Reviews for Balsam Cove Campground

Orland, Maine

 Great time

Review by Momma on 9/28/20 9:00 AM

We had a fantastic time, our camper was clean and comfortable. We look forward to coming back next year!

 Nice!

Review by Jerry on 9/22/20 9:50 AM

Great Campground. Even in Covid Era we felt safe. Staff was very friendly/helpful. Stayed on waterfront site...too cold to swim when we visited but the place is just beautiful and will stay again when in the area. WiFi was very good.

 Loved it

Review by Rosieh on 9/22/20 7:10 AM

New campers 2 adults and dog. Had done a preliminary drive thru previously and liked what saw so came back to use for a base to scout out other 5 campgrounds trenton/Ellsworth area and will be coming back here as much preferred. Great family cpg. Happy with water site. Only downside can think of is wifi not great for laptop tv but won't stop us from going back and maybe with grandkids 😁

 Camping

Review by Greg mooy on 9/21/20 5:16 PM

Very nice campground! Very quiet and clean. We have camped there several times before and it's one of our favorite places

 Camping

Review by Greg mooy on 9/21/20 5:16 PM

Very nice campground! Very quiet and clean. We have camped there several times before and it's one of our favorite places

 Lacking

Review by Bigcamper on 9/18/20 10:50 AM

Stayed in rented camper. Clearly NOT cleaning according to CDC recommendation. A/C filter coated in grime, dirty smudges in shower. Only real nice aspect is the location. Bring your own cleaning supplies!

 Great camping

Review by TraceyR79 on 9/15/20 4:16 AM

Booked as our first trip in our new camper for Labor Day and couldn’t have been more pleased with the facility. Clean. Friendly. Lots to do for kids. HUGE

 Great camping

Review by TraceyR79 on 9/15/20 4:16 AM

Booked as our first trip in our new camper for Labor Day and couldn’t have been more pleased with the facility. Clean. Friendly. Lots to do for kids. HUGE

 Mrs

Review by Denise on 9/14/20 5:39 AM

We had a great time! Relaxed and friendly atmosphere! Great place to bring our family. We will be coming to visit again!

 Awesome

Review by Jesse on 9/13/20 9:35 AM

My favorite place to go camping. The people that work and run this place are wonderful.

 Watch out for pricing issues

Review by Acadia21 on 9/3/20 7:09 AM

I talked to an agent of the company to make a reservation, you get a price and it's agreed upon (a contract). I put a deposit down and then paid the rest a few days later to make sure that I had my rental and things were all set because flying in for a vacation, the last thing that I would want is to have issues. I've been coming here for years and thought I was all set until I showed up. I was informed that the agent made a mistake and that they quoted me the wrong price and that I owed another $127 dollars or something like that. I was furious and was told that the person who did that is no longer there and I could speak to the manager, the owners son Justin, about it. Well that wasn't the only issue. The AC in the unit was frozen which made for a hot night. Thanks for Tom for fixing. Then the last people in the RV didn't do something and crap kept seeping back up in the toilet. Tom to the rescue. So when it's time to check out, I talk with Justin about the outstanding bill. Again, it's paid for and I have a receipt. He said that Jennifer, who took the reservation, made a mistake and that I owe the money. I asked how an agent for the company who has the power to take reservations, quote prices, and take payment isn't locked into that once it's paid for like a contract (which if you look under Chapter 2 for Consumer Contracts from the Maine Attorney Generals documents under chapter 2.3 for the 3 exceptions, already paid for goods and services, a written contract is not needed). Justin said fine, don't pay it but I'll be getting it from you one way or another. That was a threat. I doubt that I will want to deal with that or him again. The campground needs updating and I guess that it's too much money or they are pinching pennies. Don't go - it's not worth the headaches.

 Very Nice Pond Side Campground

Review by George on 8/27/20 9:11 AM

We traveled a short distance to this campground to visit friends who live in the area and others visiting the area. We have a 23' travel trailer and stayed in site #9 very close to the water, though not quite right on it. The site itself was quite large but a little difficult to back into if you were following the road directions, I had to adjust and come "in the out road" so to speak to back in comfortably, but beyond that it was very nice. The staff were very accommodating! We had rented a pontoon boat for the day from the campground but woke to rather rough conditions that made me nervous, and they let us cancel the boat with no charges. Won't find that everywhere! My only warning to guests is make sure you've got your food on board! Not much in the way of good food really nearby! :) We'd go back in a heartbeat! Thanks Balsam Cove!

 Q.

Review by Ellen on 8/26/20 6:01 PM

We stayed in one of the cabins and had a great time...staff was friendly and helpful. First time here but not the last. Grandkids camped here in tents and loved the Halloween themed weekend.

 Weekend camping

Review by Amy on 8/24/20 7:46 AM

We always love going to Balsam cove. We love the swimming in the pond. The RV was great with the kids! I was told there was a grill and free to use, but the grill didn’t work. I was disappointed the snack shack was not open during the week anymore. It has been a lifesaver for picky kids. Overall, the stay was great!

 amazing experience !

Review by Krystal on 8/16/20 5:21 PM

We absolutely loved this campground ! Friendly staff clean and fun environment we can't wait to return again!

 Very Nice Campground

Review by TMP on 8/2/20 12:38 PM

Very clean campground and facilities. Like that there are wooded areas between camp sites. This year self contained campers are asked to use their own "facilities" leaving the campground "facilities" for campers without 'facilities". The "outhouses" in the tenting area are pretty unique and again very clean. The only negative are the rocks in the swimming area - stubbed our toes a bit but nothing unexpected for lake swimming. Great campground!

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 8/6/20 6:10 PM

We're so sorry for the assault on your toes. Unfortunately, we can't get rid of those stubbing rocks! Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and thanks for coming!

 Awesome

Review by Ken on 7/19/20 3:50 PM

Had a great time 4 of July week nice place to relax nice clean sites friendly people

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 8/6/20 6:11 PM

So glad you enjoyed your weekend. Come again when you can stay longer!

 Great Camping

Review by BM on 7/19/20 8:10 AM

Friendly service all around. Great for the Grand Kids....swimming, biking, awesome bonfire where my granddaughter met 2 new friends. We continue to return as many times as we can throughout the summer. Very pet friendly also. Thanks to the whole Balsam staff and keep up the great work and hospitality.

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 8/6/20 6:13 PM

Thank you for your kind words. Having happy campers is our goal and pleasure.

 Camper

Review by Shelly on 7/19/20 5:54 AM

Our stay at Balsam cove is always a great time. This year my granddaughter chose to have her birthday party here. When she was told she might not be able to, she didn't want a party at all. Thankfully, she could and as always a great time. The campsites are great, everyone has a smile here. I would recommend balsam cove to everyone.

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 8/6/20 6:14 PM

I'm so glad she had a happy birthday here. It makes us smile just hearing about it.

 July 4

Review by Sm on 7/12/20 7:55 AM

We spent 4 days over July 1-4. Family and friends joined us. Had good time . Full campground but never felt crowded. Fireworks were great. Grandchildren had good time. Everyone friendly. Be back again

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 8/6/20 6:16 PM

Glad you came and had a good time. Happy campers make everyone here happy too!

 Wonderful stay!

Review by JLR on 7/6/20 4:21 PM

Our Stay was perfect. We decided on this campground based on friends recommendations. Our site was perfect for our travel trailer, flat shady/sunny and a small view of the lake. The campground itself was clean and well maintained. We rented the pontoon boat for half a day and had a blast! Love the fact that they offer boat rentals! Also loved the big bon fire they had. We will be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 7/11/20 11:22 AM

Thank you JLR. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to make the Balsam Cove experience fun and when we hear we succeeded, we do a happy dance!!! Come again!

 Wonderful stay!

Review by JLR on 7/5/20 7:30 PM

Our Stay was perfect. We decided on this campground based on friends recommendations. Our site was perfect for our travel trailer, flat shady/sunny and a small view of the lake. The campground itself was clean and well maintained. We rented the pontoon boat for half a day and had a blast! Love the fact that they offer boat rentals! Also loved the big bon fire they had. We will be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

 Lovely

Review by Kc on 7/1/20 7:00 AM

We had a Site by boat launch, where we kept our boat For fishing. Site was a little small for our camper ( our fault for not being sure would fit our camper and truck on site) yet site very nice! Staff very friendly and willing to assist in any way. What facility we used were nice. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back!

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 7/11/20 11:26 AM

Kc, Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you had a good time despite the compact site. Some Balsam Cove campground sites were laid out when everything was smaller! Looking forward to your return!

 Lovely

Review by Kc on 7/1/20 7:00 AM

We had a Site by boat launch, where we kept our boat For fishing. Site was a little small for our camper ( our fault for not being sure would fit our camper and truck on site) yet site very nice! Staff very friendly and willing to assist in any way. What facility we used were nice. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back!

 Loved it

Review by Janet on 6/2/20 6:11 PM

I will say that, at first, I did not like our site. But Justin was quick to offer an alternative and work with us. However, we ended up staying at the original and I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! We had an awesome time. The evenings were very quiet, and I felt like we were the loud ones. No exception - everyone we met, was friendly and very helpful. Even though the amenities were closed, the grounds were clean, and well kept. We saw how they cleaned up after campers left to prepare for the next visitor. We are definitely planning another trip to visit.

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 7/11/20 11:28 AM

Wow, we are blushing at your words of praise. Thank you so much. We try hard to make your experience enjoyable and are pleased to hear we succeeded. Happy future camping!

 Camper

Review by Linda on 6/1/20 5:45 AM

We have been going to Balsm Cove every summer up to 3 times a season. Rates are reasonable and staff very nice and accommodating. They also have activities for the kids and they love it there as well. We highly recommend Balsm Cove for a fun and friendly camping experience.

Response From Balsam Cove Campground on 7/11/20 11:30 AM

Thank you, Linda! Great to hear Balsam Cove has lived up to your expectations. See you soon!