Reviews for Maison Madeleine B&B at Lake Martin

Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

 Delighted!

Review by Chris & Sharon on 7/6/18 10:01 AM

From the moment we pulled up, met our host, and saw where we would be spending the next three days, we were delighted. Madison Madeleine is tops in charm, peacefulness, and good taste. Madeleine and Walt took wonderful care of us. The breakfasts were regionally distinctive, the conversations lovely, and the recommendations for exploring the area were spot on. We highly recommend!

 Magic on Lake Martin

Review by Leigh on 6/18/18 9:15 AM

We stayed two nights with Madeleine and Walt as the beginning of a trip across the country. It was a wonderful trip but no one else matched their standard of hospitality. I echo everything others have said - beautiful setting; great recommendations for food and activities; fabulous sunset kayak tour; amazing house, garden and art; delicious breakfasts; attentive one-eyed cat and loving dogs. We hope to return someday!

 Southern Hospitality at its Best!

Review by Alligator Kayakers on 5/18/18 10:27 AM

Our stay was very relaxing, but too short! Walt and Madeleine are excellent hosts that demonstrate southern hospitality at its best! Our breakfast of pain pardu was very tasty and our stay could not have been improved upon. They even provided a great recommendation for local restaurants and a fantastic swamp tour guide for a Lake Martin Sunset Cruise. Thank you Walt and Madeleine!

 Magic

Review by Sandra  on 4/24/18 8:59 PM

Maison madeleine is a magic place to stay. It is quiet and so beautiful. The house itself and furniture are of high quality. Madeleine is an adorable person and breakfast was delicious : especially the pain perdu ! Madeleine arranged very quick a swamp tour for us on lake martin. And it was great

 The peace

Review by Sylvie on 4/20/18 6:58 AM

It was a beautiful place to stay. Madeleine is very helpful .She gives us very good ideas for place to lunch,to visit and to make swamp tour on the lake Martin! The house and the interieur decor is perfect."décoré avec goût ".and the breakfast so delicious .i recommend this place.

 Special Retreat

Review by Montana Guests on 3/20/18 6:46 AM

As other reviewers have noted, Madison Madeleine is a special and magical place. Madeleine and Walt were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed learning their stories about the home and the area. Being there was like stepping back in time to a more peaceful world. The artwork in the home and sculptures on the grounds added to the charm. Madeleine’s adult children are quite talented with their artistic creations. We really enjoyed sitting out on the front porch which comes right out of a Southern Living magazine. The warm weather with new spring foliage budding out on the trees added to the experience. Besides the lovely home, Lake Martin was such a pretty place. We had never seen the Cypress Preserve and loved going on a swamp tour, seeing the alligators and birds. The Lake Martin area and our B&B are my favorite memories of Louisiana.

 Magical place

Review by Leslie on 1/24/18 10:57 AM

Madeleine and Walt are such fantastic hosts! That makes staying at this remarkable, National Register of Historic Buildings all that more special! I can't say enough about tis B & B really. An all time fave!

 Dream Magic

Review by bryn on 11/28/17 7:02 PM

We stayed one night at the Maison Madeleine B&B at Lake Martin and can easily hands down say it was the most magical stay of our trip to Louisiana. The time, care and history that Madeleine and Walt have put into this place is phenomenal. Not only were we comfortable and at home, we were inspired and learned loads of new information. We could have only wished for more days with them. From the location to the historical home, from the enchanting garden to the artwork Maison Madeleine is a home run.

 Wonderful Experience

Review by swampfox on 10/16/17 10:54 AM

My wife and I spent two wonderful days at Maison Madeleine. This is a special kind of getaway. Wonderful hospitality. Delicious breakfast. It is a secluded place where you can recharge your batteries, yet it is close enough to excellent restaurants and entertainment. Buck and Johnny's in Breaux Bridge has good food and music. Walking the streets of Breaux Bridge brings you back in time. Maison Madeleine is also only a stone's throw away from a boat tour of Lake Martin which we highly recommend. All in all a great two days.

 AMAZING PLACE

Review by JA and MJ on 8/26/17 11:53 AM

The B and B is outstanding. Beautiful setting close to Lake Martin and convenient to everything there is to do in the area. The food was wonderful. Madeleine and her home just oozes of Southern Hospitality. I would go back often if possible.

 Perfect getaway from the city

Review by Ebgn  on 7/9/17 8:22 PM

This place is beautiful, comfortable and a great escape from New Orleans. Madeleine has done an amazing job restoring the house to its original splendor.

 Second visit even better than the first

Review by L and M on 6/3/17 5:40 PM

Two couples stayed at the house, and for us it was a second visit. The place is so nice and quite and in such a special place, next to Lane Martin. The hosts, Madeleine and Walt couldn't be nicer and the breakfast is fabulous. We even love their rescue dogs. It's close to Lafayette, an easy drive for dinner, great restaurants

 Great place

Review by Connie F. on 5/28/17 6:44 PM

What a great place to unwind. I did not miss the big city hustle - t22he quiet was golden.

 Visitor

Review by Beth from Lake Charles LA on 4/10/17 2:04 PM

What a beautiful place, reminded me of my great grandmothers in New Roads LA. We had a blast! The swamp tour: Cajun Swamp Tours was fab as was our guide Butch! Madeline and her hubby were great hosts and the breakfasts were delicious! Enjoyed talking with them and sharing stories of our resilience through trials as we sat through a breakfast storm. Another highlight was Dude the one eyed Cyclop cat! Very friendly and made me feel like I was home.

 Too Beautiful to be True

Review by JPLore on 3/24/17 4:30 PM

Just returned from a two day stay at Maison Madeleine. What an incredible time! We couldn't believe how much there was to do. The B&B is beautiful, the breakfasts are a wonderful start to every morning, and the wildlife and scenery are unbeatable. Madeleine is a wonderful hostess, informative and pleasant. Take her advice on what to do with your day. Nothing she recommended was a disappointment. We wish we had spent at least three days.

 WONDERFUL!

Review by CJ Krynski on 3/8/17 6:30 PM

We booked just one evening as we were on our way to New Orleans....wish we had stayed in the comfort of Maison Madeleine at least another night. Peaceful and comfortable as home. Madeleine was a joy to talk to and provided great advice on places to eat and visit. We met Dude (the one eyed cat) and we enjoyed "talking" with him - quite an entertainer. We would highly recommend to anyone in search of history and the comforts of home. Thank you Madeleine!

 amazing stay

Review by emmanuelle on 10/5/16 7:15 AM

GREAT STAY! AMAZING LOCATION! JUST GO FOR IT!

 History and charm gets comfortable

Review by Cardie on 6/30/16 8:13 AM

We loved it! The authentic Creole architecture and the fabulous art and decor inside. Very comfortable. Great breakfast and delicious coffee. Loved the tour of the kitchen and the Jesus bar! Also, the gardens! Want to go back.

 So charmed by the Maison Madeleine

Review by Sylvie et Jean-Philippe on 5/18/16 10:45 AM

We loved the site in the forest and your very nice wooden house, so well and beautifully restored, with great taste (family). The welcome is touching and the breakfasts delicious, especially when accompanied by Madeleine's stories and advice. We regretted one thing - not to be able to stay longer. Madeleine : thank you for your kindness. We will recommend unreservedly your wonderful home for those of our French friends who would go travel in Louisiana.

 excellent and rewarding experience

Review by opo on 9/18/15 6:52 AM

The time spent in Maison Madeleine was a trip back to times in more contact with original values, in a beautiful nature and in a house connected to the settlement of the Americas. During our tour of the South this was a highlight clearly to remember.

 Fantastique

Review by Chris on 7/24/15 3:38 AM

Un séjour formidable dans un lieu de rêve, décoré avec classe, au milieu de la nature. Les petits-déjeuners sont terribles et la maîtresse des lieux fort sympathique. Une halte à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte dans le pays cajun.

 information

Review by Flo on 5/3/15 1:59 PM

We appreciate very much this two nights in this B§B : very nice nature. We have had a good social life with Madeleine. She took her time to explain and answer to our questions.The little improvement should be to have more opened restaurants on monday and tuesday. We advice people don't hesitate to do the lake tour by foot.(2 hours).

 Beautiful & Relaxing

Review by Jennifer & Noel on 4/7/15 2:15 PM

Maison Madeleine B & B, Madeleine & Walt are all amazing! We took two teen girls and our 6 year old and created memories to last a lifetime. The property is beautifully restored. It is very charming and welcoming!! The beds were comfy, rooms were well decorated, there is an assortment of coffee, cookies, water, mini fridge, plush towels, soft linens, etc. We had 3 breakfast's in the main dining room of the house, and all were amazing. My favorite was the poached egg, sausage and grits. The grits were more like a soft polenta and it was full of flavor. The sausage had a glaze from being perfectly cooked and the egg was perfectly cooked (not too runny and not over cooked). The Pain Perdu (French Toast) was custardy and yummy and the biscuits were flaky and a perfect with the Boudin. Our last night there, Madeline hired a local chef/caterer to prepare a fish dinner in their professional kitchen, which is a separate building with a relaxing bar. Two nights we stayed up very late and got lost in conversation with Madeline & Walt. We feel like they are now good friends. They gave us recommendations for the area as well as New Orleans and helped us plan the week. I highly recommend Maison Madeleine for a relaxing, peaceful and comfortable experience. Madeleine is warm and friendly with a wonderful sense of humor!! Per her suggestion we took the Cajun Country Swamp Tour on Lake Martin. Shawn was our guide and the boat tour was a highlight of the trip. We saw so many alligators, that we lost count. There are many beautiful species of birds in the lake and tons of turtles!!! Thank you Madeleine for this great referral!! You are the best and I know we will be back again!!!

 Outstanding

Review by Stephanie & Derek on 11/6/14 9:28 AM

My fiance and I were looking for a relaxing escape and interesting adventure outside of New Orleans, coming from NYC we have higher standards than others (we can't help ourselves)! Maison Madeleine blew us away!!! We were not expecting such high-end accommodations in the rustic surrounding area of Lafayette. The cottage was beautiful, warm, cozy yet luxurious all at the same time! The hostess is no doubt a creative genius when it comes to interior design and does all the right finishing touches to make your stay above and beyond the ordinary. Her breakfasts were the best meals we had there! She also shared with us all of the best local activities from sunset kayaking to plantation tours. Lovely home and lovely woman! We will be back!

 Fantastic!

Review by Elisabeth on 7/8/14 10:07 AM

My husband and I stayed two nights at Maison Madeleine B&B at Lake Martin, and truly felt at home. Not only the owner was charming and welcoming, but also gave us precious information for our visit of the nearby region. And let's not forget the marvelous breakfasts! We much appreciated being able to maintain our privacy, with our very own private entrance to the area we rented, and loved the fact that the house is surrounded by plants and trees, and frogs and cicadas that fill up the night with their magical song. We even had the pleasure of petting a stray cat, which we called "The Pirat", because one of his eyes was completely closed. (We LOVE cats!!!) I highly recommend this marvelous accommodation!

 Maison Madeleine hospitality

Review by Serge + Sylvie on 4/15/14 5:13 AM

We past to days at Maison Madeleine and we were very surprise about the quality of the site, room,foods and most important,the service.Lot of small attention. The only room is separate from the owners house.You have your own outside stair to access to your room.It's veri private and interesting if you came back late. We had very interesting nice informations we receive. We will recommand for every poeple how pass on the region.

 So Charming

Review by Gary and Amy on 3/7/14 1:11 PM

We had the most relaxing weekend away at Maison Madeleine. Madeleine and Walt made us feel right at home and we love talking with them about the incredible story of the house. The service was impeccable, the southern breakfast delicious, and the “home away from home” appointed nicely. We will return!

 One of the best!

Review by John and Daniele on 2/16/14 12:53 PM

My French friend came to visit and HAD to see NOLA and the Cajun country. She read the reviews for Maison Madeleine in Le Routard and we told Madeleine her breakfasts were as per the reviews-just great! She is a great inn hostess, very personable, friendly, helpful, and her house is just beautiful. We only stayed for 3 nights, but wished we had stayed longer. Highly recommended! .

 guest

Review by Paul on 1/13/14 9:37 AM

we greatly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Maison Madeleine. it was an unexpected jewel in the depths of the Cypress swamp. the house was lovingly, beautifully and accurately restored and recreated. since we stayed in January we were not able to fully enjoy the outdoors, maybe next time

 Excellent B and B

Review by Jean on 11/18/13 3:24 PM

Madeleine and her husband are becoming a place for pop-up dinners with well known chefs, and have already had Anthony Bourdeine. The upstairs has 2 bedrooms with a shared bath, perfect for two couples. It was fun to talk with her over breakfast, and tour the property. The only minor complaint was having to climb into the tall claw foot tub/shower which was a little difficult. Wish I had contacted Madeleine before we took a nearby swamp tour, as there are several operators. ( Avoid Champagne tours.)

 The Best of Louisiana

Review by Louisiana aurie on 11/11/13 6:15 PM

Our state is often represented in some very colorful ways; Mardi Gras, Duck Dynasty, Swamp People and even The Governor's Wife offer a peek into what may be a tad stereotypical and exaggerated view of our culture and lifestyle. But for one to get a full grasp of our true authentic Creole history, one needs to stay the night at Maison Madeleine. The home is beautifully restored and is a perfect example of Creole architecture. Madeleine is a perfect example of Southern hospitality. She and Walt are fun-loving hosts that make you feel welcome right away. Madeleine's home is beautifully decorated with such wonderful attention to detail that it makes you feel like you have stepped back in time, but the unique modern artwork of her VERY talented children make you feel as if you had the privilege of sleeping in an art gallery. To meld these two styles takes talent and Madeleine has that in abundance. Lake Martin is gorgeous! Breaux Bridge has wonderful dining and shopping and fun, friendly people. This is a gem! If you from Louisiana...you have got to go stay there! If you are entertaining people and want to show them the best of our rich cultural history send them there! It is an amazing experience. The Secret Dinners that feature guest chefs are an experience of a lifetime. Maison Madeleine is truly a magical place!

 Best Ever!

Review by MsAmi on 8/3/13 9:33 AM

This is my favorite place I have ever stayed. It is just magical. We stayed in the front bedroom with the extra nook bed that was perfect for our 2 year old. The best way I can think to describe this place is that its like if Disneyland were real. We will be back.

 A journey back in time

Review by Almisa on 7/18/13 8:04 AM

Imagine it's 1850, and you are weary travelers. Your stagecoach pulls in for the night at a beautiful "Creole cottage" off a country road in swamp country. You are greeted by the proprietor and shown to your lovely "suite" up a set of stairs. It is blissfully cool inside. You have all the "mod cons" including possibly the world's greatest shower, but you feel you have stepped back in time. You are surrounded by antique furnishings, art and wonderful books to browse. After a delightful dinner (arranged by your host) back in Breaux Bridge, you sleep cosily under fluffy covers. Breakfast downstairs in the Big House is a cornucopia of local delights. The stagecoach was calling or else you would have explored the swamp via swamp tour or relaxed a little longer with Maison Madeleine's permanent furry residents. Thank you, Madame Madeleine for a wonderful stay!

 Birder's Paradise

Review by 40-year old couple from Ohio on 4/16/13 9:23 PM

Maison Madeleine is not only a birders' paradise, it is a retreat for the body and soul. After a cozy night's sleep we awoke to a chorus of warblers serenading from the lush garden off the veranda of their beautiful, historic cypress home. We added 16 birds to our life list in the few days we stayed here. We came close to 100 species overall. Speaking of wildlife, our gracious and friendly hosts, Madeleine and Walt set us up with two great nature guides--Cory the kayak master, and Molly the wildlife specialist (she reallyknows her stuff when it comes to birds--make sure you book both of them for a trip on Lake Martin.) Also, if wildlife is your thing, every dancing and cajun music venue you could ever hope for is within a stone's throw of Lake Martin; Cafe Des Amis in Breaux Bridge, Fred's Lounge in Mamou, Whiskey River and Pat's in Henderson, and Blue Moon in Lafayette. We hope to return soon to enjoy the unmatched hospitality, food, fun, and comfort.

 Such a beatiful place

Review by Jon on 4/5/13 9:22 AM

I wanted my wife to have the best possible experience on her first visit to Louisiana, that's why I decided to try Maison Madeleine B&B. I friend of mine who has been to this area quite often told me that this B&B seemed to be something special, and it really was. The service and hospitality was the very best, the breakfasts were wonderful, and the price was right. We were also very lucky that at this time of the year (late March), there were lots of birds and quite a few alligators to be seen and heard on our walks along/around Lake Martin. I hope we can come back one day.

 Perfect Birthday present

Review by L & M on 3/5/13 8:34 AM

My wife found Maison Madeleine in an article on the "Gumbo Trail" in Southern Living and we stayed there for 2 nights as part of our adventure on the Gumbo Trail. The trip was a 60th birthday present and my wife was ready to move in for good after our visit. Madeleine is a gracious host and wonderful breakfast cook. The food was excellent and a very hearty start to the day. The grounds are very nice and the dogs friendly. Paddy, the lab was almost kidnapped and taken home. He even accompanied me on my morning jog which was really nice alongside Lake Martin. The room is very comfortable and spacious (but no king bed). It's close to Lafayette and Beaux Bridge but worth just sitting around inside or outside and relaxing as well. It is really a very peaceful setting and the Lake with a protected rookery is amazing. I definitely recommend the swamp tour by Cajun Country Swamp Tours and you start about 1/2 mile from the house. A great place for a stay in Cajun country

 Wonderful B&B

Review by Christian on 9/21/12 9:06 PM

We had a wonderful time at Maison Madeleine. This is a charming and quiet place, very close to the beautiful Lake Martin. It is the ideal location for a retreat.