning was great and so was wifi. We recommend this cabin to anyone who is after a good value. Not for everyone, I'm sure. We did not finish enough of the area so we will be back.

 Recommend to All!

Review by Newton's on 6/24/15 9:29 AM

My family and I stopped at a nearby festival and thought we would stay at the Cave Run Cabins at the Brownwood for the afternoon and night after we left the festival. SO glad we found this getaway spot! Very quaint, quiet and lovely cabins! The cabin we stayed in was very clean and well kept. They had everything we needed for our overnight stay. It is a close drive to Cave Run Lake. We are already planning our next stay!!!

 A lovely place to stay...

Review by Wrengin on 6/19/15 7:31 PM

Living on a farm with twelve dogs makes it hard to get away. We found a farm sitter and my husband and I recently spent a quick two night retreat in the Premium Suite at the Brownwood. It was the perfect lodging for both us and two of our canine companions. Dog friendly and dog safe without a doubt! The covered porch with ceiling fan was a welcomed evening retreat. It was hard to pry ourselves away from both the comfort of the porch, as well as the view. The mountain bike trails were around the corner… Absolute perfection!

 T-Day Vacation 2014

Review by T-Day Vacation 2014 on 12/2/14 10:36 AM

Very well laid out Cabin with great parking and an impressive view of the Mountain Side. Despite the name, we did not see a lake but did enjoy our stay. The little one enjoyed walking the country-side and taking in all of the wonder. *Comfy Bed in Cabin* Great to be able to relax and sleep after a long day on the road.

 A great place to relax!

Review by Karen McC on 10/19/14 1:33 AM

We rented the house, had a wonderful time and found it very comfortable and homey. We were two couples, but we could have brought all the children and grandchildren for the size of it! Our little dog loved being free to run in the fenced yard, it was nice knowing she was protected while off-leash. The bedding and towels were nice, everything you could need in the kitchen, washer and dryer, and large TV's with satellite to watch the fall college football games! The only suggestion is to add some brighter lightbulbs in the kitchen prep. area. I will definitely recommend Cave Run to our friends and family!

 Cozy Cabin Retreat

Review by Rose on 10/11/14 6:31 AM

My husband and I stayed in one of these cozy little cabins with our 10 year old daughter and her friend. It was better than expected. The cabin was very clean and the bathroom was nice. We enjoyed the campfire area for roasting marshmallows and making s'mores. We would love to come back in the summer and enjoy the Lake. Our only complaint was the mattress, we woke with sore backs.

 Better than some, not as good as others

Review by Indy hiker on 10/7/14 7:11 AM

Ihad an immediate issue, but it was corrected. The deluxe cabin I stayed in was very nice. They are the only cabins with a view, but the view is minimal since tree/brush growth has impeded line-of-sight. This could be a great place, but needs a bit more attention to the grounds. I would recommend it to friends based on owner response to my issue and location to Cave Run Lake.

 Fantastic place

Review by Buck's mom on 9/9/14 6:47 AM

We have stayed at the cabins a number of times because our daughter lives in Morehead. The cabins have always been clean and comfortable. We've been able to bring our dog, Buck, along since they are pet friendly . It is such a nice choice instead of staying at a hotel/motel and the price is in line for the service you receive.

 Ranger

Review by Joe on 9/8/14 5:07 AM

Parking was the only issue. Other wise was all I expected.

 Perfect stop!

Review by 3kidsandadog on 8/14/14 6:47 AM

I found Cave Run Cabins on my phone while on a road trip. We needed dog friendly lodgings and my kids wanted a camp fire. Could not have found a more perfect spot! Very clean and cute decor inside. Great views and fabulous fire pit where we met other guests and shared marshmallows. I only wish we could have stayed another day. Maybe next year!

 Heavenly stay

Review by Buddy Bear on 8/7/14 5:58 PM

We had the most delightful time! The cabin was perfect, the view was perfect and the hospitality could not be beat. I have told everyone I know about this getaway. Thank you Donna for everything.

 Vacation

Review by Ben  on 8/3/14 9:18 AM

Hope to stay there many years to come . My Wife and I have stayed there a couple of times and have really enjoyed the time there , seems that we always try to extend it. The people are great and willing to make your stay great and the cabins are very nice .

 Family gathering

Review by sha on 7/20/14 7:29 AM

We had a great experience in the cabins in July 2014. Family reunion and surprise for my brother's 80th birthday. The cabins were nice, beds comfortable and amenities very adequate. We gathered by the big fire pit in the evenings, Plenty of room for the kids to run, catch lightning bugs, and play games. Donna was a very accomodating hostess and make sure all our needs were met.