Reviews for Abol Bridge Campground

Millinocket, Maine

 August 2016

Review by Tagalong on 9/20/16 10:29 AM

The bunk houses are really nice. Spartan, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom and the outside trash area need to be clean every day. The staff was really nice and helpful, especially Richie.

 Stayed 9/916-9/15/16

Review by Merlin on 9/20/16 8:06 AM

Rates listed are per person per site, view is great, in 6 days I was there the bathroom was never cleaned and say a lot of use by the large amount of AT hikers, trash was piled high. The free breakfast was ok similar to what you would get at a motel.

 Katahdin Hike

Review by Hikergirl13 on 9/1/16 7:20 AM

Wanted to stay within the park but was booked out. Looked around the area and found this cute campground. Best decision! Worth getting up extra early to drive to the park gate. After tackling Katahdin, it was nice to be able to take a shower which was very clean. Then to be able to have the choice not to cook and get some homemade food, Bonus! The views of the campground were great and the staff is very friendly. I have to go back to hike North Brother, Would consider strongly staying here again! :)

 Weekend stay

Review by Samiam on 8/21/16 7:12 AM

We had the most beautiful site so when we stepped out of our tent there was the river and Mt Katahdin as beautiful as ever! It's a memory I will never forget-breathtaking! The campground was clean and so were the bathrooms. I loved the free breakfast too.

 Abol bridge campground

Review by Bill on 8/18/16 9:41 AM

Stayed during a climb of Katahdin, hiking, and whitewater rafting. Store clerks, waitress, and cook were friendly and accommodating to any needs. Campground clean, found other campers to be quiet and peacefull. Food was good at the restaurant. Good place to stay.

 A.T. Hike

Review by Afterburner on 8/2/16 2:01 PM

Excellent place to stay prior to hiking to Katahdin to finish my Appalachian Trail hike. Cottage was very clean & comfortable. Staff at camp & restaurant was very pleasant & easy to deal with. Food was GREAT. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone passing thru this area.

 Jake & Ann of Greenville

Review by Great going! on 3/27/13 12:39 PM

Snowmobiled to Abol a few weekends back & enjoyed a great new stop for us along the way! Nice to have a good lunch and facility use while out on a cold day in the woods. Met Zach the young owner. Very hospitable. And the store was well stocked with a few things we needed. Will be back for sure!

 our favorite spot

Review by hammonds on 6/2/12 8:09 PM

we spend 2 weeks a year there. look forward to it every year. the view is spectacular!! fishing,kayaking, hikes, lots of peace and quiet. nice clean sites, clean bathrooms, and nice new hot showers. the surprenants are a nice, accomadating family.

 Incredible...as usual

Review by Paula & Rich on 9/29/11 9:36 PM

Just want to thank Zach for hosting us this year. The place is so beautiful. Linda is missed, but she surely handed off the torch to great people. Can't wait to come back for season eleven. Definitely one of my favorite places in the world.

 always good

Review by mac on 9/17/11 2:02 PM

been going there for 10 years, always get the same spots, i just need that view to relax. a definate 5 star stress reliever. sites are clean an spacious. saw my first flying squerril there this year. hope the new owners do well, linda was a great person,hope she enjoys retirement. see you next year , mac

 awesome

Review by from away on 9/13/11 10:09 AM

Have been going to Abol for over 20 years and was a little skeptical about new ownership. Boy was I surprised, everyone was fantastic and I love the new improvements. Kitchen addition is wonderful beats having to cook when it's hot. Pizza's are delicious. New reservations system takes some getting used to, but its better than snail mail. Wish Zach lots of luck in his new endeavor. See you this fall.

 Plus & Minus

Review by Kaleidoscope on 9/6/11 12:48 PM

Brian and young woman clerk helpful and friendly. Steak sub great! Lots of useful grocery & sundry items. Camp site reservation not satisfactory; we reserved a site and when we got there after dark tired and unfamiliar to area to set up tents, the site was taken by someone else. Showers turned off at 9:30p not 10:00p as posted.

 Fantastic

Review by Ridgerunner on 7/4/11 9:25 AM

The new owners are great. A lot of upgrades since they took over. The store is packed with everything I needed then some. Great food. Try the steak and cheese sub. It's real. not that shaved stuff, yuck! Campground was cleaner than it's ever been. Good Luck to them.