Reviews for Auberge Jeunesse a LouLou's Hostel

Charny (Quebec), Quebec

 Chauffage en été?

Review by Jacinthe on 8/13/17 6:45 PM

Je suis allee un 6 aout, c'est le plein ete. J'étais dans la petite maison en arriere. Il faisait chaud dans les chambres, mais un peu froid la nuit, la fournaise a parti a 4 heures du matin, ca fait du bruit et trop de chaleur. La petite maison est tranquille mais SVP pas de chauffage.

 chauffage en plein été

Review by Jacinthe on 8/13/17 7:40 AM

J'ai séjourné le 5 aout, en plein été. J'étais dans la petite maison à Cöté. La fournaise est partie et c'est le plein été. Cela mène un bruit d'enfer et m'a réveillée.La propriétaire me dit que son mari a oublié de l'arreter, ceci après une canicule, je ne comprends pas.

 Very cute hostel but way too far from the centre

Review by Very cute hostel but way too far from the centre on 5/20/17 1:23 AM

We were there for one night but we wanted to stay for the weekend. When we realized it was that far from the centre, we changed it for another one. The transfer service costs $6 and it's only 3 times a day: 10Am, 6pm, 10pm, this means we could not catch the intercar because it takes 20 mins to get to the main statioin, for the national park. And at the reception, we had no information about the car, it's best to come with the car.We lost a taxi ride. Anyways, the hostel is very cute and comfortable. And the areas are big and easy to chill there.

 Very nice and clean

Review by Grapeview on 7/21/15 9:06 AM

We enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very helpful and kind to us. We were able to converse in English with no problem. Everything was nice and clean. The location was great right off the highway. It was a very warm night, so air conditioning would have been nice, but the fans helped.

 Like at Home

Review by chingis on 7/20/15 6:04 PM

Stayed at 10 bed mixed dorm. Very clean, nice and pleasant stuff, delicious breakfast. A bit far from center, but on-demand shutlle service is very good. Maybe there is a lack of conditioning in mixed dorm - one night (when it was full) it was pretty hot inside.

 Excellent accueil !

Review by Kaci on 6/4/15 12:53 PM

J'ai passé une nuitée dans cette auberge. L'accueil était excellent avec le large sourire du charmant couple propriétaire. Le soir, autour d'un petit feu on a pas mal papoté dans une ambiance conviviale. La chambre était très clean et le séjour d'accueil est pas mal spacieux pour se détendre. Un merci pour ce très bon service. Kaci.

 Belle halte en région de Quebec

Review by Isabelle on 6/1/15 2:07 PM

Un très bon accueil pour cette auberge au calme épargnée par l'agitation du centre ville. Une belle disponibilité des gérants soucieux du confort de leurs clients, j'y suis restée seulement 2 nuits mais aurait eu plaisir à rester plus longtemps. La propreté des lieux est appréciable. Un bon point de départ pour des visites aux alentours.

 warmly received & place is well-arranged

Review by Paul Jung on 9/15/14 10:44 AM

I chose this hostel with the least expectation for a night sleep: Truth is, I would choose this one over 3-4 Stars-rated hotel for its own attraction points. 1. very well coordinated by André - such passionate man to run fairly 2. Backyard is near Train station - strangely, it did not bother at all but rather stirred my nostalgic feelings from the past. Finally, the price seems so reasonable than anywhere in QuebecCity. Do not go to Château Frontenac to burn your cash (or Credit) to stay in BUT do for other things.

 Brilliant

Review by JohnnyThruxton on 8/11/14 10:11 PM

Booked for 2 nights and exceeded expectations. There was off street and safe parking for the motorbikes, friendly welcome and fantastic rooms. The pub down the road was cool and the hostel sells beer!!!! Recommend using the shuttle into Old Quebec City...the man knows his history. This place is a must for any bikers passing through and just off the TransCanada! Stay there...you won't regret it

 Mieu qu'à la maison !

Review by Aurélie on 7/31/14 12:58 PM

A l' Auberge à Loulou, on est accueilli comme chez des amis. Loulou et André font tout ce qu'ils peuvent pour que notre séjour chez eux soit des plus agréables. Au delà des conseils pratiques pour les visites à faire, des installations propres, modernes et très bien aménagées, nous profitons chez Loulou de toute la chaleur québécoise, si bien qu'on a l'impression d'être chez nous ! Je le recommande vivement !

 Home away from home

Review by Mathilde Marcoux on 7/28/14 10:11 PM

I had an amazing time at L'Auberge à Loulou! The place is agreable and comfortable and will make you feel at home directly. the rooms are clean, as well as the many bathrooms available. The breakfast offered and prepared by Loulou and Diane was a piece of heaven for me and my traveling stomach. As for directions and visit advice, André was able to indicate me the best places to see, where to park and what not to miss. André, Loulou and Diane made my stay so agreable that I decided to stop there again on my way home. They had even remembered my friend's birthday and helped me set up an amazing and unforgettable dinner on the ouside terrasse. My only advice: stay at Loulou's!

 AWESOME!!

Review by Gingee on 5/25/14 8:55 AM

Seriously! This place is amazing. The landlord is super nice and helpful, lots of space, lots of bathrooms that are clean, linens, large kitchen, close to the city, cheap for a hostel. One of the top two hostels I've stayed at in my travels. 5 out of 5!

 Stay here!

Review by Kate on 3/22/14 7:57 PM

My friend and I stayed here for a night over our spring break, and it was the best decision of our trip. Our arrival coincided with a blizzard, and we were worried we would miss our Dog Sledding reservation because our car didn't have winter tires. Luckily, André came from his other job, picked us up at the hostel, and drove us there, picking us up when we were done. He and Loulou are so nice and really want you to have the best stay possible. We could tell how much André loved Quebec City when he took the time to circle all the best sites on our complementary map and tell us the best restaurants and spots to park. In addition to how nice the owners are, they are also great cooks and keep a spotless and well applianced hostel. My one reservation is that you might not want to stay here if you didn't have a car. If I go back to Quebec City I will be sure to stay her!

 Loved it!

Review by (I don't understand what the nickname is for.) on 1/26/14 10:38 AM

This was so perfect for me! I'm in my late 30's and wanted somewhere peaceful and quiet. The owners are so sweet, the breakfast is good, the place is immaculate, etc. Everything was really lovely, and I'd highly recommend it.

 Great and Clean Place

Review by Jawad on 10/24/13 11:34 AM

Very good place to stay if u r in Quebec and especially with a car, The hostel is clean and very cool. The people managing it are also very nice and friendly.

 Worthy

Review by Rebeca on 10/13/13 8:29 AM

Clean, excellent staff, very helpful. Nice and useful installations. I would repeat, even considering the distance to Quebec city.

 Super Hostel

Review by Lisa on 10/8/13 1:38 PM

Wir waren leider zu spät dran und mussten uns eine andere Unterkunft suchen und trotzdem durften wir an den Tag danach für den selben Preis übernachten. Sehr nette Leute, die Zimmer/das Bad sind sauber. Frühstück small war leggggger!!! Hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Gerne wieder ;)

 Very nice place and always warm welcome!

Review by Maude PachaMama on 9/12/13 6:51 AM

I frequently go to this place. The owners Loulou and André are really nice people. It's clean, quiet, comfy and always a great experience! At this cost, you won't find better!

 Great place

Review by RB&JJ on 9/11/13 2:50 PM

Very welcoming hosts, good clean rooms and wonderful breakfast, we returned at the end of our holiday and it felt like coming home. We can recommend LouLou's to everyone

 Nice stay

Review by Tapulinkiertäjä on 9/8/13 8:08 AM

Nice place to stay,full value for money. The owners were really working to have a pleasant s tay for everyone.

 Really good hostel!!

Review by hadrien on 8/30/13 10:35 AM

We decided to go to Quebec City last minute and since the first contact on the phone we already could feel that it was gonna be a good place. Once there everything was great, clean, well furnish... The rates are also really affordable, excellent for kids. One advice : going to Quebec City, go to the Loulou's!!!

 Excellent Place to Stay!

Review by Josh and Teri on 8/28/13 1:40 PM

This was an incredible place to stay because the owners were very reasonable, friendly, and extremely helpful! The beds were quite comfortable, there is a shuttle service that they offer which makes getting to and from places much easier for a small fee, and if your feeling like exercise (like us) they rent bikes and it is an hour to Old Quebec. We stayed there for 3 nights and it was a great stay and would happily stay there again. We highly recommend this place!

 loulous

Review by backpacker on 8/27/13 12:26 PM

Really enjoyed our stay at loulous - great staff, facilities and good value. Only downside is it is a long way from quebec city, takes about an hour on public transport. But other than that its great!

 So good we lengthened our stay!

Review by ABCD on 8/23/13 1:08 PM

Such friendly hosts, excellent breakfasts, and reasonable prices. The bathrooms are also the nicest I've ever seen in a hostel. Extremely hospitable, and would definitely recommend. The lovely woman who works there doesn't speak much English so my friend and I had a good opportunity to practice our French when the man wasn't around.

 une auberge en or

Review by pygloute on 8/22/13 8:59 PM

super auberge de jeunesse à un prix très intéressant. l'accueil était excellent. C'était tellement bien que je suis revenue 3 jours après pour faire une deuxième halte. Merci aux propriétaires qui ont été adorables pendant toute la durée de mon séjour.

 Superbe auberge

Review by Lisa on 8/20/13 7:56 PM

Excellent accueil dans cette auberge très bien tenue dans une petite ville très sympa tout près de Québec. Possibilité de prendre un petit déjeuner pour 3 ou 5$. Une super halte et de très bon conseil pour continuer notre voyage.

 Wonderful stay, wish we stayed longer

Review by Alex on 8/5/13 10:11 AM

We usually stay in a hostel in the old town, but decided to try AJLLH after returning from a camping trip in Parc National de la Jacques-Cartier by car and leaving the next morning by ViaRail (there is convenient parking and you can see the Charny train station from the back of the hostel - perfect). And we wish we would have stayed longer: our room was so cute, and all of the staff was most friendly and helpful. We understand that there are also both shuttles and public buses to the old town, and this side of Quebec is actually very nice in itself with a very scenic bike path that allows beautiful views over river, bridges, and city. If we come back, we know we'll stay here again.

 Excellent service!

Review by Mely on 8/4/13 8:55 AM

Le service dès que j'ai fait la réservation par téléphone était magnifique. Loulou à été très attentive et à répondu à mes questions avec tout gentillese. L'auberge est très propre et les choix de petit déjeuner et transport (shuttle) à Québec est un plus! Aucune doute, je retournerais à cet endroit pour mes prochains séjours à Québec. Recommandé!

 Auberge 5 étoiles

Review by Corinne on 8/4/13 6:26 AM

L'auberge est classifiée 3 étoiles, mais je conteste... C'est plutôt une auberge 5 étoiles. Confort, propreté, accueil dépassent les normes. Et à un prix tout à fait abordable. Longue vie à cette auberge et à ce couple d'amoureux des voyages et des gens !

 One of the best

Review by redheadednomad on 8/3/13 10:47 AM

I've stayed at many hostels, and this one was one of the best. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. LouLou and her husband are excellent hosts - very friendly and helpful Recommended!

 Great stay

Review by Raphaël on 8/1/13 2:53 AM

We had a great stay at Loulou's Hostel : clean and cosy place with a very helpful and welcoming staff !!!

 Awesome Review

Review by Netty062 on 7/26/13 6:51 PM

I loved this place! Mid forties, female travelling alone. I felt welcome. I speak very little french but Louise did her very best until her husband was there who speaks perfect english! VEry well kept place 10 - 15 minutes from downtown Quebec.

 Highly Recommended!

Review by Katelyn on 5/19/13 3:37 PM

I highly recommend this hostel and would love to return (except next time for a longer stay!)

 Loved it!

Review by Lilly on 5/18/13 1:28 PM

Hi, I had a really great stay at LouLou Hostel. The owners and staff were super friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable and the bathroom nice and clean. It felt like a home away from home! Thanks :)

 Great place to stay!

Review by Jill on 5/5/13 1:08 PM

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay in the very clean Female Dorm room. Bunk beds are comfortable and the owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was $3.00 and delicious. Directions were easy to follow from the main highway. Enjoy your stay, you won't be disappointed.

 Auberg Hostel review

Review by Kamal on 3/30/13 9:28 AM

The hostel is very nice and very clean. Excellent facilities. The owner is very good and extremely helpful. Only disadvantage is very far from Quebec city so you have to spend another 15 dollars and 1 and half hour in public transport or owner can drop you and pick you up .