Reviews for Big Bear Lake in West Virginia

Bruceton Mills, West Virginia

 Our favorite place

Review by Mom of 4 on 5/7/17 2:29 PM

We love Big Bear lake! We can't get up there enough to own our own lot so we stay in Beaver creek Village instead. Everyone we've met over the years have been great and they are dog friendly, even in the cabins which is a plus for us. There is fun for all ages at Big Bear.

 Bad customer service

Review by Casey on 6/25/16 6:00 PM

I booked my camp site two weeks in advance online. I tried calling before I booked the site online but after calling over a dozen, no one answered and I could not leave a message because the "voicemail" was full. What the heck. I called all day each time getting the voicemail. Because I was nervous all the sites would be taken I ordered everything online with out getting my questions answered. During ordering my site online it asked if I wanted to leave a comment so I did. I asked that someone call me once they received my reservation. No one ever did. Clearly this is a scam, they take everyone's money and never call anyone back. I tried calling several times trying to cancelle and delt with the same crap. No one answer the phone and you can't leave a message. What a mess. I better get my money back. What a joke.

 Freeman Family

Review by D&K on 7/8/13 3:22 PM

We have herd so many great things about Big Bear Lake, thought we would try it out. I reserved a deluxe camping spot well in advance (May) for my husband and kids along with family we had coming in from Michigan for the 4th of July weekend. We arrived on the 4th of July with high expectations of a great fun filled weekend. That all changed real fast. Got to our location to find out that an RV was in our spot. Make a long story short it was a complete mess that was nothing but, a snowball effect. Double booking on sites, unaware of who was even in our site, we ended up after two hours of the security trying to clear things up having to settle for a basic site with only electric hook-up. To say the least the only thing that was good about all of this is that they did give the site to us free of charge for the weekend which was respectful & nobel of the staff. I truly believe there needs to be a better system set-up to ensure that double booking doesn't happen, information is taken down accurately so that other families don't have to experience a unsatisfied camping experience. I can honestly say that this was our first and last camping trip to Big Bear Lake.

 Vacation

Review by The Liller Family on 7/6/13 12:52 AM

We LOVE GOING TO BIG BEAR LAKE CAMPING ON VACATION. WE HAVE BEEN GOING THE LAST 4 YRS ALL BUT 1 WE RENTED A CABIN AND THE OTHER WE JUST PITCHED A COUPLE OF TENTHS. LIKED THEIR CABINS BETTER. MY KIDS LOVE THE WATER PARK THERE WE SPEND MOST OF OUR TIME SWIMMING EITHER THEIR OR BIG BEAR LAKE. VERY NICE PLACE TO TAKE KIDS FOR A NICE VACATION.

 Great place

Review by Kim on 6/5/13 9:14 PM

We had a great time this past week end! We are going to go again the week end of the 4th of July. My family had a very good time. I can see many more week end at Big Bear Lake.

 fun at big bear

Review by sue on 1/31/13 8:51 PM

My family and I have been going to big bear lake for a couple of years now two times last year 2012 season. We have two teenage sons and a younger daughter, there are many different things we enjoy doing swimming , fishing, campfires. Nice country store for things for need,

 Mrs. Diamond

Review by Lucy on 7/30/11 7:18 AM

We have been to Big Bear Lake several times .We love it ,it is so very relaxing and people are very nice. We have several friends that are lot owners and we are hoping to get a lot some day soon. The water park is great very nice I enjoy that had our grandson he had a blast.. my husband plays horseshoes on their courts near by. Check it out,Big Bear Lake it is great.

 Beaver Creek Village

Review by kimmie on 7/15/11 12:40 AM

We loved Beaver Creek Village (Big Bear Lake is what we call it) Nice cabins and ammendities. The best is the Water Park. If you are looking for a nice relaxing vacation you need to visit Big Bear Lake in Bruceton Mills, WV.