Reviews for Buckskin Lodge

Heber, Arizona

39 Reviews for Buckskin Lodge
Average rating
Write a review for Buckskin Lodge

 Very good stay

Review by C.J on 5/21/18 8:23 AM

This is my second time staying at Buckskin Lodge, and was just as good as my previous stay last year. The price is great and the accommodations are very good. Keep up the good work guys!

 Buckskin does what Best Western CAN

Review by Deb on 5/14/18 8:38 AM

Had to be @ a 11 AM wedding driving from Maricopa AZ & made a reservation weeks before with Steve and request to check in before 10 AM to fresh-n-up before the wedding. Arrived 9:30 AM, Steve checked us in and our room was ready....clean and remolded, very impressive. Also shut out to Mr. Earls Pizza in Overgaard: great pizza/great price and Sunday night was open mike!!! Owner Kim welcomes everyone!!! Mid Summer burn out in the Valley this will be the go to place!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 My go to place

Review by Ragtopdriver on 4/3/18 6:23 PM

This is my fifth year staying here when I am in the area for work. Very clean room and friendly people. Priced right too. I always look forward to my annual return.

 My go to place

Review by Ragtopdriver on 4/3/18 6:23 PM

This is my fifth year staying here when I am in the area for work. Very clean room and friendly people. Priced right too. I always look forward to my annual return.

 Fantastic Stay!

Review by Laura on 2/4/18 11:17 AM

We want to thank the Buckskin Lodge for giving us a wonderful honeymoon stay. We chose Buckskin lodge because of its uniqueness. We didn't want to stay in any big box Hotel. The Buckskin Lodge was charming and inviting. We had a wonderful time in Heber Arizona. Our reservation was easy to do and the company communicated well. The managers Steve and Susie when we arrived or warm and inviting people. We really appreciated that about them. And although I asked a million questions about the area they were able to guide me to two great places to eat the Three Bears and the Mexican restaurant across the street nearest the hill not the Alberto's. I reviewed both eating places on Yelp and I gave them a two thumbs up. The room was just the perfect temperature the amenities were nice and the bed was comfortable. The room looked very clean and sanitized when we arrived and we tried to leave it in the same manner when we left. There's a Courtyard at the hotel where you can picnic out front and sit and chit chat and meet other people and network I thought that was a great touch. It's like going to a lodge in the middle of the Woods that's warm and inviting... Oh wait that truly is the Buckskin Lodge!

 Will stay again when it gets a little cooler

Review by Country Girl on 9/11/17 10:31 PM

I have stayed at Buckskin Lodge 2 different times. Once towards the end of August and again at the beginning of September. The first time I stayed the lady at the front desk was a little short with me, however the second time I stayed she was very nice so I think she must have been dealing with some grouchy guests. The rooms were very clean. They have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. There was no A/C and my room got very hot, although there was a ceiling fan and tall floor fan. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. I actually had to go buy a foam mattress pad just to tolerate the bed. If they would put foam toppers on the beds or replace the mattresses and put cooling in the rooms (even a swamp cooler would help) it would be a perfect little place to stay. The price was very reasonable which was why I decided to stay there. Again the rooms were VERY CLEAN, and it was definitely better than camping out on the ground! I will stay again, but when it cools off and I will have to bring my foam pad.

 Very Nice!

Review by Mykol N Virg on 9/11/17 2:52 PM

This is nice place to disconnect. The lady (I apologize because I forgot her name) working the front desk is extremely nice and helpful. We made a last minute decision to head up for the Labor Day weekend, needless to say, all the major lodges were sold out. I happened to call the Buckskin Lodge and was surprised to hear they had availability. We were told up front, there was not AC, if we wanted to stay on the second floor there are only steps to access this floor, WiFi was hit or miss and once we paid, it was non-refundable. We decided to give it a shot. This place is very clean, not only does the same lady work the front, she also cleans the rooms. The rooms were very clean and the same can be said for the grounds. I will be back!!!

 0 Perks

Review by Travelers on 9/9/17 9:29 PM

If you don't mind a full size bed with springs getting ready to pop out of the mattress, no air conditioning, no ceiling fan, no fan at all, no wi-fi, no phone, no elevator, and no refund when paid for the room and changed your mind, then this is the place for you.

 Very Pleasant

Review by Fishing Family on 9/6/17 5:47 PM

Our stay was very pleasant. We decided last minute to stay on the mountain after dropping our son at camp. I wanted something a little more rustic and not a chain hotel. The hotel was clean and accommodating, staff was super friendly. No they don't have A/C but that was explained prior to booking our trip. The weather was perfect for us so we didn't need A/C. There were several lakes close by for trout fishing. Word of Caution ... Elk signs are there for a reason. Drive safely... especially at night. Would stay there again.

 My respite

Review by Gypsy on 9/3/17 5:22 PM

It's a cute small lodge in trees. Lorrie makes this experience with her warm welcome by phone and check-in. No there isn't central air conditioning, which I hear may be in the future, and no there didn't appear to be a lawn area for dogs (I didn't bring mine) and no elevator. BUT, for nice, clean, friendly and inexpensive stay, you can't beat it. My room and I suspect other rooms, have ceiling and large standing fans. Spacious room and bathroom that has incidentals that feel like the ritz.

 One Night Stand

Review by Jim on 8/30/17 11:45 PM

A great stop on the Rim.... Liked the location as it is a short drives to many destination spots on the Rim... A budget motel, priced right, very acceptable rooms, a fun place to stay, super manager. I would definitely stay again.... Two or three good restaurants located within a mile or so.... Give them a try.....

 Nice little spot

Review by Craig on 8/4/17 8:44 AM

I stayed for work for three weeks. Clean rooms, nice manager and good service. It's not the daily service at places costing three times as much, but if you need anything, just ask. Similar amenities to regular motel though. Microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, etc. Couple of decent eating places next door. Others are a long walk or short drive. I say five stars because they do what they claim very well. Don't expect a Hilton though.

 Nice place

Review by Ron on 7/23/17 10:50 AM

We enjoyed this quaint little lodge for 1 night. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. I will stay here again.

 Hot

Review by Traveler Joe on 7/6/17 1:09 PM

Quaint little place that could easily be five stars if they had air conditioning. Room was very hot and stuffy when we checked in. We were tired but had to open windows and leave the door open until the room cooled down to a bearable temperature.

 Nice Place

Review by Allan on 6/5/17 1:29 AM

Rooms were clean, great little picnic area, well shaded. Manager was very friendly.

 Very nice, clean local motel

Review by katrina on 5/24/17 6:40 PM

Manager was super nice. Rooms very clean. No a/c. However this was a very pleasant stay. If you are looking for very clean, comfortable and not a typical chain (which this is not) this is the lodging for you. Will be back.

 Buckskin

Review by Harley  on 5/15/17 8:02 AM

Beds uncomfortable wind chimes were the most annoying No air conditioning in the rooms seriously you open the windows and wind chimes keep you Awake all night never staying here again the manager lady was very nice but the room was not good at all

 Very Impressed

Review by Hunter on 5/9/17 10:45 AM

Stayed here 3 nights for a turkey hunt, and was very impressed at how clean the room was. It was spotless! The manager was very helpful and friendly. The room had everything I needed for my stay. Overall it was a great stay, and I would not hesitate to recommend staying here. Thank you.

 Giving back to the community

Review by Barbara Holloway on 4/20/17 11:15 AM

Buckskin lodge does not only welcome guests that come in or call to make reservations. They also give back to the community by helping out People in need. Our Church First Southern Baptist of Overgaard have called with people in need and the Buckskin Lodge has extended a welcome hand and a discount so we as a church can afford to put people in need who are tired, dirty and hungry a great place to stay. Thank you and God Bless you Buckskin Lodge.

 Pleasantly surprised in every way!

Review by Kim on 4/8/17 10:55 PM

The first thing that was great about this place is the manager, Lorrie. Amazingly nice and helpful in every way possible. When checked into our room, it was spotless and sparkled. Yes, sparkled! There wasn't a water spot to be found in the bathroom. This place is the place to stay. We plan on coming back this way for spring break next year and with any luck, will stay here again. Thanks!!!

 Spotless!

Review by sley on 1/6/17 11:32 AM

A perfect hotel for a quick getaway, the Buckskin Lodge offers exactly what the economy traveler hopes for but rarely gets: A welcome greeting followed by a speedy check-in, a fresh scent upon entry to a spotless room (carpet, linens, tile flooring) and updated, well-maintained fixtures - all working order. The fridge and microwave were a nice bonus, and the room rates were very reasonable. I'd absolutely recommend the Buckskin Lodge!

 I love the Buckskin Lodge

Review by Viv on 10/15/16 11:53 AM

Small mountain town feel. The owner or person that checked us in was awesome. She upgraded our room at no extra charge. The rooms are nice, clean and reflect the atmosphere of the area. Plenty roomy the bathroom and other things in the room #7 looked new. Everything you need! Microwave, Ice box etc. Across the street are some great places to eat too. I loved the stay here and will choose this place when going through again!

 I love the Buckskin Lodge!

Review by natureloverLorrie on 9/27/16 1:19 PM

Always stay here when I'm on the Rim. The rooms are equipped with everything I need, small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Cookie cutter hotels don't do it for me - but I love character of this place with its courtyard. Wi Fi and AC are not too important to me as I live in the Valley...

 Clean and Friendly

Review by Kathy on 8/27/16 4:47 PM

We had a great time and Buckskin lodge personnel were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfy.

 nice place

Review by ashley grover on 8/15/16 7:09 AM

The lodge was nice I liked the big space outside. The owners were nice to i was stuck with my family. thay gave me a discount for the first night.also gave us lunch and me a ride to get food and shoes for my baby girl. There was a grat view.tis in a nice cute little town and all the people are hice. I would go agen. The only down side is its a little expensive and there no ice musheins.

 Comfortable Heber Motel

Review by JusRidinThru on 7/31/16 5:51 PM

Buckskin Lodge, Heber AZ ... July 2016 We did an overnight here on our way home to the Valley after riding in AZ's high country for a while for work & to escape the summer heat. Have read other reviews bemoaning the lack of A/C but since we're from the Valley of the Sun we were very comfortable with the windows open and the ceiling fan. So the lack of A/C is a relative issue & each reader will have to make that call for themselves. Ours was an upstairs room. We had no trouble with road noise. The room is small & had the basics. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The room included a mini-fridge, coffee maker, and microwave ~ for those willing to nuke their food {:o) There is no sitting area in the room, but the outdoor courtyard is set up nicely with tables, chairs, & benches for relaxing or socializing. BBQs were available for outdoor cooking. Wifi is available, but only accessible from out in the courtyard. In-room the signal was sketchy at best. It gave us an excuse to unplug for a little while {:o) The manager, Janice, was a nice lady. She was informative about nearby points of interest and we enjoyed our conversation with her. If circumstances call for it, we would stay there again.

 Comfortable

Review by Andy on 11/15/15 2:27 PM

I recently spent three nights at the Buckskin Lodge and found the accommodations very comfortable. The room was very clean and being rather cold out, most comfortably warm. The staff person who checked me in made me feel very welcome. I would recommend Buckskin Lodge to anyone looking for a comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay.

 Cozy Rooms

Review by tag on 11/11/15 10:18 AM

I went up to work on a property of mine in Heber and decided to stay in a hotel the first night I was up there, The room was cozy, they are dog friendly!!! with no additional cost! Clean rooms, nice little court yard. Def would recommend and stay again if I need a place to sleep.

 another great stay

Review by Dan M on 9/12/15 11:18 AM

As always.....comfortable, clean and owners are fun to talk with..

 Great

Review by MP on 8/18/15 9:32 AM

My boyfriend and I have stayed here 3 times and we will continue to stay here each year we visit Heber. Very friendly owners, rooms are always clean, recently renovated, cute rooms. The beds are a bit hard, but nothing to complain about since everything else is great.

 Great place

Review by Luise on 8/7/15 1:32 PM

Room was clean, comfortable, and a good geographic location for our visit.

 great time

Review by city dweller on 6/2/15 7:55 AM

We had a great time in Heber. The owners of the Buckskin were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and had plenty of towels and coffee. We would stay there again next time we go out west.

 Love This Place!

Review by naturelover on 3/22/15 8:36 AM

This place is super quiet and a bargain to boot! I always stay here when I travel to Heber-Overgaard - definitely would recommend!

 Will Definitely Stay Again!

Review by Picky Phoenician on 2/23/15 7:52 PM

Super clean, quiet. I was very pleased. I will definitely stay here again!

 whataplace

Review by Raymetcalf on 2/7/15 11:04 AM

When we stayed at the Buckskin Lodge we experienced a restful nights stay and the management was the most accommodating we have felt in a long time. We felt welcome and it had a family atmosphere. We plan on staying there again soon.

 Great Lodge!

Review by William on 1/30/15 2:50 PM

This lodge was better than a hotel or motel. It was clean, roomy, with plenty of amenities. I used the free Wifi and satellite TV daily, which was nice. I also appreciated the personalized service--if there was anything I needed, Janice got it for me immediately. When I was outside, she always asked how I was doing and if there was anything I needed. I was very comfortable there my entire stay. Oh, and the price was great. I will definitely stay here again--highly recommend it!

 happy camper

Review by marie on 6/30/14 1:12 PM

We used to stay at this motel years ago when it was "The little motel in the pines" The new owners really fixed the place up nice! We had camped the day before staying and it was so nice to have a room with a fridge (standard) to put our perishables in. We loved the little table with bar stools (queen room, don't know if that's standard in all the rooms). We also loved what they did with the courtyard. The beech tree shades and welcomes you to sit under its dancing leaves and relax. The owners? manager? was very nice and helpful as well. They are pet friendly and our dog enjoyed her stay too (just let them know when making the reservation, slight pet fee). Plenty of area to walk her...We will definitely be back!

 Took a chance

Review by Cabin Hunters on 5/25/14 11:25 AM

We have driven by the Buckskin Lodge many times and always thought we should check it out. What a nice surprise. The rooms were recently remodeled and very comfortable. The on-site manager is nice as can be and provides a tasty continental breakfast in the morning. The TV has plenty of channels. All rooms have microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. For your travel dollar you cannot go wrong staying at the Buckskin Lodge.

 Pleasently Surprised

Review by Desperate Traveler on 3/1/14 3:30 PM

Our arrival time was suppossed to have been 10:30pm, but several stops and a carsick 3 year old, nothing ever happens as planned. Imagine our surprise when we arrived to the hotel that we had called to check for vacancies was closed after 10pm! With little options and desperate tiredness we rang the doorbell at Buckskin lodge. The hotel receptionists(who lived onsite) was quite pleasent despite gaving been woken up in the wee hours.She got us checked in quickly and the rates were more then reasonable! The rooms were clean and tidy, having just been renovated. My husband and i were very pleased and will be using the lodge during all our stays in heber.

Back to Buckskin Lodge