Reviews for Arrowmont Stables & Cabins, LLC

Cullowhee, North Carolina

 “Horse Heaven in the Mountains” Reviewed April 29, 2012

Review by Snorkky on 3/14/13 10:21 PM

I am happy to give Arrowmont another five star review, I only wish that there wa a way to give them six! I am 60 years old and I am planning on a vacation in the fall that involves horse riding. While my wife has a lot of horse experience, having owned a horse during her youth, I had the grand total of 30 minutes on a horse 30 years ago. This last Saturday my wife and I dropped by Arrowmont just to check them out and see what they recommended for me to learn how to ride a horse. I met David who was extremely helpful and who called the owner Sony to see if he had recommendations for me. Sony dropped things, came right down to the stable and gave a lesson right then and there. It wasn't until two and a half hours later that i realized how blessed I had been to have had Sony as my teacher. He didn't just teach me how to how to get on a horse; he taught me horses. I find it very important to know why you do something and not just how to do something.and this was Sony's approach. As I said, my wife is experienced with horses but listened while Sony gave me the lesson. Later she told me she had learned a lot and wished that she had been taught many of the things Sony had taught me. At the start of the lesson i was a bit apprehensive to be close to horses but by the time I was done I knew how to saddle, bridle, and ride my horse. Sony even had me trotting in the ring (at least the horse was trotting). And make no mistake about their horses, these are not your average run-of-the mill rental horses. Both my wife and I could tell that these horses are well attended to and are well trained. And to think this is all located in what I think is some of the most beautiful country on the east coast! Many thanks to Sony and David for a great experience; I will be back!

 “First Time Riding for our Family” Reviewed August 11, 2012

Review by MNTrotter on 3/14/13 10:18 PM

We have been coming to the Cashiers area for over 15 years, but our kids are now 9 and 7 and this was our first time at Arrowmont. We did the Flame Azelea trail and it was incredible. For our kids it was their first time riding and the horses and guide, Josh, couldn't have been better. I am a big guy at 250 lbs and had a wonderful draft horse named Betty that fit me perfectly. Our 7 yr old rode by himself without a lead for the entire ride and did great! The horses were gentle and made all of us really comfortable. We had Crescent, Sailor, Betty, and I forgot the name of my wife's horse. I wish we had started doing this sooner. Count on tipping your guide like you would a server at a restaurant (15-20%). The scenery was unmatched and we really connected with our guide. The price for a family seems a little expensive at first blush, but I assure it will be an experience you will remember and talk about for a long time. This is really easy to get to from the center of Cashiers and they were very accommodating on riding time. We were fortunate to get a slot in the afternoon when we called in the morning, but I would recommend making a reservation at least 48 hrs in advance or more.

 “Great experience” Reviewed August 28, 2012

Review by truewise on 3/14/13 10:17 PM

Had a wonderful horseback riding experience at the Arrowmont Stables. The owners, David and Nancy, were very helpful, highly experienced and with a good sense of humor. Horses were friendly and well mannered. Purchased 1 hour and a half guided tour in the forest and around the pond. Nancy took us on more than 2 hour picturesque ride that was in some areas steep but nobody had any problem, even beginners were quite comfortable on the horses. Had a great experience and would suggest to others.

 “Love those horses” Reviewed September 10, 2012

Review by cindy h on 3/14/13 10:16 PM

We loved David and Nancy of Arrowmont Stables ----- and the horses of course. Great mountain ride! I highly recommend! The horses were well trained and cared for. We will definitely be back!

 “A great place to visit” Reviewed September 26, 2012

Review by Snorkky on 3/14/13 10:15 PM

Since my first review of Arrowmont I have returned several times. More recently I went on a trip to morthern British Columbia where I spent 10 days in the mountains while on horseback. What I learned at Arrowmont made my vacation in BC a wonder. You will find the service and the horses to be outstanding. When you make your choice of trails make sure you get one that includes the trail beside the creek. If you are lucky to go on a ride in June with everything in bloom and the bubbling creek next to you, you will think you have gone to heaven.

 “Amazing”

Review by Laura L on 3/14/13 10:13 PM

Went today as a suprise for my anniversary and it was defiantly worth the four hour drive the trail was pleasant and full of beautiful suprises. When we first came in Nancy was there to greet us as my partner was new to riding. It seemed like she was happy to see us rather than just happy for the business. Afterwards she went the extra milea and even offered us apple cider and hot chocolate which was really sweet. Are trail leader was a charming young lady who always kept us talking and smiling and laughing. She was very sweet and not at all concending when we would slip up. Overall this was an amazing anniversary and we got what we wanted and more while we were there. Defiantly a repeat visit is going to happen as soon as possible!!! Thank you Arrowmont Stabes.

 “Great time!”

Review by Dan D on 3/14/13 10:12 PM

Nancy and her grand kids were great! The horses were friendly, clean and beautiful. We really enjoyed the trail and area is just magnificent. We'd recommend this trip and we'll definitely be back!

 “My horseback riding experience 3/2/2013”

Review by melbrooks1979 on 3/14/13 10:10 PM

My best friend and I Angelica had the best experience ever. The owner Nancy was so sweet and pleasant offered us hot chocolate, hot cider and crackers and a warm jacket for the trail ride. We were fortunate to meet her sweet and kind 9 year old granddaughter who is an amazing and skilled rider as well. Amanda our lead guide on the trails was awesome. She was laughing with us the entire time and made our experience there an amazing day It was snowing the day we went and was the most beautiful, exciting and one of the best days of my life. I have such a passion for horses and I will tell your their horses were so well trained and the most passionate and gentle horses ever. I have already recommended this place to my friends and I can assure you I will be back. Kayla the other guide was amazing as well. Just us 4 girls on the trail that day had the best times that I will never forget. I can't wait to go back. All of them are very skilled and you will feel safe riding along with any of them. I loved all the horses just so sweet, beautiful and gentle. Nancy, Jessica, Amanda and Kayla thank you so much for making that day a special time I will never forget. I have posted all the pictures on facebook and all my friends want to have the experience as well. See you soon Arrowmont. You are the best. Please give my horse Sailor a huge hug!